Thomas Larsen wins his first career EBT title in 8th Catalonia Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #4

    Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona, Spain (Feb., 23-28, 2010)

    2010EBT04ThomasLarsen.jpg2010EBT04DominicBarrett.jpgDane Thomas Larsen (pictured left) defeated the hottest player on the 2010 European Bowling Tour, Dominic Barrett (right), England, 235-229, to win the VIII Catalonia Open - Trofeu Galasa and the 6.000 Euro top prize.

    Larsen, who was in fourth place after qualifying, overtook the lead after the 4-game quarterfinal round and earned the No. 1 seed for the stepladder finals after another 4-game semifinal round averaging over 233 for the tournament.

    In the opening match Barrett, seeded second, flew past No. 3, women's ranking winner Luz Adriana Leal (below left) from Colombia, 287-201, to make his third consecutive EBT title match. He was second in Tilburg and won the title in the Wroclaw Open last Sunday.

    2010EBT04LuzAdrianaLeal.jpg200910PBAWSClaraJulianaGuerrero.jpgThe two-time World Youth Championships gold medalist led Larsen by 29 pins in frame 6 before he suffered an open frame in the 7th. Larsen went off the sheet to secure his first career EBT title.

    Barrett, who overtakes the lead in the EBT men's rankings, had to settle for second place worth 3.000 Euro. Leal received 2.000 Euro for third place and added another 1.500 Euro bonus for the best woman in the tournament. Her compatriot, two-time World Champion Clara Juliana Guerrero (right, 6th place overall), pocketed 1.000 Euro bonus while 2008 EBT women's ranking champion Nina Flack (13th) got 500 Euro bonus.

    2010EBT04Logo_small.jpg The VIII Catalonia Open - Trofeu Galasa was held from Feb., 23-28, 2010 at Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona, Spain, and offered total prize fund of 44.700 Euro. The tournament was the fourth stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments.

    Since the Ankara Open has been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour features 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 8 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2009EBT04LucasLegnani_small.jpg2009EBT04KirstenPenny_small.jpgThe top 48 players in the Catalonia Open will cash with 6.000 Euro going to the winner. Lucas Legnani (left) from Argentina is the defending champion. Kirsten Penny (right), England, has won the women's ranking in 2009.

      48 players survived the first cut and were split into two groups - Group A (places 25-48, pictured left) and Group B (places 1-24, pictured right) - and carried forward 50 per cent of their respective qualifying total into the quarterfinal.

    All 48 players bowled 4 games with the top 24 advancing to the semifinal. The pinfall total was carried forward.

    Click on the image to enlarge it.

    Those 24 determined the top three players for the stepladder finals in another 4-game block. In the semifinal match, the No. 3 seed took on No. 2 for the right to bowl the top seeded player for the title and the 6.000 Euro top prize.


    VIII Catalonia Open - Trofeu Galasa

    Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona, Spain (Feb., 23-28, 2010)

    2010EBT04BarrettLarsenLeal.jpgChampionship Round:
    1. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 235 (1 game), 6.000 Euro
    2. Dominic Barrett, England, 516 (2 games), 3.000 Euro
    3. *Luz Adriana Leal Gonzalez 201 (1 game), Colombia, 3.500 Euro

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match: #2 Barrett def. #3 Leal, 287-201
    Championship: #1 Larsen def. Barrett, 235-229.

    *Leal received 8 pins handicap. The top 3 women received 1.500, 1.000 and 500 Euro bonus, respecticvely.

    L-R Barrett, winner Larsen and Leal.

    Cashers (places 4-48)

    5. Paul Moor, England, 1.000 Euro
    6. *Clara Juliana Guerrero, Colombia, 2.000 Euro
    7. Tore Torgersen, Norway, 1.000 Euro
    8. Gery Verbruggen, Belgium, 1.000 Euro
    9. Jesper Agerbo, Denmark, 1.000 Euro
    10. Mathias Ă…rup, Sweden, 1.000 Euro
    11. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 800 Euro
    12. Anders Lousdal, Denmark, 800 Euro
    13. *Nina Flack, Sweden, 1.3000 Euro
    14. Mik Stampe, Denmark, 800 Euro
    15. Paco Rodriguez Suances, Spain, 800 Euro
    16. Marcial Ovide Marron, Catalonia, 800 Euro
    17. Tina Hulsch, Germany, 800 Euro
    18. Priscilla Maaswinkel, The Netherlands, 800 Euro
    19. HĂ©len Johnsson, Sweden, 800 Euro
    20. Martin Paulsson, Sweden, 800 Euro
    21. François Sacco, France, 700 Euro
    22. Sonja Uhlich, Germany, 700 Euro
    23. Lisanne Breeschoten, The Netherlands, 700 Euro
    24. John Wells, England, 700 Euro
    25. Peter Ljung, Sweden, 600 Euro
    26. Nicole Sanders, Netherlands, 600 Euro
    27. Mathias Sarmadi, France, 600 Euro
    28. Karl Wahlgren, Sweden, 600 Euro
    29. Mark Jacobs, Netherlands, 600 Euro
    30. Birgit Pöppler, Germany, 600 Euro
    31. Patricia Luoto, Germany, 500 Euro
    32. Ulf Bolleby, Sweden, 500 Euro
    33. Marilyn Planchard, France, 500 Euro
    34. Ron van den Bogaard, Netherlands, 500 Euro
    35. Xavier Lotthe, France, 500 Euro
    36. Federico Rossi, Italy, 500 Euro
    37. Patrick Backe, Sweden, 500 Euro
    38. Sophie van der Meer, Netherlands, 500 Euro
    39. Tanja Theissen, Germany, 500 Euro
    40. Isabelle Sacco, France, 500 Euro
    41. Laurence Gaillard, France, 400 Euro
    42. Bianca Wiekeraad, Netherlands, 400 Euro
    43. Carmen Haandrikman, Netherlands, 400 Euro
    44. Nicki Ainge, England, 400 Euro
    45. Axel GuimĂł Miranda, Catalonia, 400 Euro
    46. Elise Trouniac, France, 400 Euro
    47. Camilla Lindqvist, Sweden, 400 Euro
    48. Christian Evensen, Norway, 400 Euro


    2010 European Bowling Tour Rankings by Bowlingdigital

    2010 EBT Men's Ranking
    2010 EBT Women's Ranking


    Catalonia Open - Semifinal Results

    The top 3 advance to the stepladder finals.



    Catalonia Open - Quarterfinal Results

    The top 24 advance to the second round.