PBA Tour players prepare for DYDO Japan Cup 2010 April 22-25 in Tokyo



    In the 25 years, PBA pros have won 22 times

    200910PBAPotYWalterRayWilliams.jpg200910PBAPatrickAllen.jpgRecently-crowned Professional Bowlers Association Player of the Year Walter Ray Williams Jr. (pictured left) and defending champion Patrick Allen (right) head a list of 20 Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour players who will compete in the DYDO Japan Cup 2010 April 22-25 in Tokyo. Qualifying will take place at the Shinagawa Prince Hotel and match play at Tokyo Port Bowl.

    It marks the 25th straight season that PBA Tour players have been invited to compete in the event which also includes 91 Japan Professional Bowlers Association players and 33 amateurs. In the 25 years that PBA players have been invited to the event it has been won 22 times by PBA pros and twice by JPBA players.

    The PBA players earned their invitation through their performances in the 2008-09 season. While the invitational event ends the 2009-10 PBA Tour season, it has no bearing on season’s points races.

    Allen won the 2009 Japan Cup, defeating 2008-09 Player of the Year Wes Malott, 247-214, last April. The win marked Allen’s 13th PBA Tour title and third international title. He won the 2008 World Tenpin Bowling Association World Championship Doubles and Team titles in Bangkok as a member of Team USA.

    200910PBARhinoPage.jpg200910PBAParkerBohn.jpgJoining Allen in the spotlight last year was fellow PBA Tour star Rhino Page (left), who threw the first perfect game in Japan Cup TV finals history and the 20th televised perfect game in PBA history. Page defeated Jeong Tae-Hwa of South Korea, 300-235, in the Round of 8. The perfect game earned Page a $100,000 bonus, matching the most prize money ever awarded to a PBA player who shot 300 on TV.

    Allen will attempt to become the third player to successfully defend a Japan Cup. Tommy Jones won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005 while Parker Bohn III (right) won the Cup three consecutive years from 1998-2000.

    Williams is making his 25th consecutive Japan Cup appearance, making him the only player to have appeared in every Japan Cup in its modern configuration. Williams has made seven championship round appearances and won the event twice including a 289-236 win over Pete Weber in 2006 which broke the all-time PBA Tour titles record.

    For the record, Page – the youngest PBA Tour player in the field – was two years old the first year Williams bowled in the Japan Cup.

    The 144-player field will bowl two six-game qualifying blocks at the Shinagawa Prince Hotel after which there will be a cut to the top 48 players who will move to Tokyo Port Bowl for best-of-seven-game match play eliminations to determine the top eight advancing to the championship round to be televised exclusively in Japan.

    From 1968-73, a handful of PBA pros competed in what was known as the Japan Gold Cup. Winners from the Japan Gold Cup era include Don Johnson (1968), Dick Ritger (1969, ’70), Jack Biondolillo (1971), Barry Asher (1972) and Don McCune (1973).


    DYDO Japan Cup 2010 Schedule

    All times local time in Tokyo

    Thursday, April 22 (Shinagawa Prince Hotel)
    2 p.m. - Press conference
    3:30 p.m. - Official practice session

    Friday, April 23 (Shinagawa Prince Hotel)
    9:30 a.m. - Qualifying Round 1 (6 games)
    1:45 p.m. - Qualifying Round 2 (6 games)
    Top 48 advance to single-elimination match play; top 16 earn one “bye”

    Saturday, April 24 (Tokyo Port Bowl)
    9 a.m. - Round of 48 (qualifiers 17-48; best of 7 games)
    1 p.m. - Round of 32 (best of 7 games)
    5 p.m. - Round of 16 (best of 7 games)
    Eight survivors advance to TV finals

    Sunday, April 25 (Tokyo Port Bowl)
    12:26 p.m. - Round of 8 (Match 1, one game)
    12:52 p.m. - Round of 8 (Match 2, one game)
    1:18 p.m. - Round of 8 (Match 3, one game)
    1:44 p.m. - Round of 8 (Match 4, one game)
    2:26 p.m. - Semifinal Match 1 (one game)
    2:52 p.m. - Semifinal Match 2 (one game)
    3:18 p.m. - Championship Match (one game)


    PBA players in DYDO Japan Cup 2010

    in alphabetical order

    Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla.
    Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y.
    Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas
    Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J.
    Dino Castillo, Carrollton, Texas
    Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla.
    Mike Fagan, Patchogue, N.Y.
    Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C.
    Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich.
    Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio
    Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas
    Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind.
    Bill O’Neill, Southampton, Pa.
    Rhino Page, Dade City, Fla.
    Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan.
    Ronnie Russell, Camby, Ind.
    Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas
    Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y.
    Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo.
    Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla.