Dominica Barrett rises to the top in qualifying Squad 10 at 10th Qatar Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #18

    PBA champions Fagan, Healey lead Squad 9 and 11 to move into top 12

    2010EBT15DominicBarrett.jpg2010EBT10JimmyMortensen.jpgDominic Barrett (pictured left), England, finished his six-game qualifying block in Squad 10 with a huge 287 en route to overtake the lead in the 10th Qatar Bowling Open Thursday at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha.

    Barrett started his block with 257, 200, 213, 216 and 247 and needed a 270-plus game to rise to the top. Thanks to the 287 the Englishman surpassed previous leader Jimmy Mortensen (right), Denmark, by 16 pins with 1420 pinfall total and an average of 236.87.

    Barrett has already sealed the victory in the 2010 European Bowling Tour men's ranking as he leads his nearest competitor by 251 points. The winner of the EBT Platinum Qatar Open will receive 250 ranking points.

    Mortensen, who rolled the tournament's sole 300 game in his 1404 series fell one spot to second place and is followed by Naif Oqab, UAE and Tore Torgersen, Norway with 1399 and 1398.

    2010KSAOPatrickHealey2.jpg2010ABFT04MansourAlAwami2.jpgPBA champion Patrick Healey (left), United States, used high games of 278 and 274 to win Squad 11 on Wednesday evening and to leap into fifth place with 1397. Rounding out the top 6 who will bypass the first two rounds of the finals is 2009 Qatar Open champion Remy Ong, Singapore, who knocked down 1993 pins.

    2007-'09 EBT ranking champion Osku Palermaa, Finland slipped out of the top six to seventh place with 1389. Mansoor Al-Awamy (right) was close behind Healey to become the top local bowler in eighth place with 1384.

    Jenny Johansson, Sweden trailed Barrett by mere 37 pins in Squad 10 to shoot into ninth place with 1383 including 48 pins handicap, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    201011PBAMikeFagan.jpgKarl Wahlgren, Sweden and Sayed Al-Hashemi, UAE sit in 10th and 11th place with 1378 and 1360. Rounding out the top 12 who will earn one bye for the finals was two-time PBA champion Mike Fagan (left), United States, who led the ninth qualifying squad with 1360 and an average of 226.6. Fagan had five games between 205 and 226 and closed out his series with a huge 279 game.

    201011PBAMikaKoivuniemi.jpgJohansson is the best of 11 women (ten from Sweden plus England's Nicki Ainge) in the 123-player field from 23 countries and one five in the top 38. Others are Helén Johnsson (17th, 1345), EBT women's ranking frontrunner Nina Flack (22nd, 1326), Jenny Wegner (27th, 1299) and Joline Persson-Planefors (28th, 1299).

    Eight-time PBA champion Mika Koivuniemi (right), Finland, currently the No. 2 in the men's ranking, chalked up 1280 in Squad 11 to move into 37th place. With another seven qualifying squads to go, John Guldbæk, Denmark holds the 38th and last spot to advance with 1277 or an average of 212.83.

    Qualifying continues on Thursday with Squads 12, 13 and 14.

    2010EBTLogo_small.jpg The 10th Qatar Bowling Open is the 18th and last stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of only two "Platinum" events of the 2010 EBT season. The tournament will be held from Saturday Dec. 11 through Sunday Dec. 19, 2010 at 32-lane Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar and offers total prize fund of 120.000 Euro with 30.000 Euro going to the winner.

    Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled and the English Open has lost its EBT status, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 18 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 6 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2010SINOpenRemyOng_small.jpg2010EBT05BrittBrondsted_small.jpg Remy Ong (pictured left), Singapore, is the defending champion. In an all-lefty title match, Ong edged Peter Ljung, Sweden, 416-414, to win the 2009 Qatar Open. Third-placed Britt Brøndsted (right), Denmark, won the women's ranking.

    Qualifying ends on Friday, Dec. 17 with the last qualifying squad 18 scheduled for 9 p.m. The single-game "Desperado Squad" will start at Midnight. A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers and the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad - advance to the finals on Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 18-19, 2010.

    The top 6 qualifiers will bypass the first two rounds, while places 7-12 will receive one bye. The other 36 players will bowl six games from scratch with the top 18 advancing to the second round. Those 18 plus qualifiers 7-12 will bowl another six-game block from scratch. The top 10 will join the top six qualifiers in Round 3.

    Those 16 will bowl six games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will bowl another six games with the pinfall from Round 3 being carried forward. The top 4 after 12 games will advance to the championship round (two-game matches decided by total pinfall).

    No. 1 bowls No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3. The winners will advance to the championship match to bowl for the title and the 30.000 Euro top prize (approx. 43,865 U.S. Dollar). The runner-up will be consoled with 15.000 Euro.

    Related Articles

    Jimmy Mortensen shoots 300 to overtake qualifying lead in 10th Qatar Open
    Squad 5 and 6 leaders Oqab, Torgersen move to the top in 10th Qatar Bowling Open
    Swede Karl Wahlgren overtakes qualifying lead at 10th Qatar Bowling Open
    Mubarak Al-Muraikhi sets the pace on the opening day of the 10th Qatar Open


    2010 Qatar Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 11/18

    The top 38 qualifiers, the top 2 each from Dec. 11-13 squads plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.