Squad 3 & 4 leaders Christian Karlsson, Patryk Preus take over lead in Polish Open


    2015 European Bowling Tour #9

    Sweden's Karlsson rolls 1238 series to lead the 31-player field after 4/18 qualifying squads

    2015EBT09ChristianKarlsson.jpg2015EBT09PrzemyslawNowak.jpgDespite finishing with two games under 200, Christian Karlsson (pictured left) of Sweden took over the lead in the qualifying in the Roto Grip Polish Open after 4 of 18 squads Tuesday at Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Karlsson started his six-game block in Squad 3 with games of 257, 210, 206 and 204 before he closed with 183 and 174 to overtake previous leader Przemysław Nowak (above right) of Poland by 16 pins with 1238 total and an average of 206.33. Karlsson received a Storm Crux bowling ball for winning the squad.

    2015EBT09PatrykPreus.jpg2015EBT09MiroslawPajak.jpgPatryk Preus (left) beat out Mirosław Pająk (right), both of Poland, for the top spot in Squad 4 Tuesday evening by five pins to receive a Roto Grip Sinister bowling ball and to move into second place in the overall standings.

    Preus had games of 221, 191, 205, 254, 166 and 198 and 1235 total (205.83) to miss the pole position by mere three pins. PajÄ…k was another five pins behind with 1230, including games of 201, 266, 175, 181, 197 and 210, to leap into third place.

    By virtue of finishing 1-3 on the leaderboard of squads 1-4, Karlsson, Preus and PajÄ…k will be automatically qualified for Sunday's finals if they don't finish among the top 30 in the overall qualifying standings. If any of the three finish in the top 30, the automatic spot goes to the next qualifier in order.

    2015EBT09MarekRybicki.jpg2015EBT09LucynaCharezinska.jpg This would be day one leader Nowak, who slipped three spots to fourth place with 1222. Rounding out the top 5 was Marek Rybicki (left) of Poland, who was second to Karlsson in squad 3 with 1221 including a high game of 253 and low last game of 169.

    Lucy Charezinska (right) is the best of four women in the 31-player field from Poland, Czech Republic and Sweden in sixth place with 1199 total including 48 pins women's handicap.

    Qualifying continues on Wednesday, June 24, with Squads 5 & 6 scheduled to start at 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    2015EBT09PolishOpenLogo.jpg The Roto Grip Polish Open, a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour, is the ninth stop of the 2015 season and the fifth out of eight EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from June 22-28 at 24-lane Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland, host of the 2012 and 2014 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 30.000 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.000 to the runner-up and 2.500 to the third place finisher. Last-to-cash payout (40th place) is 250 Euro.

    Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) gets underway on Monday, June 22, with Squads 1 & 2 and runs through Saturday, June 27, with the final Squad 18 scheduled for 9 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for Sunday at 0.30 a.m.

    Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events. The Roto Grip Polish Open features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.435ml oil volume.

    Total 40 players will qualify for the finals - the top 30 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top three players each from a separate leaderboard of Squads 5-10 and 1-4, who are not among the top 30, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 2 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo G5 and G6 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth and sixth game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 4 qualifiers earn three byes, qualifiers 5-10 get two and qualifiers 11-20 receive a first-round bye. The remaining 20 players advance to the first of three four-game rounds which will trim the field to 30, 20 and then 10 players, who advance to round robin match play.

    Match play consists of nine games starting from scratch (no position round match). During match play, players receive 30 bonus pins for winning a match, 10 pins each in the event of a tie and 10 points for any score higher than 250.

    The top 3 with the highest nine-game total including bonus will determine the champion in the stepladder finals.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 17 tournaments in 13 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and eight "Satellite" events. All 17 tournaments together offer total prize fund of 870.000 Euro or 971.400 U.S. Dollar.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the 12th San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Przemysław Nowak leads Squads 1 & 2 to take early the lead in Polish Open
    Roto Grip Polish Open - tournament preview
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Roto Grip Polish Open - Standings after Qualifying Squad 4/18

    The top 30 players, the top three players each from a separate leaderboard of Squads 5-10 and 1-4, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 2 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.


    Tie Rules (Qualifying)
    In case of a tie in the qualifying, "the highest positioned player will be the player scoring the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the lowest game. If a tie still exists, the highest positioned player will be the player with the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the two lowest games, etc."