Helminen, Janicki, Pajak add their names to the leaderboard in Wroclaw


    2010 European Bowling Tour #3

    Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland (Feb., 15-21, 2010)



    With seven regular and two extra squads in the books, 73 players - 69 men and 4 women - have bowled at least one six-game block in the qualifying of the 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Former European champion and past Finnish bowling federation president Jouni Helminen led Squad 7 on Thursday evening with 1369 (228.17 avg.) to jump into 6th place in the overall qualifying standings.

    Tomasz Janicki, Poland, led Squad 5 on Thursday morning with 1348 en route to overtake 8th place. Polish international Daria Pająk became the second woman in the top 10 when she led Squad 6 with 1324 including 48 pins handicap, good for 10th place.

    Day one leader Paweł Bielski, Poland, remained in the lead with 1424 pinfall total and an average of 237.33. Łukasz Zjawiony, Poland, is second with 1382, followed by Ian Robinson, Sweden, in third with 1378, Piotr Zjawiony, Poland, in fourth with 1373 and Göran Bergendorff, Sweden, in fifth place with 1369. Greta Frost, Poland, is the top-ranked woman in the field in 7th place with 1350.

    The 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer is one of six newcomers on the 2010 European Bowling Tour. The IWO, the third of 21 tournaments in the 2010 EBT season and the Tour's first Satellite tournament, will be held from Monday Feb. 15 through Sunday Feb. 21 at 10-laner Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    The 2010 EBT Tour features 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 7 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 8 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new).

    The tournament will be contested on a 41 feet long pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro or approximately 27,250 USD. The champion will receive the 3.700 Euro winner's check.

    Qualifying (6 games) runs through Saturday Feb. 20 with the final qualifying squad 15 scheduled for 8.30pm (no Desperado Squad). Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    The top 40 players from the qualifying will advance to the finals on Sunday Feb. 21. The pinfall will be carried forward until the stepladder finals. The top 40 will bowl 4 games to cut to the top 20, who will advance to the second round.

    The top 20 will bowl another 4 games with the top 8 after 14 games advancing to round robin match play. The top 4 players after seven match play games (20 pins bonus per win, 10 for a tie, 10 pins bonus for each game between 250 and 300) will advance to the stepladder finals.

    The first two stepladder matches will be decided in one game, while the championship match is over two games decided by total pinfall. The No. 4 seed bowls the No. 3 seed, the winner takes on the No. 2 seed and the winner of the semifinal match earns the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title.


    Related Articles

    Zjawiony, Robinson, Bergendorff crack top 5 at International Wroclaw Open in Wednesday's extra squad
    Pawel Bielski holds onto the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Pawel Bielski shoots 300 to take the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 7