Zara Giles sets the pace in the women's division at the 45th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


    2009 BWC

    Melaka International Bowling Center in Melaka, Malaysia (Nov. 13-20, 2009)

    2009BWCZaraGiles2.jpg2009BWCEvgeniaTsarkova2.jpgMultiple World and European champion Zara Giles (nee Glover, pictured left), England, set the pace in the first block of the women's qualifying in the 45th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup on Monday morning at Melaka International Bowling Center in Melaka, Malaysia.

    Giles, who finished third in last year's World Cup in Hermosillo, Mexico, felled 1805 pins over eight games, an average of 225.63. Giles came out of the gates quickly with games of 248, 257 and 225 but suffered a 156 game at the end of the first four-game block.

    As the 52-lane center is split in two sections, each 8-game block will be divided into two blocks with 4 games being bowled on lanes 1-26 and 4 games on lanes 27-52. Glover rebounded with 217, 227, 216 and 259 to take a 54 pin lead after the first day of competition.

    Videos #6 Interview with Day One Leader Zara Giles

    2009BWCJoeyYip2.jpg2009BWCLauraRhoney2.jpgEvgenia Tsarkova (above right), Russia, finisher her block with a huge 269, the highest game in the tournament thus far, to jump into second place with 1751 (218.88).

    Joey Yip (left), Hong Kong, used a high game of 267 to finish day one in third position with 1724 (215.50). Scotland's Laura Rhoney (right), a frequent World Cup participant, was 11 pins behind in fourth place with 1713 (214.13).

    Rounding out the top 5 was Diana Zavjalova (below left), Latvia, who had six games over 200 and a 1683 series (210.38).

    2009BWCDianaZavjalova.jpg2009BWCAnnMareePutney2.jpgThe other favorites for the BWC women's title have positioned themselves among the top ten or at least among the top 24, who will make the first cut on Wednesday afternoon.

    Following sixth placed Baek Seung-ja (1682), Korea, is 2007 World Cup champion and last year's runner-up, Ann-Maree Putney (right), Australia, with 1678.

    Reigning World Ranking Masters champion representing the host country Malaysia, Siti Safiyah Amirah, is 8th with 1663, followed by 2007 BWC second runner-up, Tina Hulsch, Germany, in 9th place with 1661.

    2009BWCLizaDelRosario.jpg2009BWCReijaLunden2.jpgRounding out the top 10 is Canada's Caroline Lagrange with 1654, with World Champion Liza Del Rosario (left), Philippines, in 11th place with 1649.

    World and European champion Helen Johnsson Sweden, is 13th 1621, former pro and U.S. Open winner Tennelle Milligan, United States, is 15th with 1607, immediately followed by long-time Finnish national team member Reija Lunden (right) in 16th place with 1606.

    Indonesian standout Putty Armein is currently 20th with 1582, with World Games winner Isabelle Sacco, France, in 22nd place. Just outside the top 24 is Mexico's Sayuri Yamada in 25th place with 1555.

    Click here to view a slide show with photos from 62 players
    taken during the women's official practice on Sunday afternoon.

    The 66 players from 66 countries are done for today and will return on Tuesday afternoon for the second qualifying block.

    2009BWCLogo_small.jpg The 45th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup drew 153 players - 87 men and 66 women - from 91 countries.

    All players in each division, men and women, will bowl 24 qualifying games over three days. As the 52-lane center is split in two sections, each 8-game block will be divided into two blocks with 4 games being bowled on lanes 1-26 and 4 games on lanes 27-52. The top 24 qualifiers in each division will advance to the intermediate round with the 24-game total being carried forward.

    Those 24 men and 24 women will bowl a further 8 games to cut to the top 8 who will advance to the quarterfinals with the 32-game total being carried forward.

    Those 8 men and 8 women will determine the three finalists in round robin match play plus position round (total 8 games).

    The semifinals and the finals will be decided in best-of-three games format. No. 3 bowls No. 2 for the right to bowl No. 1 for the title. The highest seed player will have the choice of starting lane. The United States (men) and Singapore (women) are the defending champions.


    Women's Qualifying - Top 5 after the first block of 8 games