Home » Navigation » World » World Cup » Finalists determined for 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Finals

Finalists determined for 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Finals


The top 4 men and the top 4 women after 40 games advanced to the TV finals of the 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Saturday at Bol 300 in Hermosillo, Mexico.

Defending women’s champion Jenny Wegner of Sweden led the round of 8 to qualify as the no. 1 seed for the semi-finals and was followed by Rocio Restrepo of Colombia, Krizziah Lyn Tabora of the Philippines, and Siti Safiyah of Malaysia.

On the men’s side, Ildemaro Ruiz of Venezuela, who barely made the cut to the top 8 thanks to a 289 last game, carried the momentum into the round of 8 and powered his way into the lead to earn the no. 1 seed.

He was followed by Ahmad Muaz of Malaysia (275) and Jakob Butturff, USA (277), who both finished with a huge game as well as Oscar Rodriguez of Colombia who defeated Tor Inge Jansen in the last game to shut out the Norwegian.

Venezuela has never won a World Cup title, men or women. If Rodriguez wins, it would be the second men’s title for Colombia after Jairo Ocampo back in 1974. Muaz would become the second man from Malaysia to win a World Cup title after Syafig Ridhwan in 2012.

A win by Butturff would give record titlist USA its 19th World Cup title and the 11th in the men’s division. The last men’s champion from the U.S. was PBA star Chris Barnes, who won the 50th anniversary edition in Wroclaw, Poland, in 2014.

Wegner is looking to become the seventh woman to win the World Cup twice and the fourth to win back-to-back titles after Jeanette Baker, Australia (1982, 83), Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic (2010, 11), and Clara Juliana Guerrero of Colombia (2014, 15).

Restrepo would win the third women’s title for Colombia in four years. Safiyah, Malaysia’s first PWBA champion, would also become the first Malaysian woman to win the World Cup. Tabora would be the third Filipina to win the women’s title after Lita de la Rosa (1978) and Bong Coo Garcia (1979).

Malaysia and Colombia will also battle it out for the prestigious Bent Pedersen Country Award. The winner gets 1 point, the first runner-up gets 2 points, and so on. The country with the lowest point total – man and woman combined – will receive the trophy.

The top 4 men and women will return to Bol 300 for Saturday’s TV finals starting at 1.45 p.m. MST with the semi-finals (no. 1 vs. no. 4 and no. 2 vs. no. 3). The winners of the semi-finals bowl for the men’s and women’s title.

The 53rd edition of the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup will be held from Nov. 4-12 at Bol 300 in Hermosillo, Mexico.

All competitors will bowl 24 qualifying games over four days before the field is cut to the top 24 for eight additional games. The 32-game pinfall totals will determine the 8 players who advance to eight games round-robin match-play (30 pins for each win, 15 for a tie).

The top 4 players with highest 40-game total including bonus pins will advance to the playoffs. There will be a one-game knockout match with the No. 1 seed versus the No. 4 qualifier and No. 2 versus No. 3. The winners of each match will earn a spot in the championship game.

Bowlingdigital will provide onsite coverage of the 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup from Hermosillo including reports, photos and results after each round commencing with the first round of qualifying on Monday, Nov. 6, all the way through to the finals on Saturday, Nov. 11, completed in the afternoon.

Related Articles

Jenny Wegner, Ahmad Muaz lead top 8 into the next round at World Cup
Malaysia’s Ahmad Muaz averages 247.83 to take the lead in men’s qualifying
Jenny Wegner continues to lead as women’s field is cut to top 24
Jenny Wegner begins pulling away at 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
England’s Ray Teece powers his way into the lead in Mexico
Mexico’s Arturo Estrada maintains his lead after two rounds in Hermosillo
Sweden’s Jenny Wegner holds on to the lead in World Cup after 12/24 games
Jenny Wegner achieves perfection; rolls first 300 game in 53rd World Cup
Mexico’s Arturo Estrada shoots into lead at 53rd QubicaAMF World Cup
53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup kicks off with Opening Ceremonies
Starting Sunday: 53rd QubicaAMF World Cup in Hermosillo, Mexico
53rd QubicaAMF World Cup Preview
Martins, Zoghaib win 26th QubicaAMF Bowling Brazil Cup
53rd QubicaAMF World Cup to be held Nov. 4-12 in Hermosillo, Mexico

53rd QubicaAMF World Cup – Women’s Standings after 40 Games

Top 4 advance to the TV Finals.

53rd QubicaAMF World Cup – Men’s Standings after 40 Games

Top 4 advance to the TV Finals.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.