Mark Jacobs, Lisanne Breeschoten crowned Dutch National Champions





    Mark Jacobs and Lisanne Breeschoten remained undefeated in the best-of-three games finals to capture their first career all-events titles in the 2016 Dutch National Championships at Claus Park Collection, Hoofddorp, Netherlands.

    Both players entered the finals as the No. 2 seeds. In the deciding game of the men's finale, Jacobs defeated top-seeded Yorick van Deutekom, 257-186, to win the title, two-games-to-one. On the women's side, Breeschoten swept top-seeded Nicole Sanders, 2-0, to seal the victory.

    91 men and 29 women participated in the A Class, the highest division of the Championships. Each player bowled eight games of qualifying with the top 20 men and the top 8 women advancing to the final rounds on Sunday, April 10.

    The men's finalists bowled further four games, which trimmed the field to the top 8. The 8 men and 8 women bowled another six games to determine the top 4 who competed in best-of-three games semifinal matches for a spot in the final.

    In the men's semis, top-seeded Yorick van Deutekom swept No. 4 Jeroen van Geel, two-games to none, while Jacobs, seeded second, ousted No. 3 Alex de Vries also in two games.

    On the way to the women's finale, Breeschoten made quick work of Kelly French-Plummen, 2-0, while Sanders had to go the distance to eliminate Ghislaine Stigter-van der Tol, 2-1.

    By winning the Dutch National Championships All-Events title, Jacobs and Breeschoten will represent The Netherlands in the European Champions Cup October 24-31 at Bowland Bowling Center in Olomouc, Czech Republic.

    Photo by Martin Visser.


    2016 Dutch National Championships - Men's Finals

    Best-of-three games format

    Championship Round:
    1. Mark Jacobs
    2. Yorick van Deutekom
    3. Alex de Vries
    4. Jeroen van Geel

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal 1: No. 2 Jacobs def. No. 3 De Vries, 2-0
    (212-154, 206-201)
    Semifinal 2: No. 1 Van Deutekom def. No. 4 Van Geel, 2-0
    (213-211, 245-186)
    Championship: Jacobs def. Van Deutekom, 2-1
    (204-211, 233-201, 257-186).


    2016 Dutch National Championships - Women's Finals

    Best-of-three games format

    Championship Round:
    1. Lisanne Breeschoten
    2. Nicole Sanders
    3. Kelly French-Plummen
    4. Ghislaine Stigter-van der Tol

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal 1: No. 2 Breeschoten def. No. 3 French-Plummen, 2-0
    217-159, 228-201)
    Semifinal 2: No. 1 Sanders def. No. 4 Stigter-van der Tol, 2-1
    (256-157, 200-201, 204-196)
    Championship: Breeschoten def. Sanders, 2-0
    (215-196, 235-201).


    Men's Round of 8

    Top 4 advance to the Semifinals.


    Women's Round of 8

    Top 4 advance to the Semifinals.


    Men's Round of 20

    Top 8 advance to the next round.


    Men's Qualifying

    Top 20 advance to the next round.


    Women's Qualifying

    Top 8 advance to the next round.