Joonas Jähi, Joline Persson Planefors earn No. 1 seeds for European Champions Cup finals


    2015 ECC

    Top 4 men and women determine the champions in match play finals in best-of-three games format; Magnus Johnson Jr. (SWE) rolls the third 300 game of the Championships



    It's down to the top four men and women in the 38th European Champions Cup at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino. Finland's Joonas Jähi and Sweden's Joline Persson Planefors led the Rounds of 8 Sunday morning to earn the No. 1 seeds for the single-elimination match play finals in best of-three games format.

    Men's finalists: L-R Van der Vliet, Agerbo, Jähi and Grundschober.

    Jähi, who led the men's field since the second round of qualifying, was able to weather a strong charge by defending champion Tom van der Vliet, Netherlands, and to maintain a slim 11-pin lead after 28 games.

    The 2015 European champion in five-player teams toppled 870 pins (217.50 average) in the four-game round, including a 269 game, to finish with 6418 total and an overall average of 229.11.

    Van der Vliet averaged 242.50 for the field-best 970 series to leap two spots into second place with 6407 (228.82). Leo Grundschober of Austria slipped from second to fourth place after games of 186, 200 and 192, but rebounded with a big 235 final game to secure the No. 3 seed with 8338 (226.36).

    Former European champion Jesper Agerbo beat out Sweden's Magnus Johnson Jr. for the last spot to advance by just three pins, 6311 to 6308.

    Johnson, who was in second place heading into the final game after posting the third 300 game of the Championships in game 3 (27th overall), closed out with 174 to slip all the way out of the finals. Trailing Johnson by 38 pins, Agerbo finished his set with 215 overtake the young Swede by three pins.


    Joline Persson Planefors, who led the women's event wire-to-wire, posted a solid 910 series, including games between 220 and 242, to easily claim the No. 1 seed with 6665 total and the field-best average - men and women - of 238.04.

    Women's finalists: L-R Bulanova, Jansen, Persson Planefors and Pöllänen.

    Young Maria Bulanova of Russia, who was second all week, narrowed the gap by 57 pins as she toppled 967 pins, including games of 254, 244, 222 and 247, a 214.75 average, for 6542 (233.64).

    Ellen Jansen of Netherlands used the field-best 973 series, an average of 243.25, to leap one spot into third place with 6215 (221.96). Janssen used games of 276, 233, 234 and 230 to overtake Krista Pöllänen of Finland by just three pins.

    The 2010 and 2011 ECC winner used high games of 265 and 256 for 948 to secure fourth place with 6212 (221.86), 145 pins ahead of defending champion Birgit Pöppler of Germany, who finished in fifth place with 6067.

    The semi-finals will be held simultaneously starting at 11.30 a.m. The winners bowl for the title while the losers share the bronze medal. The women's final is set for 1 p.m. with the men to follow at 2.30 p.m.


    2015ECCLogo.jpg The 38th European Champions Cup will take place from October 18-25 at 18-lane Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino featuring the men's and women's national champions or point ranking leaders of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation member federations as well as the defending ECC champions.

    All 38 men and 38 women from 37 countries, including defending champions Birgit Pöppler of Germany and Tom van der Vliet, Netherlands, will roll two eight-game blocks of qualifying Wednesday through Friday on a 40 foot oil pattern. For more information Rose'n Bowl read the Lane Map Guide.

    The top 16 men and 16 women will carry over their qualifying pins into Round 1. After another eight games the top 8 will advance to Round 2. Pinfall will continue to carry over. Those 8 will bowl four more games to cut to the top 4 who will determine the champion in best-of-three games matches. In the semi-finals, No. 1 will meet No. 4 and No. 2 will take on No. 3.

    Full European Champions Cup rules can be found in the ETBF Constitution (Chapter 7; pages 48 and 49). For more details on the 38th ECC 2015 read Bulletin No. 1.

    Photos Max Bulanov.


    Related Articles

    No changes atop the men's leaderboard at 38th European Champions Cup
    Joline Persson Planefors maintains 180-pin lead in Women's Round of 16
    Joonas Jähi overtakes the lead as men's field is cut to top 16
    Joline Persson Planefors averages over 247; dominates qualifying in San Marino
    Leo Grundschober averages over 233 to take the pole position in Men's Qualifying
    Joline Persson Planefors leads European Champions Cup after Round 1 Qualifying


    2015 ECC Men's Division - Round of 8 Results

    Top 4 advance to the single-elimination, best-of-three game finals.


    2015 ECC Women's Division - Round of 8 Results

    Top 4 advance to the single-elimination, best-of-three game finals.