Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA News » Reigning U.S. Open champion Rhino Page wins Best Bowler ESPY

Reigning U.S. Open champion Rhino Page wins Best Bowler ESPY


Rhino Page of Orlando, Fla., who ended a six-year singles title draught with two victories including the 2017 U.S. Open, has been selected winner of the 2018 Best Bowler ESPY award in fan voting conducted by ESPN.

Page, a 35-year-old left-hander, received his award Wednesday evening during the 2018 ESPY Awards ceremony at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

“I think it’s pretty simple to sum up what it means just to be nominated for an ESPY,” Page said. “Five years ago I went through wrist surgery not knowing if I was ever going to be able to throw a ball again, let alone get back to playing at the highest level. To be here at the ESPYs after the long journey back is something I am incredibly honored and humbled by.

“I’m so thankful for God’s grace through it all,” he continued. “I can’t thank my friends, my family, my sponsors and my fans enough. They have been there for me every step of the way. They supported me in the times I needed them the most. To represent the sport I love and have dedicated my life to is truly an honor and a blessing.”

During the voting cycle leading up to the 2018 announcement, Page won his first singles title since 2009 in the 2017 PBA Xtra Frame Kenn-Feld Group Classic in Coldwater, Ohio, and captured his first major in the U.S. Open, defeating top qualifier Jakob Butturff, 256-222, for his sixth career PBA Tour title. He also finished fifth in the USBC Masters earlier in 2018.

Also nominated by ESPN’s staff in the Best Bowler category were 2017 PBA Player of the Year and three-time major championships winner Jason Belmonte; 2018 Barbasol PBA Players Championship titlist Tom Smallwood and Swedish two-handed sensation Jesper Svensson.

Related Articles

Belmonte, Page, Smallwood, Svensson earn ESPY “Best Bowler” nominations

History of Best Bowler ESPY Award Winners
2018 – Rhino Page
2017 – Jason Belmonte
2016 – Jason Belmonte
2015 – Jason Belmonte
2014 – Pete Weber
2013 – Pete Weber
2012 – Sean Rash
2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.