Top collegiate bowlers to battle for titles at 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships


    USBC Collegiate

    AMF Euless Lanes in Euless, Texas, USA (May 23-24, 2011)

    Forty of the nation's top collegiate bowlers will be at AMF Euless Lanes in Euless, Texas, starting Monday to compete for national titles at the United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Singles Championship.

    The participants will bowl 16 qualifying games on Monday to determine the single-elimination match-play bracket. On Tuesday, match play will consist of best-of-five games until a champion is determined.

    All qualifying and match-play rounds will be broadcast live on

    2010ISCJennBoisselle.jpgThe 24 men and 16 women earned their way into the tournament through four sectional qualifying events held in March. The top four finishers in each division (men and women) at each site advanced, while eight additional men's spots were awarded based on the field size at each sectional.

    Defending women's champion Jenn Boisselle of Central Florida (pictured right after her victory in 2010) is back again after qualifying third in her sectional. Last year, the two-time Junior Team USA member qualified 13th and went on to win five matches to take the 2010 women's title .

    She will face some tough competition in the women's division with two current Team USA in the field - Pikeville's Kim Yioulos and Vanderbilt's Brittni Hamilton.

    2009WUSOMariaJoseRodriguez.jpg2011UMESKristinaFrahm.jpgYioulos lost to Boisselle in the quarterfinals last year of the Intercollegiate Singles Championships and is a first-team All-American this season. Hamilton, meanwhile, won the 2010 USBC Junior Gold Championships.

    Also in the women's field are three players who helped lead Maryland Eastern Shore to the 2011 NCAA Women's Bowling Championships and the USBC Intercollegiate Team Championships title. Maria Jose Rodriguez (pictured left), the NCAA player of the year, is joined by Kristina Frahm (right) and Megan Buja in representing the Hawks.

    2010JGCJacobKent.jpg2008PYGeoffreyYoung.jpgThe men's field is headlined by Jacob Kent (left) of Robert Morris-Illinois, who is a current Junior Team USA member and reached the semifinals at last year's Intercollegiate Singles Championships.

    A pair of Wichita State bowlers are also in the field with two-time Junior Team USA member Geoffrey Young (right) and 2009 Intercollegiate Singles Championships semifinalist Josh McBride representing the Shockers.

    Also in the men's division is 2009 Intercollegiate Singles Championships runner-up Nick Davis of North Carolina State, who returns after losing in the title match to Adam Chase of St. John's.


    Related Articles

    Field set for 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships