Marius Piticariu sets the pace in 3rd IDM Bucharest International Bowling Open



    IDM Club in Bucharest, Romania (Nov. 19-25, 2012)

    2012BOMariusPiticariu.jpgThe 3rd IDM Bucharest International Bowling Open kicked off with the first three of 24 qualifying squads (Squad 4 has been cancelled) Monday at IDM Club in Bucharest, Romania. Marius Piticariu led a field of 17 Romanian men with 1298 total and an average of 216.33.

    Piticariu (pictured left) had games of 181, 269, 237, 224, 204 and 183 in Squad 3 to lead Viorel Simut by 41 pins. Simut, who had a high game of 285, moved into second place with 1257.

    Ioan Ionescu and Romeo Gagenoiu led Squad 2 with 1242 and 1227 to finish day one qualifying in third and fourth place, respectively. Rounding out the top 5 was Squad 1 leader Marius Balan with 1212.

    Qualifying continues Tuesday with Squads 5-8 scheduled for noon, 3, 6 and 9 p.m. CET+1.

    The 3rd IDM Bucharest International Bowling Open will be held Nov. 19-25 at 14-lane IDM Club in Bucharest, Romania (Oil Pattern). The tournament offers total prize fund of 15.000 Euro in the open division and additional 1.800 Euro for bowlers with less than 180 average.

    The tournament winner will receive the 2.500 Euro top prize, the runner-up earns 1.500 Euro and the third and fourth place finishers get 1.000 Euro apiece.

    The qualifying of the Bucharest Open runs from Monday, Nov. 19 through Saturday, Nov. 24 and concludes with Squad 24 scheduled for 10.30 p.m. local time CET+1 and the Desperado Squad following immediately. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game.

    A total of 24 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, Nov. 25 including the top 4 of a separate leaderboard of the squads on Monday through Thursday, the top 18 of the overall qualifying standings and the top 2 of the one-game Desperado Squad.

    Players seeded 9th to 24th will bowl six games scratch with the top 8 advancing to the second round. The remaining 16 players will bowl another six games scratch to cut to the top eight, who will determine the champion in best-of-three games match play format.


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 4/24