Pete Weber wins his 35th career PBA title in Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open


    2009-10 PBA Tour #18

    PBA Hall of Famer hands rival Walter Ray Williams Jr. PBA Player of the Year honors

    200910PBA12WalterRayWilliams3.jpg200910PBA18PeteWeber.jpgPBA and USBC Hall of Famer Pete Weber (pictured left) of St. Ann, Mo., re-wrote the Professional Bowlers Association history book Sunday when he defeated top qualifier Mike Scroggins of Amarillo, Texas, 268-224, to win the Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open at AMF Country Club Lanes.

    With his 35th career victory, breaking his tie for third place on the all-time PBA Tour titles list with Mark Roth, Weber denied Scroggins’ bid to become 2009-10 PBA Player of the Year, and handed that crown to his long-time rival, Walter Ray Williams Jr. (right) of Ocala, Fla.

    Williams therefore becomes the first to win the PBA Player of the Year title seven times, breaking a tie with the late Earl Anthony. Williams, with 47 career titles, and Anthony, with 43, are now the only two with more PBA titles than Weber.

    200910PBA18PeteWeber6.jpg200910PBA18MikeScroggins4.jpg“I feel like I just won my first title,” the teary-eyed Weber said. “I don’t know what to say. It’s been three years since I won. I thought I was never going to win again.”

    Weber led the title match throughout, starting with five strikes before converting a single-pin spare. He then threw another four strikes to end Scroggins’ hopes for a third 2009-10 title and his first Player of the Year award. Scroggins (pictured right) entered the finals in a three-way tie in the Player of the Year competition, but he needed to win the title because he trailed Williams in the overall competition points tie-breaker.

    “So Walter Ray owes me another one,” Weber said, referring to the payback he wants because of Williams’ dominance over Weber on television. “But I said yesterday, if Mike was going to win Player of the Year, he was going to have to earn it and I’m sure the other guys on the show felt the same way.

    200910PBABradAngelo.jpg200910PBAWesMalott.jpg“Mike, I’m sorry I shot 268 at you…not,” Weber grinned.

    On breaking his titles tie with Roth, Weber said, “I never thought I’d get to 34 titles, let alone pass Mark Roth. He was my idol growing up. I feel kind of bad about going past him, but not really.”

    Weber advanced to the title match with a 233-212 victory over Brad Angelo (left) of Lockport, N.Y., in the semifinal match. Angelo eliminated defending Marathon Open champion Wes Malott (right) of Pflugerville, Texas, in the opening game, 207-192, and Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, 256-227, in the second game before losing to Weber. The championship round was conducted on the Dick Weber lane condition, one of seven used during the tournament. Scroggins, as top qualifier, selected that pattern for the TV finals.

    “It was Mike’s choice, but winning on the pattern named in honor of my father makes it even more special,” Weber said.

    The Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open concluded the PBA Tour’s 2009-10 regular season.

    Champions from the Cheetah, Viper, Chameleon, Scorpion and Shark Championships conducted in Detroit last August will compete in a special PBA Experience Showdown presented by BOWL.COM while top finishers from six PBA Women’s Series events will compete in the PBA Women’s Series Showdown presented by BOWL.COM next week at the International Bowling Campus in Arlington, Texas.

    The PBA Experience Showdown will air on ESPN on Sunday, April 11, at 1 p.m. Eastern and the Women’s Series Showdown will air on Sunday, April 18, also at 1 p.m. Eastern.

    Following the Arlington special events, 20 top PBA players based upon 2008-09 points will travel to Tokyo April 22-25 to compete in the 25th anniversary DYDO Japan Cup. Patrick Allen of Wesley Chapel, Fla., is defending champion.


    Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open

    AMF Country Club Lanes in Baltimore, Md. (March 29-April 4, 2010)

    Championship Round:
    1. Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 501 (2 games), $25,000
    2. Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas, 224 (1 game), $13,000
    3. Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 675 (3 games), $8,000
    4. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 227 (1 game), $6,000
    5. Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, 192 (1 game), $5,000

    Playoff Results:
    First Match: #4 Angelo def. #5 Malott, 207-192
    Second Match: Angelo def. #3 Barnes, 256-227 Third match: #2 Weber def. Angelo, 233-212
    Championship: WEber def. #1 Scroggins, 268-224.


    Related Articles

    Mike Scroggins goes for title, PBA Player of the Year in Marathon Open
    Fierce battle shapes up for Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open final round
    Wes Malott retains lead in Marathon Open after four rounds
    Defending champion Wes Malott overtakes lead in Marathon Open after Round 2
    Mike Wolfe averages 259 for Lumber Liquidators Marathon Open first round lead
    exciting finish in Baltimore