Tannya Roumimper holds on to the lead in 13th Kingdom of Bahrain Championship



    Indonesian paces the 144-player field with 2826; Tom Daugherty leads the bowlers of Squads D, E and F after the first block with 1386 to sit in second place based on average; qualifying concludes on Thursday

    ImageTannya Roumimper (pictured left) of Indonesia remained unchallenged in Wednesday's qualifying and held on to the lead in the overall qualifying standings, based on average, of the 13th Kingdom of Bahrain Championship currently underway at Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain.

    Roumimper, who won the H.H. Emir Cup in Qatar last week, averaged 235.50 including seven pins handicap for twelve games and totaled 2826 pins.

    The local qualifiers and international Squads A, B and C have completed their twelve games of qualifying while bowlers of Squads D, E and F rolled their first six-game block today with the second block to follow tomorrow.

    2014PBATomDaugherty2.jpg2014HHEmirCupBerniceLim2.jpgTom Daugherty (left), United States, rolled a 289 last game to lead Squad D with 1386 total, an average of 231, and to position himself in second place in the standings. Daugherty, who won his lone PBA title in the 2012 Scorpion Championship started with games of 219, 248, 203, 226 and 201.

    Singapore's Bernice Lim (right) posted games of 273, 202, 222, 215, 212 and 219 in Squad F for 1343 scratch and 1385 total, 230.83 average, including handicap to jump into third place.

    PBA rookie of the year Marshall Kent, United States, slipped from second to fourth place with an average of 230.33 and a 2764 series which included the tournament's first 300 game worth a $1,000 bonus.

    2014EBT04RyanCiminelli2.jpg2015EmirCupYousifFalah.jpgTwo-time PBA champion Ryan Ciminelli (left), United States, finished mere eight pins behind Daugherty with 1378, good for fifth place overall with an average of 229.67.

    Yousif Falah (right) is currently the best Bahraini bowler with an average of 222.17 and is seeded in sixth place with 1333. The top 6 qualifiers will receive three byes at the end of the qualifying.

    Mika Koivuniemi, a native Finn, who lives in Hartland, Mich., USA, had games of 207, 255, 218, 246, 218 and 222 to emerge as Squad E leader with 1366 (227.67). The two-time PBA player of the year (2003-04 and 2010-11 seasons) and 15-time PBA titlist, who won the Bahrain Championship two years ago, currently sits in seventh place.

    2014PBAOskuPalermaa.jpgWith the bowlers of squads D, E and F yet to bowl their second qualifying block, two-handed bowler Osku Palermaa (right) of Finland holds the 27th and last spot to qualify for the finals with an average of 214.67 and 1288 six-game total.

    Qualifying concludes on Thursday, March 5, with squads D, E and F, who bowl the second block starting at 10 a.m., 2 and 6 p.m. Arabia Standard Time (AST).

    The 13th Kingdom of Bahrain International Bowling Championship is the ninth tournament on the 2015 World Bowling Tour and the qualifying event for the Bahrain leg, the second event on the 2015 Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) Tour (March 8).

    The Bahrain Championship was held from March 2-7 at Ozone Entertainment Center, a 12-laner inside the Sitra Mall in Sitra, Bahrain. Players will compete for total prize money of US$104,050 with $25,000 going to the winner, $12,500 to the runner-up and $8,000 to the third place finisher. In addition the tournament offers a $1,000 bonus for the first 300 game.

    According to an agreement between World Bowling and the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA), the Bahrain Championship will award a PBA title, if won by a PBA member.

    Qualifying (two 6-game series; unlimited re-entries) runs from February 16-21 for local bowlers and March 2-5 for international bowlers (three squads per day). Women and youth bowlers (age 17 and younger) receive seven pins handicap each game.

    Total 30 players advance to the finals on Friday and Saturday, March 6 & 7, including the top 27 qualifiers, the next two Bahrainis and the top-ranked woman.

    Players 1-6 (top 5 plus the next Bahraini) receive three byes. Players 7-12 receive two byes and players 13-18 earn one bye. The remaining 12 players advance to the second round.

    Rounds 2-5 consist of six games scratch with the top six players advancing to the next round with the exception of Round 5, where the top three players will advance to the stepladder finals.

    The No. 2 seed bowls the No. 3 seed in the semifinal match. The winner of that game takes on the top-seeded player for the title and the US$25,000 first-place check. According to the tournament rules, the No. 1 seed must be defeated twice to win the title.

    WBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 World Bowling Tour, which actually got underway in November 2014, currently consists of 19 tournaments in the Middle East (8), United States (7), Asia (2) and Europe (2) including seven "majors" and 12 regular tournaments.

    Players earn ranking points based on how they finish in each event. The current points system is based on a continuous two-year cycle, so some points earned in 2013 and all points from the 2014 and 2015 are added to determine the points list.

    The top three men and top three women in the WBT points list will be invited to compete in the 2015 World Bowling Tour Finals in the beginning of 2016.

    World Bowling provides governance to international bowling and is made up of 134 bowling international federations. For more information on the World Bowling Tour, click here.


    Related Articles

    Emir Cup winner Tannya Roumimper moves to the top in 13th Kingdom of Bahrain Championship
    Kuwait's Khaled Al-Dubyyan takes the lead in 13th Kingdom of Bahrain Championship
    Tournament Preview and Standings after Qualifying for local bowlers
    Shaker Al-Hassan wins 12th Kingdom of Bahrain Bowling Championship from No. 1 seed
    2015 World Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions, Men's and Women's Ranking Winners
    2015 WBT Point Rankings - Men and Women


    13th Bahrain Championship - Qualifying Standings after Squad D-F (first block only)

    Players with six-game and twelve-game total repectively, sorted by average

    300 games (1) - Marshall Kent.