Paeng Nepomuceno gets chance to win his fifth Bowling World Cup title



    Liza Del Rosario earns women's spot in Philippine BWC Qualifier

    2009BWCPHIQPaengNepomucenoLizaDelRosario.jpg4-time Bowling World Cup winner Paeng Nepomuceno and Liza Del Rosario (pictured) survived a challenging 3-day contest en route to win the Philippine Bowling World Cup Qualifier and to represent their country at the 45th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in Malaysia.

    Nepomuceno, 52, won his first World Cup title 1976 at the 12th BWC in Teheran, Iran, at the tender age of 19. Four years later in 1980, the 6 feet 2 inches tall lefty became the first male bowler to win his second BWC title at the 16th World Cup in Jakarta, Indonesia.

    Nepomuceno extended his record with a third victory in the 28th BWC in Le Mans, France (1992) and his fourth title in the 32nd issue in Belfast, Northern Ireland (1996).

    The only other multiple World Cup winners are three women, Jeanette Baker, Australia (1983, '83), Pauline Smith-Buck, England (1981, '93) and Shannon Pluhowsky, United States (2002, '04).

    "I am pretty excited", stated Nepomuceno, who was voted Philippine Athlete of the Millennium, "because the last time I represented the Philippines was in 1996 when I won the event in Northern Ireland."

    13 years later the USBC Ambassador and Gold level coach will get a chance to win his fifth Bowling World Cup title.

    The 2009 Philippine World Cup National Finals were held over three days in three different bowling centers - Day 1 at Coronado Lanes in Mandaluyong City, Day 2 at the SM Mall of Asia bowling center in Pasay City and Day 3 at Eastwood Bowl in Quezon City.

    The men bowled 12 games each on the first two days while the women rolled two 10-game blocks. The field was cut to the top 8 men and top 8 women with the pinfall being carried forward into Day 3.

    2009PHIOpenLizaDelRosario.jpgThe remaining players - men and women - bowled another 8 games to cut to the top 3, who determined the champions in best-of-three games stepladder finals

    In the men's opening match, Nepomuceno, seeded second, eliminated No. 3 Paulo Valdez, two-games-to-none for the right to bowl top seeded Benshir Layoso for the title. Nepomuceno won the first game 217-201 and sealed the victory with a 242-195 in game #2.

    In the women's division, No. 1 seed Liza del Rosario (pictured right) had to sit an wait until No. 2 Krizziah Tabora defeated No. 3 Jaymee Bautista, 183-178, in the deciding third game. Del Rosario, who finished second at the 2001 BWC in Pattaya, Thailand, and third in the 2004 BWC in Singapore, made quick work of her team mate in the Philippine national team, 204-180 and 201-165, to win the women's title, two-games-to-none.

    The 45th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup will be held from Nov. 13-20, 2009 at Melaka International Bowling Center in Melaka, Malaysia.


    Men's Stepladder Finals (best-of-three games format)


    Women's Stepladder Finals (best-of-three games format)


    Men's Preliminaries after 32 games

    The top 3 advance to the stepladder finals


    Women's Preliminaries after 28 games

    The top 3 advance to the stepladder finals