Organizing Committee releases Bulletin No. 1 for 13th World Youth Championships


    2014 WYC

    South China Athletic Association Bowling Centre, Hong Kong, China (August 6-15, 2014)

    2014WYCLogo.jpg The Organizing Committee of the 13th World Youth Championships has released Bulletin No. 1. The Chinese Gold & Silver Exchange Society World Youth Championships will be held from August 6-15, 2014 at 40-lane South China Athletic Association Bowling Center in Hong Kong, China.

    In cooperation with the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) and the Hong Kong Tenpin Bowling Congress, will cover the Championships live from Hong Kong.

    All WTBA Member Federations who are currently paid up members of FIQ, WTBA and their respective zone (PABCON, ETBF, and ABF) are allowed to participate in the championships. Only players born on January 1, 1993 to on December 31, 2000 are eligible to participate in the 13th edition of this biennial championships for national junior team members.

    Maximum four girls and four boys per country will compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in Singles, Doubles, four-player Teams, All Events and Masters in the 8-day competition (August 8-15).

    The World Youth Championships are contested every other year, with the first event held in Manila, Philippines in 1990. Other host cities were 1992 Caracas, Venezuela; 1994 Monterrey, Mexico; 1996 Hong Kong; 1998 Inchon, South Korea; 2000 Santa Domingo, Dominican Republic; 2002 Pattaya, Thailand; 2004 Tamuning, Guam; 2006 Berlin, Germany; 2008 Orlando, Fla., United States; 2010 Helsinki, Finland, and 2012 Bangkok, Thailand.

    Bulletin No. 1 contains the following information:
    1. Introduction of Hong Kong, China
    2. Federation Information
    3. Official Invitation
    4. Website and Email
    5. Preliminary Schedule of Events
    6. Official Hotels
    7. Bowling Center
    8. Visa Information
    9. Fees

    Bulletin No. 1
    Official Invitation
    Form A (Intention of Participation)

    Note: The official entry form will be sent in Bulletin No. 2.


    2014 World Youth Championships - Preliminary Schedule at a glance

    • Wednesday, Aug. 6, 2014 - Last day of arrival, ball registration, team managers meeting, opening ceremony
    • Thursday, Aug. 7, 2014 - Ball registration, official practice (three squads)
    • Friday, Aug. 8, 2014 - Girls Singles Squad A and B; Boys Singles Squad A
    • Saturday, Aug. 9, 2014 - Boys Singles Squad B and C; Boys & Girls Semifinals and Finals, Medal Presentation
    • Sunday, Aug. 10, 2014 - Girls Doubles Squad A and B; Boys Doubles Squad A
    • Monday, Aug. 11, 2014 - Boys Doubles Squad B and C; Boys & Girls Semifinals and Finals, Medal Presentation
    • Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2014 - Girls Teams (first block); Boys Teams Squad A & B (first block)
    • Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2014 - Girls Teams (second block); Boys Teams Squad 2 & 1 (second block)
    • Thursday, Aug. 14, 2014 - Boys & Girls Team Semifinals and Finals; Medal Presentation for Team & All Events; Boys & Girls Masters Round of 24
    • Friday, Aug. 15, 2014 - Boys & Girls Masters Round Robin, Semifinals and Finals; Medal Presentation; Victory Banquet
    • Saturday, Aug. 16, 2014 - Departure of Delegations


    12th World Youth Championships 2012 - Boys and Girls Medalists

    Blu-O Paragon Bowling Center in Bangkok, Thailand (June 22 - July 3, 2012)

    2012WYCLogo.jpg Boys Singles
    1. Marshall Kent, United States
    2. Shusaku Asato, Japan
    3. Basil Low, Singapore, and Ryu Ji-Hoon, South Korea

    Boys Doubles
    1. Korea (Kim Yeon-Sang & Hwang Dong-Jun)
    2. United States (Andrew Koff & Marshall Kent)
    3. England (Christopher Lam &Elliot Crosby) and Sweden (Kim Bolleby & Magnus Johnson Jr.)

    Boys Four-player Team event
    1. United States (Andrew Koff, Zack Hattori, Chris Via and Marshall Kent)
    2. Singapore (Basil Low, Keith Saw, Ng Chiew Pang and Mark Wong)
    3. Sweden (Johan Helldén, Magnus Johnson Jr., Kim Bolleby and Daniel Fransson) and Germany (Andre Schröder, Dominic Buchmann, Christian Birlinger and Tobias Börding)

    Boys All Events
    1. Sam Cooley, Australia
    2. Marshall Kent, United States
    3. Daniel Fransson, Sweden

    Boys Masters
    1. Daniel Fransson, Sweden
    2. Chris Via, United States
    3. Sam Cooley, Australia, and Marshall Kent, United States


    Girls Singles
    1. Kim Seon-Jeong, Korea
    2. Hee Kar Yen, Malaysia
    3. Juliana Franco, Colombia, and Cristina Rodriguez, Puerto Rico

    Girls Doubles
    1. Korea (Kim Seon-Jeong & Hwang Yeon-Ju)
    2. Japan (Misaki Mukotani & Hiraku Takekawa)
    3. Malaysia (Dayang Khairuniza & Jacqueline Sijore) and Singapore (New Hui Fen & Bernice Lim)

    Girls Four-player Team event
    1. United States (Jessica Earnest, Kelsey Muther, Amanda Greene and Danielle McEwan)
    2. Singapore (New Hui Fen, Ilma Nur Jannah, Krishna Darshini and Bernice Lim)
    3. Korea (Kim Ga-Ram, Kim Seon-Jeong, Hwang Yeon-Ju and Oh Nuri) and
    England (Autum Chamberlain, Katrina Maciver, Danielle Hopcroft and Bethany Hedley)

    Girls All Events
    1. Hwang Yeon-Ju, Korea
    2. New Hui Fen, Singapore
    3. Kim Seon-Jeong, Korea

    Girls Masters
    1. Hwang Yeon-Ju, Korea
    2. Jacqueline Sijore, Malaysia
    3. Dayang Khairuniza, Malaysia and Bernice Lim, Singapore