Jimmy Mortensen shoots 300 to overtake qualifying lead in 10th Qatar Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #18

    Defending champion Remy Ong moves into fourth place

    2010EBT13JimmyMortensen2.jpg2010BevidaStormRemyOng.jpgDanish national team member Jimmy Mortensen (pictured left) became the first player in the 10th Qatar Bowling Open who cracked the 1400-bar when he totaled 1404 pins in Squad 7 Tuesday at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar.

    Mortensen started his six-game block with the first 300 game of this year's event and added games of 207, 211, 233, 226 and 227, an average of 234, to overtake previous leader Naif Oqab, UAE, by five pins.

    The Arab slipped to second place with 1399 followed by Tore Torgersen, Norway with 1398. Defending champion Remy Ong (right), Singapore led Squad 8 with 1393 (232.17) including high games of 267 and 265 to jump into fourth place.

    Three-time defending European Bowling Tour ranking champion Osku Palermaa, Finland, fell to fifth with 1389. Rounding out the top 6, who will earn two byes for the finals, was Karl Wahlgren, Sweden with 1378.

    Mattias Wetterberg missed the second perfecto by mere one pin when he rolled a 299 in the second game of Squad 7. Wetterberg holds 15th place with 1324. His compatriot Peter Lung was second to Ong in Squad 8 with 1320, good for 16th place overall.

    2010BWCHelenJohnsson.jpg2010EBT15NinaFlack.jpgCurrent women's ranking leader Nina Flack (pictured left), Sweden, is the best of ten women - all from Sweden - in the 105-player field from 20 countries in 14th place with 1326 including 48 pins handicap, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    Two of her compatriots, Joline Persson-Planefors and Rebecka Larsen cracked the top 38 in the overall qualifying standings. with 8 out of 18 qualifying squads in the books, Planefors sits in 26th place with 1270 while Larsen holds the 38th and last spot to advance with 1228. Just outside the box looking in was Helén Johnsson (right) in 39th place with 1227.

    Qualifying continues on Wednesday, Dec. 15 with Squads 9, 10 and 11.

    2010EBTLogo_small.jpg The 10th Qatar Bowling Open is the 18th and last stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of only two "Platinum" events of the 2010 EBT season. The tournament will be held from Saturday Dec. 11 through Sunday Dec. 19, 2010 at 32-lane Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar and offers total prize fund of 120.000 Euro with 30.000 Euro going to the winner.

    Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled and the English Open has lost its EBT status, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 18 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 6 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2010SINOpenRemyOng_small.jpg2010EBT05BrittBrondsted_small.jpg Remy Ong (pictured left), Singapore, is the defending champion. In an all-lefty title match, Ong edged Peter Ljung, Sweden, 416-414, to win the 2009 Qatar Open. Third-placed Britt Brøndsted (right), Denmark, won the women's ranking.

    Qualifying ends on Friday, Dec. 17 with the last qualifying squad 18 scheduled for 9 p.m. The single-game "Desperado Squad" will start at Midnight. A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers and the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad - advance to the finals on Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 18-19, 2010.

    The top 6 qualifiers will bypass the first two rounds, while places 7-12 will receive one bye. The other 36 players will bowl six games from scratch with the top 18 advancing to the second round. Those 18 plus qualifiers 7-12 will bowl another six-game block from scratch. The top 10 will join the top six qualifiers in Round 3.

    Those 16 will bowl six games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will bowl another six games with the pinfall from Round 3 being carried forward. The top 4 after 12 games will advance to the championship round (two-game matches decided by total pinfall).

    No. 1 bowls No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3. The winners will advance to the championship match to bowl for the title and the 30.000 Euro top prize (approx. 43,865 U.S. Dollar). The runner-up will be consoled with 15.000 Euro.

    Related Articles

    Squad 5 and 6 leaders Oqab, Torgersen move to the top in 10th Qatar Bowling Open
    Swede Karl Wahlgren overtakes qualifying lead at 10th Qatar Bowling Open
    Mubarak Al-Muraikhi sets the pace on the opening day of the 10th Qatar Open


    2010 Qatar Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 7/18

    The top 38 qualifiers, the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.