Swede Karl Wahlgren overtakes qualifying lead at 10th Qatar Bowling Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #18

    Eight players of Squad 3 and 4 crack the top 10 on Day Two Qualifying

    2009EBT10KarlWahlgren.jpg2010ABFT05YousifFalah.jpgKarl Wahlgren (pictured left) of Sweden overtook the lead in the qualifying of the 10th Qatar Bowling Open when he knocked down 1378 pins in Squad 4 on Sunday, Dec. 12 at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha.

    Wahlgren came out of the gates quickly firing a 276 game. He averaged 200 for the next three games (184, 223 and 193) before he closed things out with 243 and 259 for an average of 229.67.

    After two days of qualifying the Swede has a 22-pin cushion over Squad 3 leader Yousif Falah (right), Bahrain, who used six games between 202 and 236 for 1356 to overtake day one leader Mubarak Al-Muraikhi, Qatar, by just one pin. Al-Muraikhi fell to third place with 1355.

    2009SOKhaledAlDubyyan.jpg2010EBT15NinaFlack.jpg2006 World Ranking Masters champion Khalid Al-Dubyyan (left), Kuwait, was second to Falah in Squad 3 with 1344, good for fourth place overall. Hussain Al-Suwaidi, UAE, was next with 1335.

    European Bowling Tour women's ranking leader Nina Flack (right), is the sole woman in the tournament thus far. The world and European champion had games of 176, 209, 249, 230, 212 and 202 for 1278 scratch, an average of 213, and added 48 pins handicap to sit in sixth place with 1326 pinfall total.

    2010ABFT04MansourAlAwami2.jpg2010EBT12MathiasArup.jpgHarep Al-Mansouri, UAE, was second in Squad 4 with 1310, good for seventh place. Ricardo Macatula, Philippines, chalked up 1299 to leap into eighth place with World Doubles champion Mathias Ă…rup (left), Sweden, in ninth place with 1296 including a 277 game, the highest game of the tournament thus far.

    Mansoor Al-Awamy (right), Qatar, who was second after the first qualifying day, slipped to tenth with 1295. The top 2 players from each of the first three qualifying days, however, are automatically qualified for the finals, if the don't finish among the top 38 in the overall qualifying standings.

    With 76 players from 16 countries in the books, Mohammed Ismail, Qatar, holds the 38th and last spot to advance with 1179 or an average of 196.50. Qualifying continues on Monday, Dec. 13 with Squads 5 and 6.

    2010EBTLogo_small.jpg The 10th Qatar Bowling Open is the 18th and last stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of only two "Platinum" events of the 2010 EBT season. The tournament will be held from Saturday Dec. 11 through Sunday Dec. 19, 2010 at 32-lane Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar and offers total prize fund of 120.000 Euro with 30.000 Euro going to the winner.

    Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled and the English Open has lost its EBT status, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 18 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 6 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2010SINOpenRemyOng_small.jpg2010EBT05BrittBrondsted_small.jpg Remy Ong (pictured left), Singapore, is the defending champion. In an all-lefty title match, Ong edged Peter Ljung, Sweden, 416-414, to win the 2009 Qatar Open. Third-placed Britt Brøndsted (right), Denmark, won the women's ranking.

    Qualifying ends on Friday, Dec. 17 with the last qualifying squad 18 scheduled for 9 p.m. The single-game "Desperado Squad" will start at Midnight. A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers and the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad - advance to the finals on Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 18-19, 2010.

    The top 6 qualifiers will bypass the first two rounds, while places 7-12 will receive one bye. The other 36 players will bowl six games from scratch with the top 18 advancing to the second round. Those 18 plus qualifiers 7-12 will bowl another six-game block from scratch. The top 10 will join the top six qualifiers in Round 3.

    Those 16 will bowl six games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will bowl another six games with the pinfall from Round 3 being carried forward. The top 4 after 12 games will advance to the championship round (two-game matches decided by total pinfall).

    No. 1 bowls No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3. The winners will advance to the championship match to bowl for the title and the 30.000 Euro top prize (approx. 43,865 U.S. Dollar). The runner-up will be consoled with 15.000 Euro.

    Related Articles

    Mubarak Al-Muraikhi sets the pace on the opening day of the 10th Qatar Open


    2010 Qatar Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 4/18

    The top 38 qualifiers, the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.