Home » Navigation » America » IBMA » IBMA announces Writing Competition Award winners

IBMA announces Writing Competition Award winners


The annual International Bowling Media Association Writing Competition is in the books. Professional and non-professional entries were judged in three categories each, News, Editorial and Feature. The winners have been chosen from a select panel of judges, which included a teaching professional, USBC Hall of Famer and an IBMA Hall of Famer.

There were some procedural changes this year. Entries were accepted by email only and included a word document in addition to a copy of the published article along with the entry form. The word document was redacted to exclude any mention of the author or publication, prior to being sent to the judging panel. This resulted in the author and publication of each entry being completely anonymous.

The professional category saw more entries this year than in the past decade with 18 news, 19 editorial and 28 feature stories for a total of 65. The competition was stiff with each of the three categories coming down to tie-breakers, using the point system developed for the new matrix for 2017.

The winners are:

Professional News Story Winners (tie)
Dennis Bergendorff, Bowlers Journal International, Vintage Form, September 2016
Pamela Thompson, International Bowling Industry, Ideas to Spare, April 2016

Professional News Story Honorable Mention (tie)
Gianmarc Manzione, Bowlers Journal International, Long Time Coming, August 2016
Pamela Thompson, International Bowling Industry, Circle of Life, November 2016

Professional Feature Story Winner
Gianmarc Manzione, Bowlers Journal International, Tale of Two Tours, August 2016

Professional Feature Story Runner Up
Barry Sparks, Bowling Center Magazine, Transforming for the Future, November 2016

Professional Feature Story Honorable Mention
Bob Johnson, Bowling Center Magazine, Profitable in Pink, June 2016

Professional Editorial Winner
Lucas Wiseman, Bowling Digital, Should Svensson, Simonsen and Low be allowed to compete in the World Youth?, July 2016

Professional Editorial Runner Up
Jeff Richgels, 11th Frame Blog, Can a ‘realistic pessimist’ have hope for the PBA?, September 2016

Professional Editorial Honorable Mention
Pamela Thompson, International Bowling Industry, Toys for Tots, November 2016

The committee received only fifteen entries in the non-professional category and decided to award only a winner, runner up and honorable mention in a single batch, rather than separate them by category.

The winners are:

Winner: Kevin Hong (Feature Story)
So Long Pinboys: The birth of the automatic pinsetter, The Vintage Alley’s Project, June 2016

Runner Up: Frank Weiler (Editorial)
Big Bowling – Bad for Bowling?, The Bowling News, December 2016

Honorable Mention: Josh Hyde (News Story)
Lavoie Perfect to Win His First Title at the 2016 U.S Open, Josh Hyde Newsletter, December 2016

The winners will be presented their awards at the IBMA breakfast on Thursday, April 27, during the USBC Convention week at the Orleans Hotel, Las Vegas.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.