PBA Champions crowned in Viper, Chameleon, Scorpion and Shark Open TV Finals


    2011-12 PBA Tour #1-4

    International bowlers win all four titles on the first day of the PBA World Series of Bowling finals


    2011PBAWSOBLogo.jpgHistory was made on the first day of the TV finals in the PBA World Series of Bowling as the international bowlers won all four titles Friday in Exhibit Hall A at South Point Hotel, casino and bowling center in Las Vegas, Nev.

    Jason Belmonte, Australia, captured his PBA titles No. 2 and No. 3 by winning the finals on the Chameleon and Shark lane conditioning pattern, while England's Stuart Williams and Dominic Barrett won their first career PBA national title on Viper and Scorpion, respectively.

    201112PBA01StuartWilliams.jpgThe PBA will produce 14 television shows for delayed telecast on ESPN in a special arena in South Point's Exhibit Hall A. In the first of four consecutive TV finals on Friday, Williams and Ildemaro Ruiz, Venezuela survived two eliminator rounds in which the bowler with the lowest score was eliminated. Williams (pictured right) defeated Ruiz in the all-international final, 246-201, to earn his first PBA title.

    201112PBAJasonBelmonte.jpgThe finals of the WSOB Chameleon Open featured three international bowlers, Ruiz, Belmonte and Finn Osku Palermaa, as well as four-time PBA champion Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., who qualified for all four TV shows on the animal pattern. In the title match, Belmonte (left) flew past the American, 268-191, to claim his second career PBA title.

    201112PBA03DominicBarrett.jpgBarrett (right), who has won his first PBA regional title earlier this month, was the lone international bowler in the WSOB Scorpion Open finals. The 2010 European Bowling Tour point ranking leader saved his best for last defeating Rash, who led both previous eliminator rounds, in the championship match, 247-204, to wrap up his first PBA title.

    Belmonte and Rash clashed with PBA super stars Chris Barnes and Mika Koivuniemi in the finals of the GEICO Shark Open. Koivuniemi, the reigning PBA Player of the Year, was eliminated in the first round. Barnes, the 2007-08 PBA Player of the Year, fired a 300 game in round two to set up a title match with Belmonte, who eliminated Rash, 215-182. In the last finale on Friday, "Belmo" secured his second title of the day and third overall with a 243-213 victory.

    Scroll down this page for the game-by-game results and the TV line-up for Saturday and Sunday.


    Related Articles

    Russell selects Rash as No. 1 Team for PBA Doubles Championship
    Norm Duke to try for title No. 35 in Pepsi PBA Elite Players Championship finals
    Ronnie Russell overtakes Andres Gomez to lead Pepsi PBA Elite Players Qualifying
    Colombian Andres Gomez is top qualifier of the Carmen Salvino Classic TV finals
    Jason Sterner leads Carmen Salvino Classic Tour Qualifying Round
    Sean Rash dominates PBA World Championship Qualifying, earns fifth TV final
    Chris Barnes leads GEICO Shark Open Qualifying
    England's Dominic Barrett earns top seed for PBA Scorpion Open finals
    Two-handers Belmonte, Palermaa top PBA Chameleon Open qualifying
    Mike Fagan earns top qualifier honors in PBA Bayer Viper Open
    49 exempt players set for 2011-12 Professional Bowlers Association Tour season


    PBA Bayer Viper Open Finals

    Eliminator Round 1
    Stuart Williams 238
    Ildemaro Ruiz 213
    Sean Rash 203
    Mike Fagan 192

    Eliminator Round 2
    Ildemaro Ruiz 201
    Stuart Williams 197
    Sean Rash 186

    Stuart Williams 246
    Ildemaro Ruiz 201


    WSOB Chameleon Open Finals

    Eliminator Round 1
    Osku Palermaa 213
    Sean Rash 201
    Jason Belmonte 189
    Ildemaro Ruiz 187

    Eliminator Round 2
    Sean Rash 226
    Jason Belmonte 200
    Osku Palermaa 190

    Jason Belmonte 268
    Sean Rash 191


    WSOB Scorpion Open Finals

    Eliminator Round 1
    Sean Rash 217
    Dom Barrett 207
    Dave Wodka 177
    Patrick Allen 173

    Eliminator Round 2
    Sean Rash 221
    Dom Barrett 214
    Dave Wodka 164

    Dom Barrett 247
    Sean Rash 204


    GEICO Shark Open

    Eliminator Round 1
    Chris Barnes 234
    Sean Rash 205
    Jason Belmonte 190
    Mika Koivuniemi 172

    Eliminator Round 2
    Chris Barnes 300
    Jason Belmonte 215
    Sean Rash 182

    Jason Belmonte 243
    Chris Barnes 213


    2011 PBA World Series of Bowling TV Lineup

    All competition will be taped for delayed telecast on ESPN; results will be published by the PBA after each tape-delayed telecast airs.

    Saturday, Nov. 19, 2011

    10:30 a.m. – PBA World Championship Don Carter Division Finals (four players, three one-game elimination matches):
    Stuart Williams, England; Osku Palermaa, Finland; Dom Barrett, England; Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y. (ESPN telecast Sunday, Dec. 11, 1 p.m. Eastern).

    12:30 p.m. – PBA World Championship Billy Hardwick Division Finals (four players, three one-game elimination matches):
    Tom Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich.; Ildemaro Ruiz, Venezuela; Andres Gomez, Colombia; Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y. (ESPN telecast Sunday, Dec. 18, 1 p.m. Eastern).

    3:30 p.m. – PBA World Championship Johnny Petraglia Division Finals (four players, three one-game elimination matches):
    Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill.; Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo.; Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y.; Nathan Bohr, Wichita, Kan. (ESPN telecast Sunday, Jan. 1, 1 p.m. Eastern).

    5:30 p.m. – PBA World Championship Mike Aulby Division Finals (four players, three one-game elimination matches):
    Jason Belmonte, Australia; Brian Kretzer, Dayton, Ohio; Josh Blanchard, Gilbert, Ariz.; Mike Fagan, Dallas. (ESPN telecast Sunday, Jan. 8, 1 p.m. Eastern).

    7:30 p.m. - PBA World Championship Eliminator Finals (four players, three one-game elimination matches):
    Carter, Hardwick, Petraglia, Aulby winners. (ESPN telecast Sunday, Jan. 15, 1 p.m. Eastern).


    Sunday, Nov. 20, 2011

    10 a.m. – Mark Roth/Marshall Holman PBA Doubles Championship, Baker format stepladder round one (not televised):
    Match One – No. 7 Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla./Mike DeVaney, Murrieta, Calif. vs. No. 8 Dick Allen, Columbia, S.C./Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas.
    Match Two – Winners Match One vs. No. 6 Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo./Jason Belmonte, Australia.
    Match Three – Winners Match Two vs. No. 5 Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y./Dan MacLelland, Saginaw, Mich.
    Match Four – Winners Match Three vs. No. 4 Mike Fagan, Dallas/Bill O'Neill, Southampton, Pa.

    Noon – Mark Roth/Marshall Holman PBA Doubles Championship Baker format stepladder finals:
    Match Five – Winners Match Four vs. No. 3 Andres Gomez, Colombia/Martin Larsen, Sweden.
    Semifinal Match – Winners Match Five vs. No. 2 Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas/Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla.
    Championship – Semifinal Match Winners vs. No. 1 Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind./Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill. (ESPN telecast Sunday, March 25, 2:30 p.m. Eastern).


    3:30 p.m. - Carmen Salvino Classic Eliminator Finals (four players, three elimination matches):
    Andres Gomez, Colombia; Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas; Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind.; Jason Belmonte, Australia. (ESPN telecast Sunday, April 1, 1 p.m. Eastern).

    5:30 p.m. – Pepsi PBA Elite Players Championship Eliminator Finals (four players, three elimination matches):
    Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla.; Jason Belmonte, Australia; Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas; Mike DeVaney, Murrieta, Calif. (ESPN telecast Sunday, April 8, 1 p.m. Eastern).