Central Florida, Wichita State earn top seeds at USBC Intercollegiate Team Championships


    USBC Collegiate

    Webber International shoots first 300 Baker game in 34-year history of the event

    2009ITCBrigetteHarrelson.jpgThe Central Florida women and Wichita State men earned the top seeds heading into match play after qualifying Thursday at the 2009 United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Team Championships, presented by Storm.

    The championships, featuring the top 16 men's and top 16 women's college bowling teams in the country vying for national titles, is being held at The Cherry Bowl and runs through Saturday.

    Central Florida, ranked No. 1 in the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association Top 20, led the women's field with a 32-game total of 6,299, an average of 196.84 in the Baker format. The Wichita State women finished in second with 6,114, while McKendree was third with 6,104.

    "Some people say being the top seed is a curse, but we went out there today for the win like we always do," Central Florida anchor Brigette Harrelson (pictured) said. "We had a good day and achieved the goals we set out for today. Tomorrow is a new day."

    On the men's side, defending champion Wichita State again established its dominance in taking the qualifying lead with 6,680, an average of 208.75. Rochester Institute of Technology finished second with 6,531 and was followed in third by Saginaw Valley State with 6,358.

    "I like being the top seed because every team is going to give their best effort against you," Wichita State anchor Josh Blanchard said. "When teams come at you, it makes you work harder and gives you something more to shoot for."

    During the first block of qualifying Thursday morning, first-year program Webber International took its place in the record books as the first team to shoot a 300 Baker game in the 34-year history of the Intercollegiate Team Championships. The Warriors put together 12 consecutive strikes as a team in Game 7 and finished qualifying in fourth place among the men.

    All teams advanced to the double-elimination, match-play bracket Friday, where the field will be cut to the top four men's and women's teams by the end of the day. The semifinals will be conducted Saturday morning with the top two men's and women's teams advancing to the nationally televised finals, which will be shown on a tape-delayed basis on CBS College Sports.

    2009 USBC Intercollegiate Team Championships - Qualifying Results

    Men's Division
    1. Wichita State, 6,680; 2. Rochester Institute of Technology, 6,531; 3. Saginaw Valley State, 6,358; 4. Webber International, 6,345; 5. Lindenwood, 6,342; 6. Newman, 6,316; 7. Robert Morris College, 6,279; 8. Calumet College, 6,244; 9. Nebraska, 6,217; 10. Pikeville, 6,159; 11. Purdue, 6,152; 12. Fresno State, 6,107; 13. Robert Morris University, 6,098; 14. North Dakota State, 6,056; 15. Vincennes, 6,027; 16. Arizona State, 5,804.

    Women's Division
    1. Central Florida, 6,299; 2. Wichita State, 6,114; 3. McKendree, 6,104; 4. Robert Morris College, 5,957; 5. Lindenwood, 5,920; 6. Bellarmine, 5,884; 7. Maryland-Eastern Shore, 5,884; 8. Penn State, 5,729; 9. Pikeville, 5,728; 10. Fresno State, 5,726; 11. Calumet College, 5,666; 12. Martin Methodist, 5,578; 13. Wright State, 5,560; 14. Newman, 5,536; 15. Ball State, 5,437; 16. Erie Community College, 5,408.


    Double-Elimination, Match-Play Pairings

    Best-of-seven, double-elimination match play begins at 9:30 a.m. CDT

    Men's Division - Red Bracket
    (1) Wichita State vs. (16) Arizona State
    (8) Calumet College vs. (9) Nebraska
    (5) Lindenwood vs. (12) Fresno State
    (4) Webber International vs. (13) Robert Morris University

    Men's Division - Blue Bracket
    (2) Rochester Institute of Technology vs. (15) Vincennes
    (7) Robert Morris College vs. (10) Pikeville
    (6) Newman vs. (11) Purdue
    (3) Saginaw Valley State vs. North Dakota State


    Women's Division - Red Bracket
    (1) Central Florida vs. (16) Erie Community College
    (8) Penn State vs. (9) Pikeville
    (5) Lindenwood vs. (12) Martin Methodist
    (4) Robert Morris College vs. (13) Wright State

    Women's Division - Blue Bracket
    (2) Wichita State vs. (15) Ball State
    (7) Maryland-Eastern Shore vs. (10) Fresno State
    (6) Bellarmine vs. (11) Calumet College
    (3) McKendree vs. Newman