BBIA to honor Bill and Barbara Chrisman with Industry Service Award


    Industry News

    Storm owners recognized for their contribution to the Sport of Bowling

    BBIALogo.jpgEach year the Billiard and Bowling Institute of America (B.B.I.A) presents the Industry Service Award to a leading personality in the billiard and bowling industry. This award recognizes the recipient's contribution to the promotion of their respective sport.

    This year's recipients are the owners of Storm Bowling Products, Inc., Bill and Barbara Chrisman. The Chrismans are known in the bowling industry for their generosity and efforts to grow the sport of bowling.

    They can frequently be seen on nearly all televised bowling events supporting the sport's premier athletes. The Storm, Roto Grip, and Master logos can be seen in many bowling events and arenas that are supported by Storm Products, Inc.

    High Score Products, the beginning of the Chrismans vision, was originally founded in 1985 to market a new product called U Clean / U Score, a urethane ball cleaner. In 1991 the Chrismans began producing a small quantity of OEM bowling balls.

    In 1994, after several weeks of deliberation the Chrismans decided to change the name of the company from High Score Products to Storm.

    With the addition of products and gaining popularity, the company name was officially changed to the current name, Storm Products, Inc. Since then Storm has grown to become the leading manufacturer of high performance bowling balls. The name Storm has become synonymous with innovation and quality.

    "It is my pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2014 BBIA Industry Service Award will be Bill and Barbara Chrisman," commented BBIA Executive Director, Bill Supper. "They will join past recipients Earl Anthony, Minnesota Fats, Paul Newman, Carmen Salvino, and last year's recipient, Mike Aulby."

    In the past the Chrismans have also been awarded the William Landgraf Memorial Award for Distinguished Service, the John Davis Memorial Award, and the International Bowling Pro Shops and Instructors of America's Friendship Award.