Home » Navigation » America » IBMA » IBMA announces 16 finalists for 2018 Collegiate Bowler of the Year

IBMA announces 16 finalists for 2018 Collegiate Bowler of the Year


The International Bowling Media Association has announced the sixteen nominees for the 2018 IBMA Collegiate Bowler of the Year, presented by Storm Bowling.

The committee, comprised of IBMA members who are bowling media and former college coaches, met on March 22 to determine the top eight male and female players eligible to receive the award.

The male nominees are as follows:
Sam Cantrell, Grand View University
Michael Davidson, Calumet College of St. Joseph
Alex Glinski, Savannah College of Art & Design
Scott Hill, Lindenwood University
Wesley Low, Wichita State University
Josh Pate, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Matthew Russo, Webber International University
Brandon Soedarmasto, St. John’s University

The female nominees are as follows:
Sydney Brummett, Wichita State University
Maryssa Carey, Indiana Institute of Technology
Holyann Johansen, Wichita State University
Caitlyn Johnson, Webber International University
Sierra Kanemoto, Wichita State University
Natalie Koprowitz, St. Ambrose University
Tori Pappas, Wright State University
Sarah Wille, McKendree University

The 2018 winners will be announced at the Night of Champions banquet and reception on Wednesday, April 18 beginning at 7 p.m. at the Graduate Lincoln Hotel in Lincoln, Nebraska.

The evening festivities conclude with the announcement of the IBMA Bowlers of the Year, as well as presentations to the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBA) All Americans, NCBCA Gordon Teigen Award winner (volunteer service to collegiate bowling) and NCBCA Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year Award.

The IBMA Collegiate Bowler of the Year Award is given each season to the male and female bowlers who excel on the lanes in USBC officially certified tournament play. Players must have a cumulative 32 games to be considered for the award.

Many professional and high-ranking amateur bowlers have received the award which was established in 1987 to honor the sport’s finest young players and bring media attention to college bowling.

IBMA Male Collegiate Bowlers of the Year

2017 – Nick Pate, Midland University
2016 – Michael Coffey, Lindenwood University
2015 – Michael Tang, San Jose State University
2014 – AJ Johnson, McKendree University
2013 – AJ Johnson, McKendree University
2012 – Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois
2011 – T.J. Schmidt, Purdue University
2010 – Josh Blanchard, Wichita State
2009 – Dan MacLelland, Saginaw Valley State
2008 – Dan MacLelland, Saginaw Valley State
2007 – P.J. Haggerty, Fresno State
2006 – P.J. Haggerty, Fresno State
2005 – P.J. Haggerty, Fresno State
2004 – Bill O’Neill, Saginaw Valley State
2003 – Bill O’Neill, Saginaw Valley State
2002 – Derek Sapp, Western Illinois
2001 – Bill O’Neill, Saginaw Valley State
2000 – Jeff Piroozshad, Miami, FL
1999 – Mike Eaton Jr., Wichita State University
1998 – Louis Franzetti, William Paterson
1997 – Joe Ciccone, Arizona State University
1996 – Bryan Manno, Indiana University
1995 – Steve Kloempken, Wichita State
1994 – Joe Ciccone, Erie Community College
1993 – Bill Hoffman, Ohio State University
1992 – Chris Barnes, Wichita State University
1991 – Sanford Carvajal, San Diego State
1990 – David Carter, William Paterson
1989 – Chris Sole, William Paterson
1988 – Chris Viale, William Paterson
1987 – Rick Steelsmith, Wichita State

IBMA Female Collegiate Bowlers of the Year

2017 – Sidney Brummett, Wichita State
2016 – Brittany Smith, Grand View University
2015 – Daria Kovalova, Wichita State
2014 – Daria Kovalova, Wichita State
2013 – Daria Kovalova, Wichita State
2012 – Jazreel Tan, Wichita State
2011 – Jazreel Tan, Wichita State
2010 – Jenn Boisselle, Central Florida
2009 – Sandra Gongora, Wichita State
2008 – Kayla Bandy, Pikeville College
2007 – Kayla Bandy, Pikeville College
2006 – Stefanie Nation, Central Florida
2005 – Anita Manns, Wichita State
2004 – Elysia Current, Fairleigh Dickinson
2003 – Melissa Belinder, Cal State-Fullerton
2002 – Amber Gazverde, Central Missouri State
2001 – Shannon Pluhowsky, Nebraska
2000 – Jessica DeCrescente, Morehead State
1999 – Cathy Krasner, Cal State-Fresno
1998 – Kelly Kulick, Morehead State
1997 – Kelly Kulick, Morehead State
1996 – Keli Rapp, Erie Community College
1995 – Rosine Marschke, Wichita State
1994 – Stacy Werth, Cal State-Sacramento
1993 – Liz Johnson, Morehead State
1992 – Kari Murph, Morehead State University
1991 – Kari Murph, Morehead State University
1990 – Linda Norry, San Jose State
1989 – Linda Norry, San Jose State
1988 – Jackie Sellers, Penn State
1987 – Jackie Sellers, Penn State

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.