Australia's Jason Belmonte named 2012-13 Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year


    PBA News

    Two-hander tops 2011-12 Player of the Year Sean Rash and Hall of Famer Pete Weber for first POY honor

    201213PBAPlayeroftheYearJasonBelmonte3.jpgAustralia's Jason Belmonte (pictured) was named the 2012-13 Professional Bowlers Association Chris Schenkel Player of the Year today during a special live presentation Friday from Thunderbowl Lanes on PBA's online bowling channel, Xtra Frame.

    In earning his first Player of the Year honor, Belmonte won two titles, including the USBC Masters – his first major – and had runner-up finishes in three other major championships: the 2012 PBA World Championship, U.S. Open and 2013 PBA Tournament of Champions.

    He won the George Young High Average Award, scoring at a 228.81 pace over 422 games, and the Harry Smith Point Leader Award with 238,903 points.

    The only major statistical category he didn't win was earnings, where his $186,465 total ranked third behind 2011-12 Player of the Year Sean Rash's $248,317 and Mika Koivuniemi's $227,851.

    Belmonte, known for his unique two-handed delivery, joined Venezuela's Amleto Monacelli and Finland's Koivuniemi as the only foreign-born players to win the PBA's highest annual competition honor. He was also the first two-handed player to win the award.

    "This award has a lot of meaning for me because it represents the fact that you can do it your way and be successful," Belmonte said. "I've taken a lot of criticism but I'm a firm believer in pinning your ears back and going for your dreams."

    Belmonte, who owns seven career titles, captured Harry Golden Rookie of the Year honors after winning his first title during the 2008-09 season.

    "This is an honor every player wants to win but something you can never plan for," Belmonte added. "There's no deadline to achieve it, only a massive bonus for your career if you do."

    Belmonte was presented his award at Thunderbowl Lanes where the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions gets underway on Saturday.

    201213PBA12SeanRash.jpg201213PBA18PeteWeber.jpgAlso finishing among the top three in Player of the Year voting was Sean Rash (left), Montgomery, Ill., who was trying for his second consecutive honor, and Pete Weber (right), a 51-year-old PBA Hall of Famer from St. Ann, Mo., who was hoping to win the crown for the first time in his career.

    Rash won two PBA International Tour titles in Kuwait and Thailand, and made TV shows in the 2012 and '13 PBA World Championships and the 2013 TOC. In addition to leading the earnings list, Rash finished third in average and competition points.

    Weber, a 37-time PBA Tour champion, won the 2013 Tournament of Champions for his record-tying 10th career major and finished third in the 2013 U.S. Open (an event he has won a record five times) and third in the 2013 PBA World Championship. He was also a member of the PBA League New York City WTT KingPins team that won the inaugural Elias Cup in 2013.

    During the Xtra Frame presentation, PBA Commissioner Tom Clark also presented the PBA Rookie of the Year Award to E.J. Tackett of Huntington, Ind.; the 2013 Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award to Ryan Shafer of Horseheads, N.Y. (Eugene McCune of Munster, Ind., accepted on behalf of Shafer), and the inaugural Tony Reyes Community Service Award to PBA Hall of Famer Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J.

    The end-of-season awards announcements culminated an expanded 14-month campaign that began in November 2012 and ended Dec. 31, 2013, as the PBA returned to a traditional calendar year season that began on Jan. 1.


    Related Articles

    Ryan Shafer wins second PBA Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award
    E.J. Tackett wins 2012-13 PBA Rookie of the Year Honors
    Parker Bohn III named first Tony Reyes Community Service Award winner


    Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year Award Winners

    2012-13 – Jason Belmonte
    2011-12 – Sean Rash
    2010-11 - Mika Koivuniemi
    2009-10 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    2008-09 - Wes Malott
    2007-08 - Chris Barnes
    2006-07 - Doug Kent
    2005-06 - Tommy Jones
    2004-05 - Patrick Allen
    2003-04 - Mika Koivuniemi
    2002-03 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    2001-02 - Parker Bohn III
    2000 - Norm Duke
    1999 - Parker Bohn III
    1998 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    1997 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    1996 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    1995 - Mike Aulby
    1994 - Norm Duke
    1993 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    1992 - Dave Ferraro
    1991 - David Ozio
    1990 - Amleto Monacelli
    1989 - Amleto Monacelli
    1988 - Brian Voss
    1987 - Marshall Holman
    1986 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
    1985 - Mike Aulby
    1984 - Mark Roth
    1983 - Earl Anthony
    1982 - Earl Anthony
    1981 - Earl Anthony
    1980 - Wayne Webb
    1979 - Mark Roth
    1978 - Mark Roth
    1977 - Mark Roth
    1976 - Earl Anthony
    1975 - Earl Anthony
    1974 - Earl Anthony
    1973 - Don McCune
    1972 - Don Johnson
    1971 - Don Johnson
    1970 - Nelson Burton Jr.
    1969 - Billy Hardwick
    1968 - Jim Stefanich
    1967 - Dave Davis
    1966 - Wayne Zahn
    1965 - Dick Weber
    1964 - Bob Strampe
    1963 - Billy Hardwick