Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA News » Belmonte, Ciminelli, Svensson and Simonsen nominated for ESPY

Belmonte, Ciminelli, Svensson and Simonsen nominated for ESPY


Three-time defending PBA Player of the Year Jason Belmonte, Player of the Year contender Ryan Ciminelli, 2016 FireLake PBA Tournament of Champions winner and 2015 Rookie of the Year Jesper Svensson and 2016 USBC Masters champion Anthony Simonsen have been selected as nominees for the 2016 ESPY Best Bowler Award.

Fans can vote for their selections by clicking here.

Awards will be announced Wednesday, July 13 during the ESPYs telecast in Los Angeles beginning at 8 p.m. ET on ABC. Voting will be open until the start of the ESPYs telecast.

In 2015, Belmonte (pictured) became the first international player to win three consecutive PBA Player of the Year awards. He became the first player to win the USBC Masters in three consecutive years and won his second consecutive PBA Tournament of Champions title to become the first player to win the Masters and TOC in back-to-back seasons. He will be trying for his second consecutive ESPY and third overall.

A contender for 2015 Player of the Year honors, Ciminelli won three titles in 2015 including the U.S. Open and finished third in the PBA World Championship. In 2016 he won the bowlingball.com Maine Shootout for his sixth career Tour title.

Svensson won two titles in 2015 on his way to earning Rookie of the Year honors and in 2016 won the PBA FireLake Tournament of Champions to become the tournament’s youngest champion at age 21.

Simonsen became the youngest player ever to win a major when he won the 2016 USBC Masters at age 19. He won his first title by teaming with Connor Pickford to capture the Mark Roth/Marshall Holman PBA Doubles Championship early in 2016.

History of ESPY Best Bowler Award Winners

2015 – Jason Belmonte
2014 – Pete Weber
2013 – Pete Weber
2012 – Sean Rash
2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.