Home » Navigation » USBC » Youth » Missouri’s Alex Olendorff to receive Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award

Missouri’s Alex Olendorff to receive Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award


Alex Olendorff of St. Louis, a senior at Lindbergh High School, has been selected as the 2018 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award recipient.

Presented each year to a male high school senior or college student, the award recognizes star qualities in a United States Bowling Congress Youth member, including distinguished bowling performances on the local, state and national levels, academic achievement and community involvement.

The International Bowling Campus Youth Committee selects the award winner based on submitted applications, and the winner receives a $6,000 scholarship.

“To receive this award is immense satisfaction,” Olendorff said. “It tells me that all of my hard work has paid off, and it gives me the support to continue my ambitious endeavors. I am both honored and blessed to be receiving this award!”

Olendorff has taken 12 Advanced Placement courses, plus nine honors classes, to post a 4.6 weighted grade-point average. He is a member of the National Honor Society, serving as vice president, and the National Society of High School Scholars. He won the Medical Scientists Award of Excellence that is presented for outstanding academic achievement, leadership and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine.

He is president of the Lindbergh Liberals Club, is in the National Science Honor Society, Student on the GO! Half-Marathon Club, Gay-Straight Alliance and the St. Louis Children’s Hospital Youth Council.

He has volunteered through NHS, setting up classrooms for kindergarten teachers at Monett Elementary since 2011, worked for the St. Louis County Election Board for three years, ran the Lindbergh High School Boonanza since 2015 and worked the Crestwood Elementary Fall Festival the last two years. After the devastating tornado that hit Joplin, Missouri, in 2011, he started a toy drive in his community.

On the lanes, he took third at the Missouri USBC State Tournament in 2017 and was second as the St. Louis USBC Youth Championships in Class 2 singles.

He started bowling at age 6, despite the fact no one in his family competed in the sport. He joined the Saturday league at Crestwood Bowl and says he fell in love with the sport. He has competed in the Saturday league since 2007.

Olendorff, the first bowler from Missouri to be selected as the Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award recipient, will attend Washington University in St. Louis starting in the fall. He plans to major in medicine and also pursue a major in fashion and design.

He will be presented Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award during the 2018 USBC Convention, set for April 23-26 in Reno, Nevada. BowlTV, the YouTube channel for USBC, will live stream the presentation.

Click here for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Related Articles

Florida’s Crystal Singh selected as 2018 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow

Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award Winners

1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
1984 Robert Beck, Houston
1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
2003 Marc D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.
2013 Joey Kopera, Orland Park, Ill.
2014 Derick Holmes, Wichita, Kan.
2015 Anthony Sidari, Hazleton, Pa.
2016 Jack Cook, Denville, N.J.
2017 Carson Opela, Rio Rancho, N.M.
2018 Alex Olendorff, St. Louis, Mo.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.