Birgit Pöppler, Paul Stott claim first round lead in 37th European Champions Cup


    2014 ECC

    2014ECCBirgitPoppler.jpg2014ECCReijaLunden.jpgBirgit Pöppler (pictured left) of Germany and Paul Stott of Ireland claimed the first round lead in the 37th European Champions Cup which got underway on Wednesday with the first of three eight-game blocks at Keiluhollin, Egilsholl bowling center in Reykjavik, Iceland.

    Pöppler had a high game of 279 in game four and closed her series with three consecutive 240s to lead the women's division with 1858 total and an average of 232.25. Reija Lundén (right) of Finland was 84 pins behind in second place with 1774.

    2014ECCSannaPasanen.jpg2014ECCPaulStott.jpgLast year's runner-up Lisa John, England, as third with 1760, while 2013 women's champion Sanna Pasanen (left), Finland, finished Round 1 in seventh place on 1680 including the highest game of the day (279). Sitting on the cut line (8th place after 24 games) was Andrea E. Hansen, Norway, with 1674 or an average of 209.25.

    Stott (right) rolled eight games between 207 and 252 to pace the men's field with 1820 total and an average of 227.50. Trailing Stott by mere three pins to sit in second place was Aleksey Parshukov (below left) of Russia, who used high games of 256 and 255 for 1817.

    2014ECCAlekseyParshukov.jpg2014ECCMattiasWetterberg.jpgThird place belonged to Levgen Karmazin, Ukraine, who toppled 1806 pins. Swede Mattias Wetterberg (right) slipped from first to fourth place in the last game finishing with 1785.

    Rounding out the top 8 was 2008 and 2011 European Champions Cup winner, Thomas Gross, Austria, with 1699 and an average of 212.38.

    All players will return on Thursday, October 16, for the second block of eight games with the men starting at 9 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and the women to follow at 2.30 p.m.


    2014ECCLogo.jpg The 37th European Champions Cup takes place from October 13-18 at 22-lane Keiluhollin, Egilsholl bowling center in Reykjavik, Iceland the champions, men and women, of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation member federations and the 2013 ECC champions.

    32 women including defending champion Sanna Pasanen of Finland and 34 men roll three eight-game blocks of qualifying Wednesday through Friday, on a 40 ft. oil pattern. For more information about Keiluhollin, Egilsholl bowling center read the Lane Map Guide.

    The top eight men and the top eight women after 24 games advance to the single-elimination finals in best-of-three games format on Saturday. The player, who wins all three matches, will be declared the champion.


    Related Articles

    Finland's Sanna Pasanen, Kimmo Lehtonen sweep the titles at 36th European Champions Cup


    2014 European Champions Cup - Women's Qualifying after 8/24 games

    Top 8 after 24 games will advance to the single-elimination finals.


    2014 European Champions Cup - Men's Qualifying after 8/24 games

    Top 8 after 24 games will advance to the single-elimination finals.