Home » Navigation » USBC » Youth » Florida’s Crystal Singh selected as 2018 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow

Florida’s Crystal Singh selected as 2018 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow


Crystal Singh, a senior at Coral Springs Charter School in Coral Springs, Florida, has been selected as the 2018 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

The prestigious award recognizes the star qualities of a female high school senior or college student, including accomplishments on the lanes, academic achievement and community service. The award winner receives a $6,000 scholarship.

“My vision for my bowling career has never solely been focused on winning tournaments but has been more driven towards becoming a positive role model for the sport,” Singh said.

“It motivates me to share my story and talk about how important it is to find who you are and define your goals around the things that push you to be your best. Bowling has given me the chance to be an example to others on how they can be a good athlete and student and still have time to help others who are not as fortunate.”

A National Honor Society and National Society of High School Scholars member, Singh has a 3.94 grade-point average and has taken three Advanced Placement courses, along with seven honors classes. She is the editor of the school newspaper and yearbook and is the 2017 National Journalism Education Association (JEA) Week Design Contest winner.

She has volunteered with Arizona’s Foundation for Human Trafficking Awareness event, the South Florida Parenting Organization Easter Spring Festival, has been a math tutor since 2016 through NHS and has tutored at Horizons Academy since 2015.

On the lanes, she won the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) state singles title and helped her team to a runner-up finish at the state tournament in 2017. She has been named Girls Bowler of the Year by both the Miami Herald and Sun-Sentinel and was a Dexter/United States Bowling Congress High School All-American Team selection for the 2016-2017 season.

Her family moved from Florida to Singapore when she was 8, and she was introduced to competitive bowling when her father joined a league. Soon after, she got her own ball and had lessons, and she continued to bowl when her family moved to Germany. In 2015, she finished second in doubles at the DBU Deutsche Meisterschaft (German nationals) and took third at the Y.E.T. (Youth Euro Trophy) Grand Finals held in Thillois, France.

“I developed my bowling in Europe and had the amazing opportunity to compete alongside many talented international players,” Singh said. “I had gained so much knowledge that I wanted to continue my passion in college, so when my family moved back to Florida during my sophomore year, I immediately got into the high school bowling scene.”

She is the first bowler from Florida to be selected as the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow.

“It makes it that much more special because Florida has an immense amount of talent that has allowed me to grow my ability to levels I would have never thought possible,” Singh said. “There are so many well-qualified female bowlers that could have represented this award; I’m just happy I got to be the one to do it this year.”

Singh will join the Tulane women’s bowling program in the fall.

She will be presented the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award at the 2018 USBC Convention, which takes place April 23-26 in Reno, Nevada. The award presentation will be live streamed on BowlTV, the YouTube channel for USBC.

Click here for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award Winners

1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Clair Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas
2015 Emma Kuhn, Texas City, Texas
2016 Gazmine Mason, Cranston, R.I.
2017 Natalie Koprowitz, Girard, Ill.
2018 Crystal Singh, Coral Springs, Fla.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.