Redemption for Dominic Barrett, wins 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    2010 European Bowling Tour #3

    Defeats three Swedes in come-from-behind victory

    2009EBT14DominicBarrett.jpg2009VOFinalTobiasKarlsson.jpgFourth seeded Dominic Barrett (pictured left), England, defeated three Swedes en route to win the title in the 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer and 3.700 Euro Sunday evening at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    The top 3 from last weekend's Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament, winner Dennis Eklund, Sweden, runner-up Barrett, England, and 3rd place finisher Tobias Karlsson (right), Sweden, as well as Mikael Kanold, Sweden, reached the stepladder finals after 21 games with the pinfall being carried forward since the qualifying.

    The opening match was a re-match of the Bronzen Schietspoel title match with Barrett taking full revenge with a 264-243 victory. over Eklund (below left)). The Englishman, who finished second in the European Bowling Tour rankings in the past two seasons, carried the momentum into the semifinal match, defeating Kanold (below right), 237-197.

    2009VODennisEklund4.jpg2010EBT03MikaelKanold.jpgIn the title match over two games decided by total pinfall, Barrett started out commandingly by winning the first game, 277-207. Barrett took the second game, 253-198, to easily win the match, 530-405, and to claim his third EBT title. Barrett averaged 257.75 in the stepladder final.

    Karlsson received 2.300 Euro for second place, Kanold pocketed 1.700 Euro for third and Eklund earned 1.400 Euro for fourth.

    Diana Zavjalova (below left), Latvia, was the best of just eight women in the tournament in 14th place en route to win the women's ranking in Wroclaw. The tournament drew 115 players from 14 countries.

    2009VODianaZavjalova.jpgThe 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer is one of six newcomers on the 2010 European Bowling Tour. The IWO, the third of 21 tournaments in the 2010 EBT season and the Tour's first Satellite tournament, will be held from Monday Feb. 15 through Sunday Feb. 21 at 10-laner Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    The 2010 EBT Tour features 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 7 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 8 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new).

    The tournament will be contested on a 41 feet long pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro or approximately 27,250 USD. The champion will receive the 3.700 Euro winner's check.

    Qualifying (6 games) ran through Saturday Feb. 20, 2010. Women received 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    The top 40 players from the qualifying advanced to the finals on Sunday Feb. 21. The pinfall will be carried forward until the stepladder finals. The top 40 bowled 4 games to cut to the top 20, who will advance to the second round.

    The top 20 will bowl another 4 games with the top 8 after 14 games advancing to round robin match play. The top 4 players after seven match play games (20 pins bonus per win, 10 for a tie, 10 pins bonus for each game between 250 and 300) will advance to the stepladder finals.

    The first two stepladder matches will be decided in one game, while the championship match is over two games decided by total pinfall. The No. 4 seed bowls the No. 3 seed, the winner takes on the No. 2 seed and the winner of the semifinal match earns the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title.


    2010 European Bowling Tour Rankings by Bowlingdigital

    2010 EBT Men's Ranking
    2010 EBT Women's Ranking


    Related Articles

    Dominic Barrett leads top 40 into finals of 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Dominic Barrett, Dennis Eklund overtake the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Helminen, Janicki, Pajak to the leaderboard in Wroclaw
    Zjawiony, Robinson, Bergendorff crack top 5 at International Wroclaw Open in Wednesday's extra squad
    Pawel Bielski holds onto the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Pawel Bielski shoots 300 to take the lead in 4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    4th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer

    Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland (Feb., 15-21, 2010)

    2010EBT03Top4.jpgChampionship Round:
    1. Dominic Barrett, England, 1031 (4 games), 3.700 Euro
    2. Tobias Karlsson, Sweden, 405 (2 games), 2.300 Euro
    3. Mikael Kanold, Sweden, 197 (1 game), 1.700 Euro
    4. Dennis Eklund, Sweden, 243 (1 game), 1.400 Euro

    Playoff Results:
    First Match: #4 Barrett def. #3 Eklund, 264-243
    Second Match: Barrett def. #2 Kanold, 237-197
    Title Match: #1 Karlsson (277, 253) def. Barrett (207, 198), 530-405

    L-R Karlsson, winner Barrett, Kanold and Eklund.

    Final Standings - Places 5-40 (Cashers)

    5. Sören Nielsen, Denmark, 1.100 Euro
    6. Paweł Bielski, Poland, 1.000 Euro
    7. Jarmo Ahokas, Finland, 900 Euro
    8. Peder Grimsen, Sweden, 800 Euro
    9. Tomasz Janicki, Poland, 550 Euro
    10. Jouni Helminen, Finland, 550 Euro
    11. Ian Robinson, Sweden, 250 Euro
    12. Clemens Ulsamer, Germany, 250 Euro
    13. Lars Pöhler, Germany, 250 Euro
    14. Diana Zavjalova, Latvia, 250 Euro
    15. Teemu Asplund, Finland, 250 Euro
    16. Steffen Gerischer, Germany, 250 Euro
    17. Daria Pająk, Poland, 250 Euro
    18. Piotr Zjawiony, Poland, 250 Euro
    19. Łukasz Zjawiony, Poland, 250 Euro
    20. Marco Cesare Parapini, Italy, 250 Euro
    21. Markus Bergendorff, Denmark, 200 Euro
    22. Jakub Piotrowski, Poland, 200 Euro
    23. Lars Nielsen, Denmark, 200 Euro
    24. Ulf Bolleby, Sweden, 200 Euro
    25. Vytautas Gykis, Lithuania, 200 Euro
    26. Greta Frost, Poland, 200 Euro
    27. Rune Christensen, Denmark, 200 Euro
    28. Göran Bergendorff, Sweden, 200 Euro
    29. Paco Rodriguez, Spain, 200 Euro
    30. Egon Sörensen, Denmark, 200 Euro
    31. Mariusz Bentkowski, Poland, 150 Euro
    32. Henrik Jørgensen, Denmark, 150 Euro
    33. Tymoteusz Cieckiewicz, Poland, 150 Euro
    34. Mikkel Mortensen, Denmark, 150 Euro
    35. Roberto Tagliavini, Italy, 150 Euro
    36. Brett Bendtsen, Denmark, 150 Euro
    37. Claes Gauffin, Sweden, 150 Euro
    38. Henrik Skoet, Denmark, 150 Euro
    39. Jiří Hindrák, Czech Republic, 150 Euro
    40. Orry Sonnenschein, Israel, 150 Euro

    Final Round 3 Results

    The top 4 players advance to the Stepladder Finals.


    Final Round 2 Results

    The top 8 players advance to Round Robin Match Play.


    Final Round 1 Results

    The top 20 players advance to the second round.