Ron Mohr wins PBA Senior Jackson Open to clinch his second Senior Player of the Year crown


    2011 PBA Senior Tour #10


    2011PBAS07RickVittone.jpgRon Mohr (pictured left) of Eagle River, Alaska, won the Professional Bowlers Association Senior Jackson Open Thursday at Airport Lanes for a record-tying fourth Senior Tour win of the season and clinching his second PBA Senior Player of the Year crown in the process.

    Mohr def. Rick Vittone (right) of Ontario, Canada, 226-203, in the championship match in the bowling center where he won his first Senior Tour title in 2009 on his way to his first Senior Player of the Year honor.

    In addition to his four titles this season, Mohr has two second-place, a third, a fourth and a 13-place finish with one more tournament remaining in Dayton, Ohio.

    2011PBASWalterRayWilliams.jpg2011PBASHarrySullins.jpg "This is the way I wanted to win it," said the 55-year-old Mohr, who clinched Senior Player of the Year by making the semifinal round. "I wanted to earn it and not back into it. To do it here where I have a lot of fond memories made it special because this is where I won my first Senior Tour title."

    PBA Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. (left) of Ocala, Fla., and Harry Sullins (right) of Chesterfield Township, Mich., a two-time winner this season, were long shot contenders for Senior Player of the Year but were eliminated from contention once Mohr made the semifinal round. Williams and Sullins would also have had to win the tournament and next week's season finale in Dayton for any shot at challenging Mohr for the honor.

    2011PBASTomBaker.jpg"My target was to make the semifinal round and then let everything take care of itself," said Mohr, who now has seven career Senior Tour titles. "Once I accomplished that I felt really comfortable and just had to make some minor adjustments from the semifinal to final match."

    In the semifinal round, Mohr defeated Sullins 268-227 and Vittone defeated Hall of Famer Tom Baker (left) of King, N.C., 205-172, to advance to the title match.

    Mohr's four titles tied the record for most in a season with Pete Couture (1998), Dale Eagle (1999) and Baker (2006).

    "It's just been a great year and something I really didn't expect," Mohr said. "I've had a lot of breaks this year and a guardian angel on my shoulder. It's been an example of a year where you really need everything going your way to achieve something like this."

    The Senior Dayton Classic will conclude the 2011 Senior Tour season Aug. 27-30.'s Xtra Frame will provide live coverage beginning at 3 p.m. on Aug. 29.


    Related Articles

    Walter Ray Williams Jr. keeps PBA Senior Player of the Year hopes alive in Senior Jackson Open
    Walter Ray Williams Jr. takes PBA Senior Jackson Open first round lead
    2011 PBA Senior Tour Schedule and Champions


    PBA Senior Jackson Open

    Airport Lanes in Jackson, Mich. (Aug., 22-25, 2011)

    Championship Match
    Ron Mohr, Eagle River, Alaska ($7,500) def. Rick Vittone, Canada ($4,000), 226-203

    Semifinal Round (losers earn $3,000)
    Vittone def. Tom Baker, King, N.C., 205-172
    Mohr def. Harry Sullins, Chesterfield Township, Mich., 268-227

    Round of 8 (best of three games, losers eliminated, $1,700 each)
    Vittone def. Kent Wagner, Palmetto, Fla., 2-0
    Baker def. Wayne Webb, Columbus, Ohio, 3-1
    Mohr def. Dale Eagle, Tavares, Fla., 2-0
    Sullins def. Vince Mazzanti, Levittown, Pa., 2-0

    Round of 16 (best of five games, losers eliminated, $1,300 each)
    Wagner def. W.R Williams, Ocala, Fla., 3-2
    Vittone def. Tim Kauble, Marion, Ohio, 3-1
    Webb def. Dale Csuhta, Wadsworth, Ohio, 3-1
    Baker def. Tom Carter, Rockford, Ill., 3-1
    Mohr def. Dave Patchen, Oregon, Ohio, 3-0
    Eagle def. Charlie Tapp, Kalamazoo, Mich., 3-0
    Mazzanti def. Peter Knopp, Germany, 3-1
    Sullins def. Hugh Miller, Seattle, 3-1

    Round of 24 (best of five games, losers eliminated, $1,125 each)
    Wagner def. Chris Keane, New City, N.Y., 3-1
    Kauble def. Kerry Painter, Henderson, Nev., 3-2
    Csuhta def. Patric Donaghue, Honeoye, N.Y., 3-2
    Carter def. Henry Gonzalez, Colorado Springs, Colo., 3-0
    Patchen def. Mike Henry, Brunswick, Ohio, 3-0
    Eagle def. Ken Wyatt, Sterling Heights, Mich., 3-0
    Mazzanti def. Kevin Croucher, Grants Pass, Ore., 3-1
    Miller def. Kenny Parks, Hammond, Ind., 3-2

    Round of 32 (best of five games, losers eliminated, $1,025 each)
    Wagner def. Steve Easterday, Strasburg, Ohio, 3-2
    Kauble def. Keith Sharp, Orlando, Fla., 3-0
    Donaghue def. Dale Traber, Cedarburg, Wis., 3-1
    Carter def. Ricky Beck, Box Elder, S.D., 3-0
    Patchen def. Ron Profitt, Brookville, Ohio, 3-0
    Eagle def. Steve Ferraro, Kingston, N.Y., 3-0
    Croucher def. Mark Williams, Beaumont, Texas, 3-1
    Parks def. Sammy Ventura, Syracuse, N.Y., 3-1