Phil Hulst wins 2010 Bowling Promotion Cup



    Eurosport 2 announces broadcast times

    2010BPCPhilHulst.jpg2010BPCSergeyAndreevBrunoBidone.jpgDutchman Phil Hulst (pictured left) defeated PBA professional Michael Haugen Jr., United States, 219-172, to win the inaugural 2010 Bowling Promotion Cup. The made-for-TV invitational was held June 6 at Bowling Center Châteaubriant, France.

    Organizer Bruno Bidone, who took one of the six spots, teamed with Sergey Andreev, Russia, to win the Doubles competition. In the title match the duo, seeded second, defeated top seeded Haugen and his partner Willy Garraud, France, twice to win the event. Pictured right: Andreev and Bidone (l-r).

    2010BPCTVPair.jpg2010BPCMichaelHaugenBrunoBidone.jpgAll six players bowled 8 games qualifying on a 40 feet long oil pattern. "The Bowling Promotion Cup lane condition is a 'flat' oil pattern", said Bidone (pictured right with Michael Haugen Jr.) "Premium shot making and precision accuracy are required to conquer this difficult condition."

    The top five determined the Singles champion in a traditional stepladder format while the No. 1 (Haugen) teamed with No. 6 (Garraud), No. 2 (Andreev) with No. 5 (Bidone) and No. 3 (Hulst) with No. 4 (Krasavkin) in the doubles final in Baker format.

    The 2010 Bowling Promotion Cup will be broadcasted on Eurosport 2. All times CET.
    • July 15, 2010 from 21:30 to 22:30 Part I
    • July 16, 2010 from 11:30 to 12:30 Replay
    • July 22, 2010 from 21:00 to 22:00 Part II
    • July 23, 2010 from 11:30 to 12:30 Replay





    Standings after 8 games qualifying

    1. Michael Haugen Jr., United States
    2. Sergey Andreev, Russia
    3. Phil Hulst, Netherlands
    4. Victor Krasavkin, Russia
    5. Bruno Bidone, France (organizer)
    6. Willy Garraud, France (won the FFBSQ qualifier)


    Doubles Competition (Baker-format)

    Semifinal: #2 Andreev/Bidone def #3 Hulst/Krasavkin, 225-179
    Final match 1: Andreev/Bidone def Haugen/Garraud, 180-153
    Final match 2: Andreev/Bidone def Haugen/Garraud, 176-160

    Winner: Sergey Andreev, Russia, and Bruno Bidone, France.


    Singles Playoffs

    Match 1: #4 Krasavkin def #5 Bidone 185-144
    Match 2: #3 Hulst def Krasavkin, 225-152
    Match 3: Hulst def Andreev, 167-145
    Title Match: Hulst def Haugen, 219-172

    Winner: Phil Hulst, Netherlands.