Clara Juliana Guerrero sweeps two opponents to win European Women Masters 2011



    Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona, Spain (Oct. 6-9, 2011)

    2011EBT17ClaraGuerrero4.jpgFresh off finishing first in the women's ranking in the Columbia 300 Vienna Open, Clara Juliana Guerrero (pictured left) of Colombia swept her opponents in best-of-three games matches to claim the title in the 7th European Women Masters 2011 "President Samaranch Trophy" Sunday at Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona, Spain.

    In the title match, the two-time World Champion (2009, Las Vegas) topped current European Bowling Tour women's ranking leader Joline Persson-Planefors, Sweden, 201-170 and 220-204, to earn the 3.500 Euro top prize.

    2011WWCMaiGingeJensen2.jpgGuerrero finished qualifying and the Round of 24 in second place to earn the No. 2 seed for the four-player shoot-out finals. She met former World and European Champion Kirsten Penny, in the semifinals. The No. 3 seeded long-time English international fell to the Colombian, 184-238 and 194-214.

    In the other semifinal match, top seeded Mai Ginge Jensen (right), Denmark, who won the gold medal in All Events at the 2011 Women's World Championships in Hong Kong last month, was eliminated by Persson-Planefors, 2-1, including a 215-197 win in the decider.

    Persson-Planefors received 2.000 Euro for second place while Jensen and Penny pocketed 1.000 Euro each for third and fourth place, respectively.

    The 7th European Women Masters 2011 drew 37 women from nine countries - Colombia, Cyprus, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Malta, Sweden and Ukraine - and 16 from Catalonia, an autonomous community in northeastern Spain.


    7th European Women Masters 2011 - Top 24 (Cashers)

    1. Clara Juliana Guerrero, Colombia, 3.500 Euro
    2. Joline Persson-Planefors, Sweden, 2.000 Euro
    3. Mai Ginge Jensen, Denmark, 1.000 Euro
    4. Kirsten Penny, England, 1.000 Euro
    5. Helen Johnsson, Sweden, 900 Euro
    6. Luz Adriana Leal, Colombia, 800 Euro
    7. Nicki Ainge, France, 700 Euro
    8. Britt Brøndsted, Denmark, 600 Euro
    9. Gaelle Laplanche, Denmark, 500 Euro
    10. Bettina Lund, France, 500 Euro
    11. Roosa Lunden, Finland, 500 Euro
    12. Daria Kovalova, England, 500 Euro
    13. Valérie Murat, Sweden, 400 Euro
    14. Randi Kryger, Denmark, 400 Euro
    15. Rebecka Larsen, Sweden, 400 Euro
    16. Nina Flack, Denmark, 400 Euro
    17. Laurence Gaillard, Ukraine, 300 Euro
    18. Krista Pöllänen, France, 300 Euro
    19. Stéphanie Dubourg, France, 300 Euro
    20. Anja Ginge Jensen, Finland, 300 Euro
    21. Sandra Torrents Pelaez, Sweden, 300 Euro
    22. Eva Jonsson, Catalonia, 300 Euro
    23. Ida Andersson, Sweden, 300 Euro
    24. Sanna Pasanen, Finland, 300 Euro


    Single-Elimination Match Play Finals

    Best-of-three games


    Round of 24

    The top 4 advance to single-elimination match play.


    Standings after Qualifying

    The top 24 advance to the finals.