Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Tim Stampe adds his name to the leaderboard in Odense

Tim Stampe adds his name to the leaderboard in Odense


Tim Stampe of Denmark rebounded from a slow start in Wednesday’s squad 6 with some big games to move into the top 10 in the qualifying of the Odense International.

Stampe (above) started his six-game block at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark, with 182 and 179 before he closed with 252, 215, 247 and 223 for 1298 total, an average of 216.33, which propelled him into seventh place in the overall standings.

Lars Nielsen (left) of Denmark leads the 73-player field from four countries since the opening squad with 1399 six-game total.

Ghanim Aboujassoum (right), one of six Qataris in the field, closed his set with a big 256 game to tie Anders Lousdal, Denmark, at 1262. Aboujassoum, who ranks ninth due to the higher last game than Lousdal, is the best foreign bowler in field.

Aboujassoum’s team mate, Saoud Ahmed Abdulla, was 11 pins back with 1251 to leap into 11th place.

Maxime de Rooij (left) of Germany is the best of 19 women in 12th place with 1249, including 48 pins handicap, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

Jørgen Larsen of Denmark holds the 24th place and last spot to advance from the qualifying leaderboard with 199 or an average of 199.83.

Qualifying continues on Thursday, August 31, with squads 7 and 8 scheduled to start at 5 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

The Odense International 2017 is the ninth stop of the 2017 European Bowling Tour and the second of three EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season, the lowest of the five EBT categories. The tournament will be held from August 27 through September 3 at 20-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

Players compete for total prize money of 113.000 Danish Kronor (DKK) or roughly 15.190 Euro with 25.000 DKK (3.360 Euro) going to the winner, 12.000 DKK to the runner-up and 6.000 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 32nd place worth 1.800 DKK or 242 Euro.

Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, August 27, and concludes Saturday, Sept. 2, with squad 13, followed by the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

Total 32 players qualify for the finals, including the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top two players each from a separate leaderboard of squads 1-4 and 5-8, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 2 players of the Desperado Squad.

The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (optional; extra entry fee required).

The top 10 qualifiers receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows:
Qualifying winner: 140 pins; 2nd place: 120; 3rd place: 100; 4th place: 80; 5th place: 60; 6th place: 50; 7th place: 40; 8th place: 30; 9th place: 20; and 10th place: 10.

All 32 finalists bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women’s handicap advance to the second round with the total pinfall carried forward.

Those 16 bowl an additional four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round, the highest seeded player selects his opponent, then the second-highest seeded player, and so on.

The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two “lucky losers” (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round bowl for the title.

The 2017 European Bowling Tour features 11 tournaments in 9 countries including two “Platinum”, two “Gold”, one “Silver”, three “Bronze” and three “Satellite” events, which offer total prize fund of roughly 560.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 8 men and top 8 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 11th EBT Masters February 12, 2018 in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Related Articles

Dan Østergaard-Poulsen wins his second squad in Odense International
Lars Nielsen posts big number to kick off Odense International
2017 European Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions

2017 Odense International – Standings after Qualifying Squad 6/13

Top 24 players, the top two players each from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-4 and 5-8, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 2 players of the Desperado Squad advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 3.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.