Williams, Jussila overtake qualifying lead in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #10

    Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany (June 27 - July 4, 2010)

    2010EBT10StuartWilliams.jpg2010EBT10PerttuJussila.jpg2007 World Ranking Masters champion Stuart Williams (pictured left), England, and Perttu Jussila (right), Finland, led two of the three qualifying squads on Thursday at Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany, en route to move into 1, 2 in the overall qualifying standings of the 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open.

    Jussila got off to a great start in Squad 5 with games of 230, 264, 218, 227 and 278 before he finished with 171 to overtake previous leader Bodo Konieczny, Germany, by three pins with 1388 and an average of 231.55 for six games.

    2010EBT10MohommadKamel.jpg2010EBT10ChristianRechenberg.jpgMohammad Kamel (left), Kuwait, used high games of 247 and 246 and four games between 211 and 227 to win Squad 6 with 1371 pinfall total (228.50).

    Williams, who was exempt on the 2009-10 PBA Tour, led Squad 7 with 1389 and an average of 231.50 en route to beat out Jussila for the top spot by one pin. Williams had games of 224, 228, 224, 243, 252 and 218.

    With 126 players - 109 men and 17 women - from 17 countries in the books, the seven squad leaders, Williams, Jussila, Konieczny, Kamel, Christian Rechenberg (right, 8th; 1347), Michael Holzapfel (11th; 1335) and Peter Knopp (15th; 1329) are automatically qualified for the finals on Sunday if they don't finish among the top 30. Photos courtesy of German Bowling Federation (DBU).

    200910PBAChrisLoschetter.jpg200910PBABrianVoss.jpgHowever, there are incentives to finish qualifying in the top 16. Places 1-8 will earn two byes for the finals and places 9-16 will get one. Among the top 16 are PBA exempt player Chris Loschetter (left) and PBA Hall of Famer Brian Voss (right), both United States. Loschetter, who is still seeking his first PBA title sits in 5th place with 1373 featuring six games between 215 and 245. Voss, who will serve on the Austrian coaching staff in the upcoming Men's World Championship in August, is 14th with 1330 including a 280 high game.

    Dane Anders Lousdal had a 299 game on Thursday, the highest game of the tournament thus far, and sits in 28th place with 1290. 2008 World Youth Championships gold medalist in Doubles, Birgit Pöppler, Germany, currently holds the 30th place with 1278 including 48 pins handicap.

    With all seven squad leaders currently in the top 30, Jamie McDermott holds the 37th and last spot to advance with 1261 or an average of 210.17.

    Qualifying will continue on Friday with Squad 8, 9, and 10 slated for 11am, 3 and 7pm CET.

    DBPOpenLogo_small.jpg The 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open is a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour and will be staged from June 27 thru July 4 at Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany. The state-of-the-art 52-laner, the biggest bowling center in Europe, will host the Men's World Championship in August.

    The DPB Open offers total prize fund of 50.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    The tournament is the 10th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, July 3rd and concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. on Saturday night.

    A total of 48 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, July 4th - between 30 and 44 players from the overall qualifying standings, the qualifying squad leaders (max 14) not among the top 30 plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 8 qualifiers will earn two byes while players seeded 9-16 will bypass the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-3 will feature 4-game blocks starting from scratch which will trim the field to 32, 20 and then 8 players who will advance to the quarterfinals. The format will switch to match play with the two-game total determining the winner. In each round the highest seeded player after Round 3 will meet the lowest seeded player, the second highest meets the second lowest, and so on.

    The winners of Round 4 advance to the semifinals to determine the finalists who will bowl for the title and the 10.000 Euro top prize.


    Related Articles

    Germans in control of the leaderboard at 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 7/14

    Squad leaders (boldface) are automatically qualified, if they don't finish among the top 30. If a squad leader finishes among the top 30 or if a player wins multiple squads, No. 31 advances to finals and so on.