Dale Eagle wins PBA Senior Decatur Open for 12th career Senior Tour title


    2011 PBA Senior Tour #9

    Win ties him for second on all-time Senior Tour wins list

    2010PBASKentWagner.jpg2011PBAS09DaleEagle.jpgDale Eagle (pictured left) of Tavares, Fla., won the Professional Bowlers Association Senior Decatur Open Tuesday to notch his 12th career Senior Tour title putting him in a tie for second on the all-time Senior Tour wins list.

    The 65 year-old Eagle (pictured with Spare Times Lanes proprietor Gary Haines, left), who was inducted into the PBA Hall of Fame in January, defeated Kent Wagner (right) of Palmetto, Fla., 223-186, in the title match at Spare Time Lanes.

    “I was trying to be perfect on every shot and maybe too perfect,” said Eagle. “It was a tough shot where I had to play a straighter line. It was one of those tournaments where you needed some breaks to win and I got a lot of breaks in match play.”

    Gary_Dickinson_4616.jpgJohn_Handegard_3363.jpgEagle, a three-time winner on the PBA Tour, is tied for second with Gary Dickinson (left) on the Senior Tour all-time wins list and both bowlers trail career titles leader John Handegard (right) with 14.

    Eagle’s win was his first in two years with his last title coming in the 2009 Senior Miller High Life Classic. His previous best finish this season was sixth in the Senior Don Carter Open.

    2011PBASHarrySullins.jpg2011PBASDavidAxon.jpg“I’ve had some health issues especially with my knees and back and I’m working hard on getting in better shape,” said Eagle, the 1999 PBA Senior Player of the Year and 1996 Senior Rookie of the Year. “I’m working hard on my game and learning a lot from the younger guys. Norm Duke has helped me work out a problem with my release.”

    In the semifinals, Eagle defeated Harry Sullins (left) of Chesterfield Township, Mich., 192-171, to advance to the championship match. Sullins was trying for his second consecutive and third win overall this season.

    In the other semifinal, Wagner, a two-time PBA Tour winner, defeated Dave Axon (right) of Bellevue, Neb., 237-194. Both players were trying for their first Senior Tour win. To reach the semis, Wagner had to defeat PBA Senior Tour Player of the Year contenders, Ron Mohr, Eagle River, Alaska (3-1), and Walter Ray Williams Jr. Ocala, Fla. (2-1).

    The next stop on the Senior Tour will be the Senior Jackson (Mich.) Open Aug. 22-25, and the Senior Dayton (Ohio) Classic will conclude the 2011 season Aug. 27-30.

    PBA.com’s Xtra Frame will provide live coverage of both events.


    Related Articles

    Walter Ray Williams Jr. leads top 24 into Match Play in PBA Senior Decatur Open
    Walter Ray Williams Jr. overcomes slow start to lead first round in PBA Senior Decatur Open
    2011 PBA Senior Tour Schedule and Champions


    PBA Senior Decatur Open

    Spare Time Lanes in Decatur, Ill. (Aug., 13-16, 2011)

    Championship Match
    Dale Eagle, Tavares, Fla. ($7,500) def. Kent Wagner, Palmetto, Fla. ($4,000), 223-186

    Semifinal Round (losers earn $3,000)
    Eagle def. Harry Sullins, Chesterfield Township, Mich., 192-171
    Wagner def. David Axon, Bellevue, Neb., 237-194

    Round of 8 (best of three games, losers eliminated, $1,700 each)
    Axon def. Charlie Tapp, Kalamazoo, Mich., 2-1
    Wagner def. W.R. Williams, Ocala, Fla., 2-1
    Sullins def. Dale Traber, Cedarburg, Wis., 2-0
    Eagle def. Dale Csuhta, Wadsworth, Ohio, 2-0

    Round of 16 (best of five games, losers eliminated, $1,300 each)
    W.R Williams def. Wayne Webb, Columbus, Ohio, 3-0
    Wagner def. Ron Mohr, Eagle River, Alaska, 3-1
    Axon def. Emilio Mora Sr., Defiance, Ohio, 3-1
    Tapp def. Roy Buckley, Westerville, Ohio, 3-0
    Traber def. Tom Baker, King, N.C., 3-2
    Sullins def. Tim Kauble, Marion, Ohio, 3-2
    Csuhta def. Steve Ferraro, Kingston, Ohio, 3-0
    Eagle def. Ricky Beck, Box Elder, S.D., 3-2

    Round of 24 (best of five games, losers eliminated, $1,050 each)
    Webb def. Gary Hiday, Indianapolis, 3-1
    Mohr def. Marc Lineberry, Camanche, Iowa, 3-2
    Axon def. John Dudak, Orland Park, Ill., 3-1
    Buckley def. Mark Glover, Woodbridge, Va., 3-0
    Traber def. Kevin Croucher, Grants Pass, Ore., 3-2
    Kauble def. Terry Metzner, Kentwood, Mich., 3-0
    Csuhta def. Kenny Parks, Hammond, Ind., 3-0
    Eagle def. Dennis Psaropoulos, Lake Worth, Fla., 3-1