Ricky Henderson wins $25,000 in The 2010 TAT Amateur Nationals


    United States

    The Orleans bowling center in Las Vegas, Nev., USA (Feb. 1-7, 2010)

    2010TATRickyHenderson.jpgThe economy had no effect on the entries of the 2010 TAT Amateur Nationals at the The Orleans bowling center in Las Vegas, Nev. as the tournament registered 4968 entries in this one-week event.

    Ricky Henderson from Baltimore, Maryland walked away the winner and he took home $25,000. After winning the tournament Henderson said "I drilled up the Ebonite Mission and I knew it was going to win the tournament for me."

    L-R Jamie McWilliams of TAT, Ricky Henderson TAT Champion, and Shawn Morris of Ebonite

    Finishing second was Senior division bowler John Young earning $15,000 for his efforts. Third place went to Joseph Guerrero cashing for $12,500, while 205 division bowler Fabio Andrade made $10,000 for fourth place.

    189 & Under Handicap bowler Erik Glenn cashed for $6,000 for fifth place. All together the Top 5 received $68,000 and the Top 10 got a total of $83,500.

    All TAT entrants received a new Ebonite High Performance Bowling Ball with the first 600 bowlers receiving a second Ebonite bowling ball all without any increase in entry fees. The Ebonite crew gave out 1404 bowling balls and 161 double tote bags during the week.

    The Ebonite Challenge set a new record this year going 29 rounds and almost 3 hours of no-tap elimination bowling! When the dust had settled, Curtis Dornath came out the 2010 Ebonite Challenge winner. He took home $5,000 with his Ebonite Playmaker that seemed to read the lanes just right.

    There were 30 cash winners in this event and it had a 1 for 6 cashing ratio. As always, all Ebonite Challenge competitors received a new Ebonite Lane Breaker just for entering with over 75% the bowlers getting in for free.

    There were also three TAT Sweepers contested this year with all overall winners receiving $1,000. The first Sweeper was won by Brian Wallace and all TAT bowlers got to bowl in it for free at 1:00 on Monday. The second Sweeper was Wednesday and was won by Mike Albert with Daniel Skrimager winning the Thursday sweeper.

    The TAT also added a new Handicap division to this year's Amateur Nationals which had over 160 bowlers that averaged under 189. One of them was guaranteed to the Top 5 and received a check for $6,000. All other handicap finalists received checks ranging from $400 to $2500 each.

    On behalf of the entire TAT staff, we would like to thank all our TAT bowlers and sponsors for making this year's Amateur Nationals the best tournament in years! We would also like to thank The Orleans for their outstanding customer service and hospitality during this exciting week of megabuck bowling. You can find results from this year's 2010 TAT Amateur Nationals our posted on or website at www.tatbowl.com. Thanks again to our bowler and our sponsors for making this another wonderful megabuck tournament.