Field set for 2013 xbowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships


    USBC Collegiate

    2013ISCxbowlingLogo_small.jpgThe field of 24 men and 16 women who will compete for individual national championships was determined Friday at four 2013 xbowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships sectional qualifiers.

    The Intercollegiate Singles Championships will take place April 16 and 20 at Sun Valley Lanes in Lincoln, Neb., with the men's and women's finals broadcast on CBS Sports Network in May.

    Qualifying for the national finals was held in Allentown, Pa.; Fairview Heights, Ill.; Smyrna, Tenn.; and Las Vegas. All participants bowled six games with the top four women at each site advancing.

    The number of men's advancers was based on entries in each sectional. Seven men from Smyrna and Fairview Heights advanced, while six from Allentown and four from Las Vegas moved on to bowl for the national title.

    Stephen Conn of Morehead State led the men's division in Allentown with 1,367 (227.8 average) and advanced along with Cody Reichenberger of Webber International, Cruise Webster of Webber International, Matt Krueger of Viterbo, Jonathan Trzcinski of Webber International and Paul Garwood of William Paterson.

    In Smyrna, Andy Mills of Viterbo led the field with 1,396 (232.6 average). Also advancing were Derek Phillips of Martin Methodist, Jeremy Zimmerly of Lindenwood, Brady Colip of Purdue, Brock Finch of Urbana, Adam Johnson of McKendree and Graham Fach of Urbana.

    In the highest-scoring men's sectional, Aaron Lorincz of Saginaw Valley State totaled 1,474 (245.6 average) to take the top spot in Fairview Heights. Joining Lorincz in Lincoln will be Joey Kopera of St. Ambrose, Marshall Kent of Robert Morris-Illinois, Brandon Barboza of William Penn, Tylor Greene of Robert Morris-Illinois, Ronnie Fujita of Lindenwood and Jacob Kent of Robert Morris-Illinois.

    Wichita State's Francois Lavoie earned top honors in Las Vegas with a total of 1,351 (225.1 average) and advanced along with Christopher Davidson of Fresno State, Devin Bidwell of Wichita State and Jacob Boresch of Clarke.

    On the women's side, Alexa Anderson of Webber International fired a 296 game en route to winning the Allentown sectional with 1,312 (218.6 average). Kaitlin Mayall of Webber International, Jackie Carbonetto of Sacred Heart and Samantha Morlack of Adelphi also advanced.

    Lindenwood's Samantha Johnson shot 1,269 (221.5 average) to lead in Smyrna. Erin Michelfelder of Lindenwood, Carrie Hopkinson of Florida A&M and Jessica Earnest of Vanderbilt also moved on.

    In Fairview Heights, Morgan O'Brien of Clarke took top honors with a total of 1,319 (219.8) and advanced along with Breanne Underwood of William Penn, Lizabeth Kuhlkin of Nebraska and Kristina Mickelson of Nebraska.

    Wichita State pulled of the sweep of all four spots in Las Vegas with Alexis Ijams taking the top spot with 1,321 (220.1 average). Her Shockers teammates Daria Kovalova (Ukraine), Jazreel Tan (Singapore) and Tannya Roumimper (Indonesia) also advanced.


    Related Articles

    xbowling becomes title sponsor of USBC Collegiate Championships
    CBS Sports Network to air USBC Intercollegiate Team and Singles Championships