Mike Scroggins wins PBA50 DeHayes Insurance Group Championship for third title this season


    2015 PBA50 Tour #12

    PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber clinches first PBA50 Player of the Year crown; Scroggins earns PBA50 Rookie of the Year honors; Tom Baker receives PBA60 Player of the Year award



    2013PBA50BryanGoebel.jpgPBA50 Tour rookie Mike Scroggins of Amarillo, Texas (center, with proprietor David Small, left, and DeHayes Insurance Group representative David Rellue), won his third PBA50 Tour title of the season and PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber of St. Ann, Mo., clinched PBA50 Player of the Year honors Wednesday in the PBA50 DeHayes Insurance Group Championship presented by Pro Bowl West and Ebonite.

    Scroggins, who returned to PBA competition in April after a year-long absence because of a serious foot ailment, defeated 10-time PBA Tour winner and finals top qualifier Bryan Goebel (right) of Shawnee, Kan., 278-221, in the title match at Pro Bowl West to become the season's only three-time winner.

    2015PBA50WalterRayWilliams.jpgWith his three wins Scroggins was the runaway winner for PBA50 Rookie of the Year honors.

    "I just wanted to be in the running for rookie of the year when the season started," Scroggins said. "Winning one tournament would have been icing on the cake. I didn't know what to expect this season but to have the year I had was much more than I expected."

    Scroggins, who qualified third for the finals, defeated Ed Silva of Manteca, Calif., in the second stepladder match, 227-217, and then beat Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. (left) of Oxford, Fla., in the semifinal 248-212, to reach the championship match against Goebel.

    In the finals Scroggins had to use two different balls, one for each lane, to attack the challenging finals lane condition.

    "When I was practicing I was surprised by the ball reaction on the left lane so I had to use a different ball there," Scroggins said. "It's something I've done before because I prefer to make my adjustments with my equipment rather than moving left or right on the lane."

    2014PBAParkerBohn.jpg2014PBA50PeteWeber.jpgIn the opening stepladder match, Silva, making his first finals appearance, defeated Hall of Famer Parker Bohn III (left) of Jackson, N.J., 186-184. Bohn, who left a pocket 7-10 split in the 10th frame to lose the match, was also trying for a third PBA50 Tour title this season.

    Weber's seventh-place finish in the tournament was enough to secure PBA50 Player of the Year, his first player of the year crown of any kind during his more than three-decade-long PBA Hall of Fame career.

    "It took me 35 years to do it but I've got a player of the year title – PBA Tour or PBA50 Tour I don't care – I'll take it," said Weber (right), who owns 37 PBA Tour titles including a record-tying 10 major wins.

    "I didn't have a lot of wins this season, but I had a lot of top finishes and did well in the majors which was good enough to achieve another goal in my career."

    Weber earned PBA50 Player of the Year in large part because of his performances in the Suncoast Senior U.S. Open and USBC Senior Masters, the season's two majors.

    2015PBA50TomBaker.jpgHe won the Senior U.S. Open and finished second in the Senior Masters. He had other top finishes of second in the Treasure Island Resort & Casino Open and Johnny Petraglia BVL Open, and a third-place finish in the Miller High Life Classic.

    Hall of Famer and four-time PBA50 Player of the Year Tom Baker (left) of King, N.C., earned his first PBA60 Player of the Year award for players 60 and over.

    The top eight players in competition points also earned berths in the PBA Challenge Finals qualifier which is part of the GEICO World Series of Bowling VII this December in Reno, Nev.

    The qualifier will determine two finalists who will compete in the PBA50 title match which will be televised by ESPN. Advancing will be Weber, Scroggins, Bohn, Williams, Amleto Monacelli, Brian LeClair, Jack Jurek and Bob Learn Jr.

    The PBA50 Tour season will wrap up with the PBA60 Dick Weber Super Senior Classic presented by Pro Bowl West and Hammer, Friday through Sunday for players 60 years and older. Fans can catch all the action on PBA's online bowling channel Xtra Frame.


    Related Articles

    Mike Scroggins earns top qualifier honors
    Mike Scroggins takes first-round lead in PBA50 DeHayes Insurance Group Championship
    2015 PBA50 Tour Schedule & Champions


    PBA50 DeHayes Insurance Group Championship - Stepladder Finals

    Championship Round:
    1. Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas, 753 (3 games), $7,500
    2. Bryan Goebel, Shawnee, Kan., 221 (1 game), $4,000
    3. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Oxford, Fla., 212 (1 game), $2,500
    4. Ed Silva, Manteca, Calif., 403 (2 games), $2,000
    5. Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., 184 (1 game), $1,750

    Playoff Results:
    First Match One: No. 4 Silva def. No. 5 Bohn, 186-184
    Second Match Two: No. 3 Scroggins def. Silva, 227-217
    Semifinal Match: Scroggins def. No. 2 Williams, 248-212
    Championship: Scroggins def. No. 1 Goebel, 278-221.

    Modified Match Play Round 2:
    (after six games, including match play record and bonus pins; top five advanced to stepladder finals; a-denotes amateur)
    1, Bryan Goebel, Shawnee, Kan., 5-1, 1,661
    2, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Oxford, Fla., 4-2, 1,606
    3, Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas, 5-1, 1,590
    4, Ed Silva, Manteca, Calif., 4-2, 1,556
    5, Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., 4-2, 1,540
    Missed Cut:
    6, Willie Wells, Las Vegas, 4-2, 1,527, $1,500
    7, (tie) Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 2-4, 1,507, and John Brockland, St. Charles, Mo., 4-2, 1,507, $1,500
    9, Lennie Boresch Jr, Kenosha, Wis., 2-4, 1,450, $1,300
    10, Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 2-4, 1,441, $1,300
    11, Michael Henry, Brunswick, Ohio, 3-3, 1,440, $1,300
    12, Sam Maccarone, Blackwood, N.J., 2-4, 1,373, $1,300
    13, Christopher Keane, Cape Coral, Fla., 3-3, 1,354, $1,300
    14, ss-Kerry Painter, Henderson, Nev., 1-5, 1,339, $1,300
    15, Mark Sullivan, Indianapolis, 1-5, 1,335, $1,300
    16, Jerry Brunette Jr., Rochester, N.Y., 2-4, 1,314, $1,300

    Modified Match Play Round 1:
    (after five games, including match play bonus pins)
    17, Ralph Brunt Jr., Jensen Beach, Fla., 3-2, 1,239, $1,200
    18, Mike Dias, Lafayette, Colo., 3-2, 1,235, $1,200
    19, Brian LeClair, Delmar, N.Y., 3-2, 1,230, $1,200
    20, Terry Metzner, Kentwood, Mich., 2-3, 1,215, $1,200
    21, Lee Brosius, Ashburn, Va., 2-2-1, 1,193, $1,200
    22, Brian Cooper, Henderson, Nev., 3-2, 1,179, $1,200
    23, Bill Henson, Westerville, Ohio, 2-3, 1,152, $1,200
    24, ss-Ron Profitt, Brookville, Ohio, 2-3, 1,140, $1,200
    25, Kent Wagner, Bradenton, Fla., 2-3, 1,138, $1,100
    26, Bob Learn Jr., Erie, Pa., 3-2, 1,136, $1,100
    27, Sammy Ventura, Syracuse, N.Y., 1-4, 1,127, $1,100
    28, Gary Kammes, Winfield, Ill., 1-4, 1,125, $1,100
    29, Paul McCordic, Sugar Land, Texas, 2-3, 1,121, $1,100
    30, Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., 1-4, 1,082, $1,100
    31, Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 1-4, 1,049, $1,100
    32, Todd Kjell, Roscoe, Ill., 2-3, 1,031, $1,100

    Other Cashers:
    (after five-game cashers' round)
    33, Peter Knopp, Germany, 1,116, $1,000
    34, John Conroy, Mahopac, N.Y., 1,110, $1,000
    35, Phillip Moros, Lombard, Ill., 1,101, $1,000
    36, Tom Baker, King, N.C., 1,075, $1,000
    37, Brent Beery, Kansas City, Mo., 1,073, $1,000
    38, Dale Eagle, Laguna Niguel, Calif., 1,061, $1,000
    39, Thomas Ream, Tampa, Fla., 1,056, $1,000
    40, Brian Miller, Springfield, Ohio, 1055, $1,000
    41, Bill Hewlett, Eagle, Idaho, 1,030, $1,000
    42, Bill Argenbright, New Hope, Va., 1,023, $1,000
    43, Tracy Teeters, Eugene, Ore., 997, $1,000
    44, Dick Gran, Hartville, Ohio, 983, $1,000
    45, Steve Stein, Staten Island, N.Y., 900, $1,000