2012 European Bowling Tour Masters returns to single lane condition


    EBT News

    European Tenpin Bowling Federation reacts to EBT tournament organizers' decision

    2009ETBFLogo.jpgThe presidium of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation has announced that the season-ending EBT Masters will be contested on a single lane conditioning pattern effective for the 2012 Masters which will conclude the 2011 EBT.

    Since the inaugural EBT Masters in the year 2008 the event was contested on dual lane condition similar to the World Ranking Masters which was organized by the World Tenpin Bowling Association since 2001 and has been cancelled due to the lack of sponsorship after 2009.

    The ETBF reacts to the almost unanimous decision of the EBT tournament organizers to run the tournaments on single lane condition. "As a consequence the (ETBF) Presidium has decided to conduct also the EBT Masters on a single lane condition in the future", ETBF Vice President Kim Thorsgaard Jensen, Denmark, stated.

    Since the Viborg International in Viborg, Denmark originally scheduled for July 30-Aug. 7, 2011 has been cancelled, the 2011 European Bowling Tour consists of 21 tour stops in 17 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, seven Silver and six Satellite tournaments.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament gets 50 ranking points.

    The top 16 men and the top 16 women at the end of the season qualify for the Masters to held in the following year.

    The upcoming EBT Masters, to be held in Ljubljana, Slovenia on April 11 and 12 2011, will be the last event to be contested on dual lane condition. The first event on single lane condition will be the fifth EBT Masters, the final of the 2011 EBT season, which will be staged at Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany on April 30 and May 1, 2012.