Barrett, Eklund overtake the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    2010 European Bowling Tour #3

    Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland (Feb., 15-21, 2010)

    2010EBT01DominicBarrett.jpg2009VODennisEklund4.jpgDominic Barrett (pictured left), England, and Dennis Eklund (right), Sweden, continued where they left off last week and overtook first and second place in the qualifying of the 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer Friday at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Barrett, who fell to Eklund in the title match of the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament last Sunday, rolled games of 277, 246, 259, 275, 212 and 213 in Squad 9 to take the lead with 1482 and an average of 247.00.

    Two Squads later, Eklund, who has won his second EBT title in Tilburg, had games of 226, 251, 217, 204, 259 and 275 to move into second place with 1432 (238.67).

    Previous leader Paweł Bielski, Poland, slipped to third place with 1424 including the tournaments sole 300 game. Sören Nielsen, Denmark, led Squad 10 with 1408 including a high game of 284 to sit in fourth place heading into the final qualifying day.

    Greta Frost, Poland, is the best of just five women in the 111-player field with 1350 including 48 pins handicap, good for 14th place. Her compatriot Mariusz Bentkowski led the Friday morning squad with 1333 to move into 18th place.

    With the final four squads to go, Jakub Piotrowski, Poland, holds the 40th and final place to advance to the finals with 1244 or an average of 207.33.

    The 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer is one of six newcomers on the 2010 European Bowling Tour. The IWO, the third of 21 tournaments in the 2010 EBT season and the Tour's first Satellite tournament, will be held from Monday Feb. 15 through Sunday Feb. 21 at 10-laner Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    The 2010 EBT Tour features 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 7 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 8 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new).

    The tournament will be contested on a 41 feet long pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro or approximately 27,250 USD. The champion will receive the 3.700 Euro winner's check.

    Qualifying (6 games) runs through Saturday Feb. 20 with the final qualifying squad 15 scheduled for 8.30pm (no Desperado Squad). Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    The top 40 players from the qualifying will advance to the finals on Sunday Feb. 21. The pinfall will be carried forward until the stepladder finals. The top 40 will bowl 4 games to cut to the top 20, who will advance to the second round.

    The top 20 will bowl another 4 games with the top 8 after 14 games advancing to round robin match play. The top 4 players after seven match play games (20 pins bonus per win, 10 for a tie, 10 pins bonus for each game between 250 and 300) will advance to the stepladder finals.

    The first two stepladder matches will be decided in one game, while the championship match is over two games decided by total pinfall. The No. 4 seed bowls the No. 3 seed, the winner takes on the No. 2 seed and the winner of the semifinal match earns the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title.


    Related Articles

    Helminen, Janicki, Pajak to the leaderboard in Wroclaw
    Zjawiony, Robinson, Bergendorff crack top 5 at International Wroclaw Open in Wednesday's extra squad
    Pawel Bielski holds onto the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Pawel Bielski shoots 300 to take the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 11