Kuwait's Yaqoub Al-Shatti claims his first victory on the ABF Tour in Bahrain leg


    2015 ABF Tour #2

    2015ABFT02YaqoubAlShatti.jpgKuwait's Yaqoub Al-Shatti (pictured right) captured his first title on the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) Tour by defeating Hussain Al Suwaidi of the United Arab Emirates, in a high-scoring title match, 265-247, Sunday at Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain.

    Al-Shatti, who finished the 13th Kingdom of Bahrain International Bowling Championship in 53rd place, was among the top 16 Asian bowlers in the event to qualify for the Bahrain leg.

    In the semi-finals, Al-Shatti ousted his compatriot and Qatar leg runner-up Khaled Al Dubyyan 225-182, while Al Suwaidi took care of Tony Balabbo of the Philippines, 227-185.

    ABFTourLogo_small.jpgThe 2015 ABF Tour consists of 10 legs, six in the Near East (Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Egypt, UAE and Saudi Arabia) with a men's division only and four in East and South East Asia (Thailand, Hong Kong, Macau and Indonesia) featuring men and women in separate divisions. Asian bowlers only are eligible to participate.

    Players earn ranking points based on how they finish in each event. The top 16 men and the top 16 women at the end of the 2015 season qualify for the ABF Tour Tournament of Champions scheduled for March 2016 (tbc) in Kuwait.

    The third leg of the 2015 Tour will be held on March 15 at Cozmo Bowling Center in Kuwait City, Kuwait in conjunction with the 12th Kuwait International Open (March 10-14, 2015).

    Photos courtesy of www.abftour.com.


    Related Articles

    Qatar's Ghanim Aboujassoum wins 2015 ABF Tour season opener on home turf
    2015 Asian Bowling Federation Tour Schedule & Champions


    2015 ABF Tour Bahrain leg - Men's Division only

    Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain (March 8, 2015)

    Yaqoub Al-Shatti, Kuwait, def. Hussain Al-Suwaidi, United Arab Emirates, 265-247

    Yaqoub Al-Shatti, Kuwait, def. Khaled Al-Dubyyan, Kuwait, 225-182
    Hussain Al-Suwaidi, United Arab Emirates, def. Tony Balabbo, Philippines, 227-185

    Khaled Al-Dubyyan, Kuwait, def. Rickle Kam, Hong Kong, 232-176
    Yaqoub Al-Shatti, Kuwait, def. Wicky Yeung, Hong Kong, 205-186
    Tony Balabbo, Philippines, def. Rakan Al-Ameeri, Kuwait, 194-182
    Hussain Al-Suwaidi, United Arab Emirates, def. Michael Mak, Hong Kong, 223-219

    Round of 16:
    Khaled Al-Dubyyan, Kuwait, def. Mohannad Ebrahim, Kuwait, 280-235
    Rickle Kam, Hong Kong, def. Salem Al-Hajras, Kuwait, 213-210
    Yaqoub Al-Shatti, Kuwait, def. Abdulla A. Karim, Bahrain, 235-162
    Wicky Yeung, Hong Kong, def. Mohammed Janahi, Bahrain, 203-184
    Rakan Al-Ameeri, Kuwait, def. Abdulrahman Al-Jaidah, Qatar, 234-165
    Tony Balabbo, Philippines, def. Basel Al-Anzi, Kuwait, 215-148
    Hussain Al-Suwaidi, United Arab Emirates, def. Ryan Lalisang, Indonesia, 256-236
    Michael Mak, Hong Kong, def. Mohammed Sultan, Bahrain, 211-195


    2015 ABF Tour Bahrain leg - Men's Final Standings

    Players with position, country and ranking points

    1. Yaqoub Al-Shatti, Kuwait, 75
    2. Hussain Al-Suwaidi, United Arab Emirates, 60
    3. Tony Balabbo, Philippines, 46
    4. Khaled Al-Dubyyan, Kuwait, 45
    5. Michael Mak, Hong Kong, 33
    6. Wicky Yeung, Hong Kong, 32
    7. Rakan Al-Ameeri, Kuwait, 31
    8. Rickle Kam, Hong Kong, 30
    9. Ryan Lalisang, Indonesia, 20
    10. Mohannad Ebrahim, Kuwait, 19
    11. Salem Al-Hajras, Kuwait, 18
    12. Mohammed Sultan, Bahrain, 17
    13. Mohammed Janahi, Bahrain, 16
    14. Abdulrahman Al-Jaidah, Qatar, 15
    15. Abdulla A. Karim, Qatar, 14
    16. Basel Al-Anzi, Bahrain, 13