Coffey, Smith named collegiate MVPs for 2015-2016 season by NCBCA


    USBC Collegiate

    IBMA selects Coffey, Smith as 2016 College Bowlers of the Year



    Lindenwood sophomore Michael Coffey and Grand View junior Brittany Smith were recognized as Most Valuable Players for the 2015-2016 collegiate bowling season by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBCA).

    Coffey and Smith were honored Wednesday at the Night of Champions banquet. The banquet brings together the 32 teams that advanced to the Intercollegiate Team Championships, which starts Thursday at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kan.

    The International Bowling Media Association (IBMA) also honored Coffey and Smith as their 2016 College Bowlers of the Year.

    Coffey, the 2014-2015 NCBCA Rookie of the Year, averaged 217.9 this season, ranking second in the nation. He collected three individual wins, four runner-up finishes and nine top-five performances to become the first competitor from Lindenwood to win the award.

    Joining Coffey as first-team All-America were Darren Tang of San Jose State, AJ Chapman of Wichita State, Michael Davidson of Calumet and Nick Kruml of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

    Smith, the 2013-2014 NCBCA Rookie of the Year, led the nation with a 209.4 average. She posted three wins and six top-five finishes to become the first Viking to earn the honor.

    Also earning first-team All-America honors were Daria Kovalova and Sydney Brummett of Wichita State, Verity Crawley of Webber International and Rachael Albright of Ursuline.

    NCBCA Rookie of the Year honors went to Nick Devlin of Arizona State and Emily Notebaert of Corning CC. Calumet's Mike Kubacki was named men's coach of the year, and Jeff Fleck of Wright State was selected women's coach of the year.

    For more information on USBC Collegiate, click here.


    NCBCA 2015-2016 All-America Teams

    Men's Division
    First team: Michael Coffey, Lindenwood; Darren Tang, San Jose State; AJ Chapman, Wichita State; Michael Davidson, Calumet; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater

    Second team: Ramon Hilferink, Webber International; Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood; Zack Hattori, San Jose State; Nick Devlin, Arizona State; Kyle Cook, Urbana

    Honorable mention: Kyler McDonald, Ohio State; Justin Carl, Schenectady CCC; Ryan Zagar, Robert Morris-Illinois; Zach Woelfel, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Zach Doty, Morehead State

    Most Valuable Player: Michael Coffey, Lindenwood
    Rookie of the Year: Nick Devlin, Arizona State
    Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year: Mike Kubacki, Calumet

    Women's Division
    First team: Brittany Smith, Grand View; Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Sydney Brummett, Wichita State; Verity Crawley, Webber International; Rachael Albright, Ursuline

    Second team: Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville; Katie Maher, St. Ambrose; Destiny Harper, Emmanuel; Emily Eckhoff, Hastings; Emily Notebaert, Corning CC

    Honorable mention: Hollyann Johansen, Wichita State; Kristie Lopez, Wichita State; Jessica Wolfe, Wright State; Laura Plazas, Wichita State; Colleen Hines, Wright State

    Most Valuable Player: Brittany Smith, Grand View Rookie of the Year: Emily Notebaert, Corning CC
    Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year: Jeff Fleck, Wright State

    Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award: Shawn Wochner, Club Championships/Leatherneck Classic


    IBMA 2015-2016 College Bowlers of the Year

    Men's Division
    College Bowlers of the Year: Michael Coffey, Lindenwood

    Male runners-up: AJ Chapman, Wichita State; Michael Davidson, Calumet; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Darren Tang, San Jose State; Ryan Zagar, Robert Morris-Illinois

    Male honorable mention: Nick Devlin, Arizona State; Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood

    Women's Division
    College Bowlers of the Year: Brittany Smith, Grand View

    Female runners-up: Rachael Albright, Ursuline; Sydney Brummett, Wichita State; Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Thashaina Seraus, Maryland Eastern Shore

    Female honorable mention: Kristie Lopez, Wichita State; Katie Maher, St. Ambrose; Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin