Mika Koivuniemi beats Ildemaro Ruiz in deciding game to win Bahrain International Open



    2013BOMikaKoivuniemi4.jpg2013BOiIldemaroRuiz3.jpgMika Koivuniemi (pictured left) of Finland defeated Ildemaro Ruiz Jr. of Venezuela in the deciding game, 248-194, to win the 11th Kingdom of Bahrain International Open at Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain, and the 7,500 Bahraini Dinar first place check (approx. US$19.781).

    The eleven-time PBA titlist and two-time PBA Player of the Year, who earned the No. 1 seed by two pins over Ruiz due to a 285 final game in Round Five, fell to the Venezuelan PBA touring pro in the first game of the championship match, 207-201.

    As the No. 1 seed must be defeated twice to win the title, Koivuniemi got a second chance and took full advantage.

    2013BOYousefAlJaber.jpgIn the opening match of the stepladder finals, Ruiz eliminated No. 3 seed, Yousef Al-Jaber (left) of Qatar in a high-scoring encounter, 267-237. Ruiz received 3,500 BHD for second place and Al-Jaber got 2,000 BHD for third.

    The 11th Kingdom of Bahrain International Open was held from March 3-8, 2013 at Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain. Total 30 players survived qualifying and advanced to the finals.

    Bowlers seeded 19th to 30th bowled six games scratch in Round Two with the top six going to the third round. Those six and players seeded 13th to 18th in qualifying bowled another six games scratch. The top six advanced to Round Four to meet qualifiers 7-12 in another six-game contest.

    The top six of that round took on the top six qualifiers in Round Five (six games scratch) to determine the top three players who bowled for the title and the 7,500 Bahraini Dinar first place check (approx. US$19.781).


    Related Articles

    Qatar's Yousef Al-Jaber leads Final Round Two and Three at Bahrain International Open
    Finland's Mika Koivuniemi leads a field of 30 players into the finals at 11th Bahrain Open
    Colombia's Manuel Otalora averages 243.63 to lead Squads C, D & E after first block in Bahrain
    Mika Koivuniemi shoots another perfecto to maintain lead in 11th Bahrain Open
    Mika Koivuniemi shoots 300 on his way to take early lead in 11th Bahrain Open


    11th Kingdom of Bahrain International Open

    Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain (March 3-8, 2013)

    2013BOTop3.jpgChampionship Round:
    1. Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, 7,500 BHD
    2. Ildemaro Ruiz Jr., Venezuela, 3,500 BHD
    3. Yousef Al-Jaber, Qatar, 2,000 BHD

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match: No. 2 Ruiz def. No. 3 Al-Jaber, 267-237
    Championship: Ruiz def. No.1 Koivuniemi, 207-201
    and in the deciding game, Koivuniemi def. Ruiz, 248-194.

    Note: The tournament leader must be defeated twice to win the title.


    Final Standings Places 4-30 (Cashers)

    4. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 1,700 BHD
    5. Fawaz Abdulla, Bahrain, 1,400 BHD
    6. Khaled Al Dubyyan, Kuwait, 1,100 BHD
    7. Mansoor Al Awamy, Qatar, 800 BHD
    8. Mahmood Al Attar, UAE, 700 BHD
    9. Hussain Al Suwaidi, UAE, 600 BHD
    10. Ryan Lalisang, Indonesia, 550 BHD
    11. Paul Moor, England, 500 BHD
    12. Dominic Barrett, England, 450 BHD
    13. Yousif Falah, Bahrain, 400 BHD
    14. Eric Tseng, Hong Kong, 400 BHD
    15. Manuel Otalora, Colombia, 400 BHD
    16. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 300 BHD
    17. Michael Tsang, Hong Kong, 300 BHD
    18. Ahmed Amin Al Awahdi (Y), Bahrain, 300 BHD
    19. Tony Ranta, Finland, 200 BHD
    20. Wu Siu Hong, Hong Kong, 200 BHD
    21. Andrew Frawley, Australia, 200 BHD
    22. Shaker Al-Hassan, UAE, 200 BHD
    23. Ahmed A. Jabbar, Bahrain, 200 BHD
    24. Wicky Yeung, Hong Kong, 200 BHD
    25. Rickle Kam, Hong Kong, 200 BHD
    26. Perttu Jussila, Finland, 200 BHD
    27. Noora Sultan (F), Bahrain, 200 BHD
    28. Kim Bolleby, Sweden, 200 BHD
    29. Taha Ebrahim, Bahrain, 200 BHD
    30. Mohammed Sultan, Bahrain, 200 BHD


    Final Round Five Results

    The top 3 players advance to stepladder finals.


    Final Round Four Results

    The top 6 players advance to the next round. Youth (Y) bowler receive seven pins handicap.