1992 Classified Team Champions back on top at USBC Open Championships


    United States

    Bowling Alley: American Bank Center in Corpus Christi, Texas

    2006USBCOCLogo.jpg In 1992, Gary Mead and his Suburban Lanes teammates from Meade, Kan., left Corpus Christi, Texas, as the Booster Team champions at the American Bowling Congress Championships Tournament (now the United States Bowling Congress Open Championships).

    Fourteen years later, Suburban Lanes is back atop the standings, taking the lead in Classified Team with 2,851 at the 2006 USBC Open Championships on Thursday.

    The team posted games of 894, 898 and 1,059 at the American Bank Center Exhibit Hall to slip past Double D Statuary of nearby Odem, Texas, which held the lead with 2,699 since the tournament's opening squad Feb. 11.

    "This is where lightning struck last time," said Mead, whose team shot 2,888 on the way to the title in 1992. "But we still come back every year just to have fun. This time we got hot."

    Rodney Blehm and Shane Vanderpool, the two members of the group who were not part of the winning team in 1992, led the way Thursday with 595 and 592, respectively, followed by Mike Godfrey (587), Dale Vanderpool (569) and Mead (508).

    "We had no idea that we were closing in on the leading score," said Mead, a 67-year-old farmer. "Rodney and Shane are new this year, but it worked out fine. They really came through for us in a big way."

    The Booster division began in 1916, and until 1936, all of the teams in that division were confined to the host region. In 1937, the division was opened up to the entire membership and champions were formerly declared. In 1999, the name of the division was changed to Classified.

    Flirtin With Disaster 1 of Tallahassee, Fla., took home the 2005 Classified Team title with 2,957, the second highest team series ever posted in the Booster/Classified division. Lewis Marine Supply of Fort Lauderdale, Fla., holds the record with 2,974 in 1991.

    The next of the 1992 champions making the return trip to Corpus Christi will be Regular Doubles Champions Dave Bernhardt and Gene Stus, who will be in town on March 13 and 14, but are not scheduled to bowl together. The pair won the 1992 event with 1,487.

    Bob Youker Jr. of Syracuse, N.Y., who tied with Gary Blatchford of Phoenix for the 1992 Regular Singles title with 801, is scheduled to bowl on March 26 and 27 this year. Blatchford has not bowled in the Open Championships since 1995.

    Regular All-Events champion Mike Tucker of Long Beach, Calif., will be in Corpus Christi on April 19 and 20. Tucker shot 2,158 on the way to the title in 1992.

    Presenting sponsors for the 2006 USBC Open Championships are Eldorado, Silver Legacy and Circus Circus Hotel/Casinos in Reno, Nev. Other participating sponsors are Kegel, official lane maintenance provider, Texas State Aquarium, Majestic Ventures Yacht Charters, Inc., USS Lexington Museum and Texas Treasure Casino Cruises.

    Top 10 division leaders with hometown and pinfalls:


    1, Macanudos (Dan Smith, Lisa Wagner, Ed Ilano, Randy Russell, Chad Pierce), Duluth, Ga., 3,110. 2, Valley Lanes & Rec Center 2, Sioux Falls, S.D., 3,104. 3, Oxford Motel, Reno, Nev., 3,046. 4 (tie), Rip The Rack, Maryland Heights, Mo., and Allied Traffic Equipment, Murrieta, Calif., 3,043. 6, Maguire Tile 2, Lowell, Mich., 3,023. 7, R L R L R, Irving, Texas, 3,016. 8 (tie), Gene's Pro Shop, Petaluma, Calif., and Salem Bowl, St. Charles, Mo., 2,993. 10, Bowlers Depot-West Covin, LaVerne, Calif., 2,991.

    1, Joe Baker, Billings, Mo./Jeff Phillips, Springfield, Mo., 1,399. 2, Dana Criswell/Gary Ekman, Fremont, Calif., 1,381. 3, Dave Hewitt, Fremont, Calif./Larry Cooper, Reno, Nev., 1,376. 4, Wes Godwin, Monroe, N.C./John May, Iron Station, N.C., 1,372. 5, Bruce Beach, Ottawa, Ohio/Todd Basinger, Bluffton, Ohio, 1,371. 6, Travis Crittendon, Grand Rapids, Mich./Mike Smith Jr., Lowell, Mich., 1,355. 7, Jeremy Redmon, Lockport, Ill./Scott Gillenwater, New Lenox, Ill., 1,342. 8, Phil Austin, Lima, Ohio/Don Boyed, Columbus Grove, Ohio, 1,331. 9, Chico Aguon,Clarksville, Tenn./Kevin Jones, Oak Grove, Kent., 1,308. 10, Jason Prindle, Zanesville, Ohio/Tom Johnson, Zanesville, Ohio, 1307.

    1, Janette Piesczynski, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 789. 2, Dave Hewitt, Fremont, Calif., 788. 3, Gene Bruihl, Petaluma, Calif., 750. 4, Anthony Thompson, Redding, Calif., 748. 5, Jim Carter, Keller, Texas, 745. 6, Leonard Ruiz, Diamond Bar, Calif., 731. 7, Norm Loescher, Russel Township, Ohio, 720. 8 (tie), Wade Shromoff, Andover, Minn., Randy Russell, Monroe, Ga., and Ricky Corona, Yorba Linda, Calif., 717.

    1, Dave Hewitt, Fremont,Calif., 2,130. 2, Jim Carter, Keller, Texas, 2,117. 3, Leonard Ruiz, Diamond Bar, Calif., 2,105. 4, Robert Nielsen, Inver Grove Heights, Minn., 2,061. 5, Ricky Corona, Yorba Linda, Calif., 2,029. 6, Anthony Thompson, Redding, Calif., 2,027. 7, Jason Polreis, Sioux Falls, S.D., 2,014. 8, Mike Smith Jr., Lowell, Mich., 2,003. 9, Jerry Anderson, Dupo, Ill., 1,999. 10, Janette Piesczynski, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 1,988.

    Team All-Events
    1, Hewitt's Hurlers (Curtis Cole, Dana Criswell, Dave Wijtman, Gary Ekman, Dave Hewitt), Reno, Nev., 9,686. 2, Maguire Tile 2, Lowell, Mich., 9,358. 3, Macanudos, Duluth, Ga., 9,354. 4, Oxford Motel, Reno, Nev., 9,293. 5, R L R L R, Irving, Texas, 9,141. 6, Team Vise Az, Tuscon, Ariz., 9,140. 7, Bowlers Depot-West Covin, LaVerne, Calif., 9,128. 8, Gene's Pro Shop, Petaluma, Calif., 9,127. 9, Salem Bowl, St. Charles, Mo., 9,120. 10, Rip The Rack, Maryland Heights, Mo., 9,115.


    1, Suburban Lanes (Gary Mead, Rodney Blehm, Mike Godfrey, Shane Vanderpool, Dale Vanderpool), Meade, Kan., 2,851. 2, Double D Statuary, Odem, Texas, 2,699. 3, Rainbow Rollers, McAllen, Texas, 2,697. 4, The Wacouns, Waco, Texas, 2,687. 5, Puppy Trails Kennel, Monroe, La., 2,672. 6, Sorcerers 1, San Antonio, 2,653. 7, No Weak Links, Gaffney, S.C., 2,642. 8, Fun Bunch, El Campo, Texas, 2,622. 9, Thomae Lumber 2, Laurel, Mont., 2,616. 10, Otte's Propane Inc., Morse Bluff, Neb., 2,614.

    1, Steve Wade, Waco, Texas/Billy Haferkamp, Clifton, Texas, 1,162. 2, Jeremy Hartpence/Steve Wedige, Lincoln, Neb., 1,156. 3, Christopher Koecher, Portland, Texas/John Hammersmith, Horton, Kan., 1147. 4, Chuck Welle, Hawley, Minn/Caleb Baer, Princeton, Minn., 1,138. 5, Curt Hoffman, Benedict, Neb./Kevin Hoffman, Bradshaw, Neb., 1,123. 6, Chris Milligan, Mansfield, Texas/Ellen Chapman, Denton, Texas, 1,122. 7, Joseph Jellots, Starkville, Miss./Jim Breitenbach, Riverhead, N.Y., 1,120. 8 (tie), Craig Kenyon, Hardin, Mont./Leroy Melville, Hardin, Mont. and Mark Rippen II, China Spring, Texas/Prentice Cross, Waco, Texas, 1,118. 10, Lisa Pounds, Shawnee Mission, Kan./Wayne Greenlee, Overland Park, Kan., 1,116.

    1, Steve Jacoby, Gowen, Mich., 679. 2, Darlene Baker, Mahomet, Ill., 675. 3, Aaron Biagioni, Ottawa, Ill., 661. 4, Billy Haferkamp, Clifton, Texas, 637. 5, Lazarus, Aiken, Sioux Falls, S.D., 632. 6, Suzanne Guzik, Cedar Creek, Texas, 628. 7, Michael Bergstrom, El Campo, Texas, 624. 8, Wayne Mayon, Morgan City, La., 619. 9, Tom Kim, Fairfax Station, Va., 613. 10, Al Hack, Tinley Park, Ill., 612.

    1, Billy Haferkamp, Clifton, Texas, 1,788. 2, Lonnie Trevino, McAllen, Texas, 1,748. 3, Frank Goff Jr., Kingsville, Texas, 1,735. 4, Jim Breitenbach, Riverhead, N.Y., 1,729. 5, Robert Cerny, Wharton, Texas, 1,728. 6, Christopher Koecher, Portland, Texas, 1,691. 7, Steve Jacoby, Gowen, Mich., 1,686. 8, Nekia Hayes, Belleville, Mich., 1,677. 9, Adam Losh, St. Louis, 1,676. 10, Darlene Baker, Mahomet, Ill., 1,675.