Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA National Tour » Jakob Butturff wins PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic

Jakob Butturff wins PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic


Jakob Butturff, an unorthodox 24-year-old left-hander from Tempe, Ariz., inserted himself into the Professional Bowlers Association Player of the Year conversation Sunday when he defeated Tom Daugherty of Riverview, Fla., 217-182, to win the PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic at Pla-Mor Lanes in Coldwater, Ohio.

Featured photo from left: 2018 XF Kenn-Feld Group Classic winner Jakob Butturff, center, with Carol & Linus Hartings, Dan Lefeld and Rick & Patty Hartings.

Butturff (left), who won the Go Bowling! PBA 60th Anniversary Classic earlier in the year in Indianapolis, joins Australia’s Jason Belmonte; EJ Tackett of Huntington, Ind., and Andrew Anderson of Holly, Mich., as the Go Bowling! PBA Tour’s fourth two-time titlist in 2018.

Butturff, who uses a quirky double-jointed delivery, entered the finals as the top qualifier after overtaking Daugherty in the final game of qualifying earlier in the day. He then started the title match with four strikes, but surrendered the lead when he left and failed to convert the 1-3-7-9 in the seventh frame. Daugherty (right), who had a clean game including a turkey through seven frames, lost his edge when he failed to convert the 2-4-5-8 in the eighth frame and then missed a 5 pin in the ninth.

“This win means everything,” Butturff, now a four-time title winner, said before turning his praise to the fans of Coldwater, a rural community of just over 4,000 residents who turned out in droves to support the 11th annual tournament. “Every time I come in here, it’s amazing. The fans want to see us bowl and they give us their all. They’re what keeps our sport going.”

In the first match of the four-man stepladder final, PBA Tour veteran Brad Angelo (left) of Lockport, N.Y., bowled an error-free game, rolling a key strike in the ninth frame and striking out in the 10th for a dramatic win after defending champion Rhino Page recovered from failing to convert the 2-4-7-10 split in his fourth frame, finishing with six strikes to force Angelo’s hand. Angelo won, 228-225.

In the semifinal match, Daugherty got some help when Angelo had three open frames, throwing his own decisive string of four strikes in a 226-188 victory to advance to the championship match.

The 2018 Go Bowling! PBA Tour will complete its domestic schedule with the three-event FloBowling PBA Fall Swing in suburban Tulsa, Okla., Oct. 14-20, followed by the U.S. Open Oct. 24-31 in Wichita, Kan. The Fall Swing will award titles in the Wolf, Bear and Tulsa Opens, all of which will be live streamed from start to finish on FloBowling. For subscription information click here.

Prior to the Fall Swing, PBA Tour players will have an opportunity to bowl for PBA International-World Bowling Tour titles in the Storm Lucky Larsen Masters that is currently underway in Malmö, Sweden, concluding Sept. 9, and the WBT Thailand in Bangkok, Sept. 22-28.

Related Articles

Dick Allen leads PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic qualifiers
Sold-out field of top bowling stars set for PBA XF Kenn-Feld Group Classic
2018 PBA Tour Schedule & Champions

PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic – Stepladder Finals

Pla-Mor Lanes in Coldwater, Ohio, USA (Aug. 24-26, 2018)

Championship Round:
1, Jakob Butturff, Tempe, Ariz., 217 (1 game), $10,000
2, Tom Daugherty, Riverview, Fla., 408 (2 games), $5,000
3, Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 416 (2 games), $2,500
4, Rhino Page, Orlando, 225 (1 game), $2,250

Playoff Results:
First Match: No. 4 Angelo def. No. 3 Page, 228-225
Semifinal Match: No. 2 Daugherty def. Angelo, 226-188
Championship: No. 1 Butturff def. Daugherty, 217-182

PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic – Round of 8

Players with position, hometown and 17-game total. n-denotes non-PBA member.

1, Jakob Butturff, Tempe, Ariz., 3,709
2, Tom Daugherty, Riverview, Fla., 3,703
3, Rhino Page, Orlando, 3,587
4, Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 3,569

Missed Cut:
5, Dick Allen, Lexington, S.C., 3,554, $2,000
6, Ryan Ciminelli, Clarence, N.Y., 3,542, $1,750
7, Jason Lundquist, Columbus, Ohio, 3,540, $1,500
8, Andrew Anderson, Holly, Mich., 3,378, $1,250

Round of 16 Casher (did not advance, after 15 games):
9, Connor Pickford, Charlotte, N.C., 3,036, $1,100
10, Francois Louw, South Africa, 3,001, $1,000
11, Darren Tang, San Francisco, 2,989, $950
12, Richie Teece, England, 2,977, $900
13, Brandon Novak, Chillicothe, Ohio, 2,973, $875
14, Kamron Doyle, Brentwood, Tenn., 2,971, $850
15, Anthony Simonsen, Austin, Texas, 2,955, $825
16, Joe Bailey, Wooster, Ohio, 2,918, $800

Cashers Round Cashers (did not advance, after 12 games):
17, Chris Colella, Indianapolis, Ind., 2,381, $775
18, Tom Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich., 2,376, $775
19, Chris Via, Springfield, Ohio, 2,375, $775
20, Marshall Kent, Yakima, Wash., 2,369, $775
21, Kurt Pilon, Warren, Mich., 2,361, $750
22, Matt O’Grady, Rahway, N.J., 2,335, $750
23, n-Chad Roberts, Reynoldsburg, Ohio, 2,327, $750
24, Tom Hess, Urbandale, Iowa, 2,323, $750
25, Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., 2,317, $725
26, AJ Chapman, St. Paul, Minn., 2,311, $725
27, JR Raymond, Clinton Twp., Mich., 2,301, $725
28, Graham Fach, Canada, 2,300, $725
29, Kyle Troup, Taylorsville, N.C., 2,296, $700
30, Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, 2,295, $700
31, Michael Clark Jr., Cleveland, Ohio, 2,289, $700
32, Michael Tang, San Francisco, 2,288, $700

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.