Sin Li Jane wins second gold for Malaysia in IV Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship


    2008 CTBC

    Dundonald International Ice Bowl in Belfast, Northern Ireland (Nov. 22-30, 2008)

    2008CTBCSinLiJane.jpg The Malaysian bowlers swept the gold medals in the men's and women's Singles event on the first day of competition at the IV Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Sin Li Jane (pictured left) followed in the footprints of men's champion Mohd Nur Aiman when she won the title in the women's division.

    Photo courtesy of CTBF.

    2008ASCJazreelTan.jpg Heading into the final game, Jane was 31 pins behind Jazreel Tan (right) from Singapore, who led the field of 32 players since a 260 in game one. The young Malaysian posted a 256 game to Tan's 212 to grab the gold medal with 1395 and an average of 232.50. Her 277 in game #3 and 1395 total set new championship records for both 1 game and 6 games.

    The Singaporean had to settle for silver medal with 1382 (230.33).

    Five players, who were within 53 pins after five games, battled it out for the bronze medal. Laura Rhoney from Scotland, who was third with 1110, just 29 pins behind the eventual winner, closed her series with a 209 game. Good enough for Zara Glover, England; Rebecca Simpson; Australia and Jo Allsebrook, England.

    2008CTBCCassieStaudinger.jpg However seventh place Cassie Staudinger, Australia (left, 1057) saved her best for last and fired a 267 game to overtake Rhoney and capture the bronze medal, 1324 to 1319.

    Rhoney finished fourth with Glover fifth (1317) and Simpson in sixth place (1234). 32nd place Kelly-Anne Turnbull, Gibraltar, was 582 pins off the lead or 97 pins per game.

    32 women from 16 Commonwealth countries, Australia, Bahamas, Canada, Cyprus, England, Gibraltar, Guernsey, India, Jersey, Malaysia, Malta, New Zealand, Scotland, Singapore, Wales and the host Northern Ireland participate in the championships.

    This evening all participants and officials are invited by Northern Ireland's Sports Minister Gregory Campbell to Stormont Parliament Buildings for a welcome reception.

    2008 CTBC Women's Singles - Final Standings