BPAA to honor Mark Voight with Victor Lerner Memorial Medal


    BPAA News

    2015BPAALernerMedalMarkVoight.jpg The Bowling Proprietors' Association of America (BPAA) has announced the recipients of the 2015 Bowling Industry Service Awards, the most prestigious awards presented by the bowling industry.

    Mark Voight (pictured), Community Bowling Centers, Livonia, Michigan, has been selected asthe 2015 BPAA Hall of Fame Inductee and recipient of the Victor Lerner Memorial Medal.

    The Lerner Medal is the highest honor awarded by the BPAA and recognizes an individual for a lifetime of service to the bowling industry and represents the recipient's induction into BPAA's Hall of Fame located at the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame in Arlington, Texas.

    Voight is cited for his many years of bowling center management in his Community Bowling Centers chain in Michigan, service to the BPAA and BPAA programs, events and tournaments as well as the bowling industry on local, state and national levels. His industry contributions include many years of service to the Multi Unit Bowling Information Group (MUBIG) and the BPAA Audit Committee.

    2013BPAAPresidentCathyDeSocio.jpgCathy DeSocio (right; JOMA Bowling Company, Wichita, Kansas) will be recognized with the President's Medal for her many contributions and years of service to the BPAA and for her guidance of the association through a challenging time serving as interim executive director.

    The President's Medal is given to an individual (proprietor/manager) judged to have given exceptional support and/or made significant contributions to the association in the eyes of the current BPAA president and the Awards Committee.

    Bill Chrisman (Storm Products, Brigham City, Utah) will receive the coveted V. A. Wapensky Award, named after BPAA's long-time chief executive officer, "Chief" Wapensky. Mr. Chrisman is being recognized for his leadership in developing tournaments and his enthusiasm for the sport of bowling as well as his support and service to the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame.

    2014PBAKellyKulick2.jpgKelly Kulick (left; Union, New Jersey) is being recognized with the Dick Weber Bowling Ambassador Award, named after the legendary bowling icon, recognizing her many contributions to the game and sport of bowling, both on and off the lanes.

    Debra Boje of Tampa, Florida, will be recognized with the Ruben A. Dankoff Award for Public Policy and Legislative Service for her countless hours of direction and interpretation on new laws and gambling legislation in the state of Florida.

    Awarded to an individual or organization who provides outstanding voluntary service on the federal, state or local government level in the development of legislation, public policy initiatives or other political efforts which benefit BPAA members or the industry as a whole, Boje has been an invaluable resource for proprietors in the southeast region.

    The Kids Bowl Free program will receive the 2015 Media Award for their successful efforts in furthering the sport and business of bowling through the promotion and execution of their national program.

    The Metro Detroit USBC Association will be recognized at the USBC Convention and at Bowl Expo with the BPAA USBC Association Award which is presented to a local USBC association who has demonstrated a high degree of cooperation with their local BPAA proprietor group.

    The relationship between BPAA and local USBC associations is critical since local associations represent the 'consumer' and BPAA member centers are the 'playing fields' for bowling. The BPAA appreciates how local USBC associations work with our member centers and likes to acknowledge these relationships when they are exemplary.

    Tom Martino, BPAA President and Awards Committee Chairman, stated, "Each of these award recipients are models of excellent leadership, humble service and honorable dedication, and we congratulate and thank them for their contributions to the BPAA and the bowling industry."

    The Bowling Industry Service Awards will be presented at the Annual Awards Luncheon, Wednesday, June 24, 2015, during International Bowl Expo 2015 at the Paris Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. The Lerner Memorial Medal presentation will take place during the general session on Thursday morning.

    The National Bowling Association (TNBA) will also be recognized at the luncheon on their 75th anniversary. The TNBA is a "promoter of sportsmanship, fellowship and friendship" and serves as a recruiting agency and point-of-entry for young bowlers who otherwise would not receive the encouragement, tutelage and guidance needed to learn the game and develop the skills essential for successful competition.

    In addition, Proprietors of the Year will be introduced at the luncheon. State bowling proprietors nominated by their State Associations will be recognized for their contributions, accomplishments and excellent entrepreneurial efforts:

    • James Wangeman, Harvest Park Bowl, Northern California
    • Ron Plander, Harley's Camarillo Bowl, Southern California
    • Bob Wentworth, Oviedo Bowling Center, Florida
    • BJ Trickey, Westdale Bowling Center, Iowa
    • Jeff Johnson, 4 Seasons Bowling Center, Illinois
    • Scott Devers, Mike Aulby's Arrowhead Bowl, Indiana
    • Jim Mayberry, Walnut Bowl, Kansas
    • Susan Collier, Lord Calvert Bowl, Maryland
    • Terry Signaigo, Imperial Bowl, Missouri
    • Scott Koecheler, Midway Pro Bowl, Minnesota
    • Dale Klaumann, Blue Valley Bowl, Nebraska
    • Dominic Rebman, Rebman Rec, Ohio (posthumous)
    • Terry Price and Ken Paton, Super Play, Oregon
    • Mary Harrar, Thunderbird Lanes Warminster, Pennsylvania
    • Dick Atkinson, Hallmark Lanes, Texas
    • Reggie & Nancy Frederick, Chalet Bowl & 26th Street CafĂ©, Washington
    • Diane Mallow, Watertown Bowl, Wisconsin.