Stars line up for 50th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    2014 BWC will provide live coverage and BowtTV will provide live streaming from Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland, November 3-9, 2014

    2014BWCLogo.jpg World champions and World Cup champions line up for the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup which will be held from November 1-9, 2014, at Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland, part of the Fitness Academy Group.

    This year is the 50th edition of the prestigious event and several celebrations are being planned, including a spectacular final. The opening ceremony will be on Monday, November 3rd, with the finals on Sunday 9th. Further information will be given in due course.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif 2014BowlTVLogo_small.jpg will cover the 50th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup live from Wroclaw including reports, photos and results after each round. The United States Bowling Congress will provide live streaming on BowlTV. Live coverage and live streaming will commence on Monday, November 3rd, with the opening ceremony and concludes on Sunday 9th with the stepladder finals.

    Two former World Cup champions and one reigning champion are among the players already registered for the event which returns to Wroclaw for the second time.

    2013BWCCarolineLagrange8.jpg Caroline Lagrange (pictured left) of Canada has an enviable World Cup record: played two, won two. She won last year in Krasnoyarsk, Siberia, Russia, and will be back to defend her title. Lagrange, who won her first title 2009 in Melaka, Malaysia, is looking to become the first woman to win three times.

    2010BWCChampionsAumiGuerraMichaelSchmidt2.jpgShe will face stiff opposition from Aumi Guerra (pictured right with Michael Schmidt) from the Dominican Republic, who herself is a double champion, having won in 2010 in Toulon, France, and again in 2011 in Johannesburg, South Africa. Guerra also came second in 2012 when the World Cup was also in Wroclaw and third last year. She will be competing for the 10th time in a World Cup.

    Canada is also sending a former champion to the men's section. Michael Schmidt has also won the title twice, first in Ljubljana, Slovenia, in 2005 and then in Toulon in 2010. It will be his eighth appearance in the event and he has only been outside the top ten once.

    2014BWCNEDQEricKok.jpgEric Kok (left) of the Netherlands will set a Bowling World Cup record when he competes this year. The long-time national team member and national coach has played in the World Cup in each of the last five decades, starting in 1979 in Bangkok, Thailand, where he finished just outside the top 16.

    From there it was on to Jakarta, Indonesia, in 1980, then Seoul, South Korea, in 1985 where he recorded his best result of 2nd. Since then, he has also competed in the 25th edition in 1989 (Dublin, Ireland), 1995 (Sao Paulo, Brazil), 2005 (Ljubljana) and now 2014 (Wroclaw) will be added to this list.

    2014PBA03ChrisBarnes.jpgThe United States of America will be sending their two Team USA trials winners: Six-time World Tenpin Bowling Association world champion and 17-time Professional Bowlers Association titlist Chris Barnes (right), whose wife Lynda won the title in 2005 in Ljubljana, Slovenia, and Brittni Hamilton.

    2013WCLizaDelRosario.jpgOther notable contenders include world champion Liza del Rosario (left; 2013, Malaysia) for the Philippines, who has reached the round robin stage of the event every time she has played, with a best finish of second in 2001; Piritta Maja (formerly Kantola) of Finland; Kestutis Gudauskas of Lithuania, who bowled the first 300 game in last year's event; and Steve Thornton of England, who shot 300 in 2005.

    67 perfect games were rolled in the 49-year history of the event, 54 by men and 13 by women, starting in 1994 in Hermosillo, Mexico, where Jack Guay of Canada became the first player who accomplished the feat. In twenty years players from 36 different countries have joined the elite 300-club.

    Click here for the complete information on the 50th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.


    Related Articles

    Roberta Rodrigues, Renan Zoghaib win XXIII QubicaAMF Brazil Cup
    Jolanda Visser, Eric Kok are the Dutch representatives at 50th QubicaAMF World Cup
    Sarit Mizrachi, Oron Cohen win 25th Israeli Bowling World Cup Qualifier
    Yelena Grishinenko, Ilya Orlov win 2014 Kazakhstan Cup
    50th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup returns to Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland