Mike Dias wins PBA50 Grants Pass Open for second career PBA50 title


    2014 PBA50 Tour #7


    More than three years after winning his first PBA50 Tour title, Mike Dias (pictured left) 2012PBASDaleEagle.jpgof Lafayette, Colo., captured the second title of his career Monday by winning the PBA50 Grants Pass Open presented by Track.

    Dias defeated PBA Hall of Famer Dale Eagle (right) of Newport Beach, Calif., 229-224, in the championship at Caveman Bowl to win his first title since winning the PBA Senior Don Carter Open in April of 2011.

    Dias jumped to the early lead in the title match starting with the first four strikes and Eagle answered with five in a row from the fourth to eighth frames, but a pocket 7-10 split in the ninth and a missed 10-pin back in the third frame ultimately cost Eagle the match.

    "The title match was probably representative of the whole tournament," said the 57-year-old Dias. "It was a combination of getting some breaks, making the right ball changes and staying out of trouble. With a longer oil pattern this week it was really a challenge."

    Dias' previous best finish this season was fourth in the season-opening PBA50 Pasco County (Fla.) Open.

    "Coming into this season I felt I was getting closer and closer to getting another win," Dias said. "I really put in a lot of work over the off-season and I feel like it's paying off."

    Eagle was trying for his 13th career PBA50 Tour title which would have put him in second all alone on the PBA50 Tour career titles list. Currently he is tied for second with Gary Dickinson with 12 titles, two behind leader John Handegard with 14 wins.

    2013PBA50HarrySullins.jpg2014PBAWalterRayWilliams.jpgIn the semifinal matches Dias defeated Harry Sullins (left) of Chesterfield Twp., Mich. 258-247 to advance to the championship match while Eagle defeated two-time defending PBA50 Player of the Year Walter Ray Williams Jr. (right) of Ocala, Fla., 237-228, who was trying for his second win of the season.

    Dias' win breaks a streak of six consecutive PBA50 Tour tournaments this season which have been won by PBA Hall of Famers.

    The PBA50 Tour season takes a break until July 18-23 when the season resumes with the PBA50 Dick Weber Super Senior Classic presented by Storm and the PBA50 Pro Bowl West Fort Wayne Classic presented by Ebonite at Pro Bowl West in Fort Wayne, Ind.


    Related Articles

    PBA50 Tour Rookie Don Breeden takes top qualifier honors for the PBA50 Grants Pass Open
    Harry Sullins averages 240 to take first round lead in PBA50 Grants Pass Open
    2014 PBA50 Tour Schedule & Champions


    PBA50 Grants Pass Open presented by Track - Final Results

    Cave Man Bowl in Grants Pass, Ore., United States (June 20-23, 2014)

    Championship Match
    Mike Dias, Lafayette, Colo. ($7,500) def. Dale Eagle, Newport Beach, Calif. ($4,000), 229-224

    Semifinal Round (one-game matches, losers earn $2,300)
    Eagle def. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 237-228
    Dias def. Harry Sullins, Chesterfield Twp., Mich., 258-247

    Round of 8 (best-of-three games, losers eliminated, earn $1,600)
    Sullins def. Don Breeden, Clive, Iowa, 2-0
    Dias def. Ron Mohr, Las Vegas, 2-0
    Williams def. Mike Henry, Brunswick, Ohio, 2-0
    Eagle def. Darron Peters, 2-1

    Round of 16 (best-of-five games, losers eliminated, earn $1,300)
    Breeden def. Kenny Parks, Hammond, Ind., 3-0
    Sullins def. Bill Nichols, Roseville, Calif. 3-2
    Dias def. Kevin Croucher, Grants Pass, Ore., 3-2
    Williams def. Johnny Petraglia, Jackson, N.J., 3-2
    Mohr def. Tom Baker, King, N.C., 3-2
    Henry def. Paul McCordic, Sugar Land, Texas, 3-1
    Eagle def. Terry Metzner, Kentwood, Mich., 3-1
    Peters def. Bryan Goebel, Shawnee, Kan., 3-1

    Round of 24 (best-of-five games, losers eliminated, earn $1,050)
    Parks def. Wayne Webb, Columbus, Ohio, 4-1
    Sullins def. Hugh Miller, Seattle, 3-0
    Croucher def. Craig Kisro, Granada Hills, Calif., 3-2
    Baker def. Dave Bolles, Modesto, Calif., 3-0
    Petraglia def. Rohn Morton, Vancouver, Wash., 3-0
    McCordic def. Rick Francis, Linden, Calif., 3-0
    Eagle def. Scott Hansel, Stockton, Calif., 3-2
    Goebel def. Noel Vazquez, Sacramento, Calif., 3-1.