New York City WTT KingPins go on strike binge to win PBA League Don Carter Round


    2013 PBA League

    Billie Jean King's team clinches berth in inaugural Elias Cup Finals in Indianapolis

    201213PBAL04TommyJones.jpg201213PBAL04JackJurek.jpgThe New York City WTT KingPins' Tommy Jones (pictured left), Jack Jurek (right), Pete Weber, Scott Norton and John Szczerbinski struck on eight of their first nine shots to run away from Jesse Williams' BROOKLYN STyLES (below right), 243-199, in the title match of the PBA League Don Carter round at Thunderbowl Lanes.

    The round was contested Saturday, Jan. 26, during the PBA Winter Swing in Detroit and aired Sunday, March 3 on ESPN.

    The KingPins, owned by women's sports legend Billie Jean King, clinched a berth in the inaugural PBA League Elias Cup Finals with their win in the Carter round.

    201213PBAL04PeteWeber.jpg201213PBAL04BrooklynStyles.jpgThe top four of eight PBA League teams, based upon points earned in five preliminary rounds, will compete for the first PBA League championship on Sunday, March 31, at Woodland Bowl in Indianapolis as part of Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions week. The Elias Cup Finals will air on ESPN on April 7 at 1 p.m. ET.

    "I think I'm liking my team a lot," KingPins franchise player Pete Weber (left) beamed after making a surprise lineup change that worked to his team's advantage.

    201213PBAL02ScottNorton.jpg201213PBAL04JohnSzczerbinski.jpgWeber moved Scott Norton (left), a left-hander who had been a dominant player in previous PBA League rounds, to the No. 4 position in the lineup and he placed Team USA member and former Wichita State collegiate star John Szczerbinski (right) in the anchor position.

    "I know Scott was bowling well (in the anchor position), but Szczerbinski averaged 257 on the Don Carter lane condition in qualifying, so I talked it over with the team and they all agreed to make the change and have John bowl anchor," Weber said.

    "It isn't me; this is our whole team agreeing to what we're doing. After every shot we communicate and try to help each other.

    "I have all the confidence in the world in all of my players. We got a few breaks, but without breaks you don't win. Tomorrow we might not get them, but today we did and we took advantage of them."

    201213PBAL04MotownMuscle.jpgIn the semifinal match between the KingPins, who won the Carmen Salvino round earlier in the PBA League series, and the Roth round-winning Motown Muscle (left), neither team put together consecutive strikes until the KingPins started a string of seven strikes in the sixth frame to run away with a 249-192 win.

    201213PBAL04SilverLakeAtomSplitters.jpgIn the opening match, owner Jerome Bettis' Motown team got a string of four strikes from Tom Smallwood, Mike Scroggins, Ronnie Russell and Mike Fagan to take the lead, and they held on for a 210-199 victory over Chris Hardwick's Silver Lake Atom Splitters (right) when Silver Lake anchor Chris Barnes was unable to double in the 10th frame.

    With their second PBA League stepladder win, the KingPins have earned 44 points to lock up no worse than the No. 2 stepladder position for the Elias Cup finals.

    The PBA League Earl Anthony round - the final qualifying round heading into the Elias Cup finals - will include Terrell Owens' Dallas Strikers, Chris Paul's L.A. X, Jerome Bettis' Motown Muscle and a fourth team that will advance from the Clash eliminator round.

    The Anthony round and the championship match of the Earl Anthony PBA Players Championship between top qualifier Sean Rash of Montgomery, Ill., and Norton will air on ESPN on Sunday, March 24, at 1 p.m. ET.


    Related Articles

    BROOKLYN STyLES earn No. 1 seed in PBA League Don Carter Qualifying Round
    Hometown favorite Motown Muscle team wins PBA League Mark Roth Round
    New York City WTT KingPins win PBA League Carmen Salvino Round
    BROOKLYN STyLES top New York City WTT KingPins to win PBA League debut


    PBA League Don Carter Round

    Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich. (Jan. 26, 2013)

    Championship Round:
    1. New York City WTT KingPins (Tommy Jones, Jack Jurek, Pete Weber, Scott Norton, John Szczerbinski)
    2. BROOKLYN STyLES (Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ryan Ciminelli, Ryan Shafer, Sean Rash, Jason Sterner)
    3. Motown Muscle (Mike Fagan, Jesse Buss, Tom Smallwood, Mike Scroggins, Ronnie Russell)
    4. Silver Lake Atom Splitters (Nathan Bohr, Stuart Williams, Dom Barrett, Josh Blanchard, Chris Barnes)

    Playoff Results (Baker team format):
    Match One: #4 Motown Muscle def. #3 Silver Lake Atom Splitters, 210-199
    Semifinal Match: #2 New York City WTT KingPins def. Motown Muscle, 249-192
    Championship: New York City WTT KingPins def. #1 BROOKLYN STyLES, 243-199.

    Clash Eliminator
    (in order of players eliminated based on low one-ball total per round; last surviving player's team advanced to stepladder finals)
    Round One – Norm Duke, Dallas Strikers, seven pins
    Round Two – Jason Belmonte, L.A. X, seven pins
    Round Three – Parker Bohn III, L.A. X; Bryon Smith, Silver Lake Atom Splitters, eight pins
    Round Four – Amleto Monacelli, Dallas Strikers, seven pins
    Round Five – none (all strikes)
    Round Six – Rhino Page, Dallas Strikers, five pins
    Round Seven – none (all strikes)
    Round Eight – Dan MacLelland, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits, six pins
    Round Nine – Mike DeVaney, Philadelphia Hitmen, nine pins
    Round 10 – Wes Malott, L.A. X, six pins
    Round 11 – none (all strikes)
    Round 12 – none (all strikes)
    Round 13 - Mike Scroggins, Motown Muscle, eliminated Osku Palermaa, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits, 10-8.


    PBA League Elias Cup Points Standings after four of five rounds

    1, New York City WTT KingPins, 44
    2 (tie), Motown Muscle and BROOKLYN STyLES, 33
    4, Dallas Strikers, 20
    5 (tie), Philadelphia Hitmen and Silver Lake Atom Splitters, 18
    7, L.A. X, 14
    8, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits, 6